Sudden death due to cardiac arrest

Ender

But  I think there are more people who don't push themselves at all, i.e sedentary, succumbing to heart attack.  [laugh]

Your body is pretty honest. If you are lazy you will grow fat, if you push yourself too hard during sex/exercise you will fall flat. I think I can write a song after that. [laugh]

I think for those exercising, and of older age, exerting too hard may trigger the blood clot as what the doc said in the article.

I also around same age but dun have such problem.......

Cos I don't run.

KNN, you really getting funny these days!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think for those exercising, and of older age, exerting too hard may trigger the blood clot as what the doc said in the article.

Actually I think the Doc also dun really know what triggered the cardiac episode.. the only way to confirm is thru the autopsy..

Most of the time when u visit the Doctor for any illness, they ar ga ar ga see yr symptoms n then make a judgement on your illness n prescribe the med, hoping they got it right this time or else u will come back again .... only thru an intensive battery of tests then they can find the real cause of the illness...

But then, how many of us really take the detailed body checkups every year to see if we are OK? Not many, based on those people i see around me...

So we should listen to our body and got any abnormal pains, pls see the specialist immediately as every second really counts... See GP or try to self medicate is not helpful and may bring about a false sense of security....

P.S. I am in no way related to any medical business...  [laugh]

so, the theory is :

cholesterol is ok as long as it sticks to the blood vessel.

heavy/sudden exercise cause the cholesterol to break off from the blood vessel wall and clogged it up, like a cave-in, resulting in heart attack.

same thing they say about engine flushing.

don't engine flush.

leave the sludge stuck on the pipes and oil line.

flush it, dislodge the sludge, and it will block oil flow, resulting in engine heart attack.

I'm thinking of putting some laminated card with my details/identification in my key pouch. Cos i usually run alone at night. 

Wah lao... I haven't jogged outside for a long time already. Nowadays jog in the gym, but also got no identification, except my phone, which is locked...  [sweatdrop]

Then again, i jog like one a week or two... is that a higher risk than the jogging itself?

Wah lao... I haven't jogged outside for a long time already. Nowadays jog in the gym, but also got no identification, except my phone, which is locked...  [sweatdrop]

Then again, i jog like one a week or two... is that a higher risk than the jogging itself?

Any exercise is better than none.

Don't worry, it's not the exercise that kills you unless you are really doing something really extreme like triathlon or marathon.

Any exercise is better than none.

Don't worry, it's not the exercise that kills you unless you are really doing something really extreme like triathlon or marathon.

Read that those extreme ultra marathones, some of them have the plaque in their artery.

I also around same age but dun have such problem.......

Cos I don't run.

When things happen, just can't run away...

My uncle last year i think around this time, one Sat night was outside meeting friends after some social dancing routine, suddenly felt uncomfortable. One friend sent him to SGH, A&E.

Sun mid morning, received call from my cousin to inform that doc had performed overnight surgery on him, and is very critical condition. My mother just had knee op and discharged from hospital few wk ago, but rushed her down to see her only sibling...

The specialist later sat the whole family down, said there was apparently some tear in the aorta which caused massive bleeding, and the high pressure ripped off the torn wall, and the parts ended up blocking one major vessel to the stomach and another to the right leg...

The overnight op was successful in stopping the bleeding. But cos the 2 parts affected by the clot were deprived of oxygen for quite a while, there is a chance the tissues all gone. If the leg is like that, still can amputate. But if stomach (whole digestive system) is like that, then close shop liao. 

The briefing was just before the surgeons will start to see whether the 2 affected parts can salvage or not, but wanted the family to be prepared and informed...

Later that evening, good news was leg was ok, but most part of digestive system had to remove except for some parts of the small intestine, which means even if survive, most food cannot digest anymore...

He survived, but has been in and out of GH to a rehab hospital and back again, and finally discharged home about 3 mth ago. Stayed hospital for close to 9 mth... and is reduced to very very thin, and obviously weak...

He was very healthy and had no other signs or symptoms beforehand...  [bigcry]

Aortic artery aneurysm or dissection.

He's very lucky to be even alive. 

It's something that has a very high rate of mortality.

When things happen, just can't run away...

My uncle last year i think around this time, one Sat night was outside meeting friends after some social dancing routine, suddenly felt uncomfortable. One friend sent him to SGH, A&E.

Sun mid morning, received call from my cousin to inform that doc had performed overnight surgery on him, and is very critical condition. My mother just had knee op and discharged from hospital few wk ago, but rushed her down to see her only sibling...

The specialist later sat the whole family down, said there was apparently some tear in the aorta which caused massive bleeding, and the high pressure ripped off the torn wall, and the parts ended up blocking one major vessel to the stomach and another to the right leg...

The overnight op was successful in stopping the bleeding. But cos the 2 parts affected by the clot were deprived of oxygen for quite a while, there is a chance the tissues all gone. If the leg is like that, still can amputate. But if stomach (whole digestive system) is like that, then close shop liao. 

The briefing was just before the surgeons will start to see whether the 2 affected parts can salvage or not, but wanted the family to be prepared and informed...

Later that evening, good news was leg was ok, but most part of digestive system had to remove except for some parts of the small intestine, which means even if survive, most food cannot digest anymore...

He survived, but has been in and out of GH to a rehab hospital and back again, and finally discharged home about 3 mth ago. Stayed hospital for close to 9 mth... and is reduced to very very thin, and obviously weak...

He was very healthy and had no other signs or symptoms beforehand...  [bigcry]

Recently having thought of such incident and would it be better to let him go than suffering even if he is saved (in general case not referring to Atrecord's uncle). I start to discuss this with my wife to decide where to draw the line of letting me go scenario, i dun want them to end up with $1 mil hospital bill yet had me 1/4 alive   [laugh]  [laugh]

What are the causes? Artery quite thick one, right?

We were prepared to lose him...

We're much closer to my father's side of the family, and my mother only has one sibling. We seldom keep in touch and meet up once a year during Qing Ming only. During CNY, my parents will usually go visit them (even though my mother is the elder sister).

That morning, when the phone rang, my cousin in fact had to introduce himself as the son of <my uncle's name>, as we didn't immediately recognise his name, and said that he(my uncle)'s in very critical condition in hospital, so they wanted to inform my mum (the only sibling) first... 

I straightaway drove my folks down to SGH...

My mother was tearing away sitting on the wheelchair outside ICU while waiting for updates...

After the surgeon's briefing, my heart already sank... even though bleeding was stopped, the digestive system blood kanna blocked, chances of survival was slim...

I'm thinking of putting some laminated card with my details/identification in my key pouch. Cos i usually run alone at night. 

Doc jogging alone at night, aren't you afraid of being rape especially there are nowadays drunken around who cannot different girl or boy.

Recently having thought of such incident and would it be better to let him go than suffering even if he is saved (in general case not referring to Atrecord's uncle). I start to discuss this with my wife to decide where to draw the line of letting me go scenario, i dun want them to end up with $1 mil hospital bill yet had me 1/4 alive   [laugh]  [laugh]

Fill in this form:

https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Forms/FORM1AMD(270905).pdf

Wah lao... I haven't jogged outside for a long time already. Nowadays jog in the gym, but also got no identification, except my phone, which is locked... [sweatdrop]

I used to jog and bring my house keys only.

Think bring HP and ID better.