Left 6mths before scrap, need to svc car?

SafeCar

My Altis is due for servicing, not sure if minor or major, can I forgo since the car is going for scrap in Oct?

Since your ID is "SafeCar", you have your answer.

Ribbing aside, car is like body, if it is showing signs something is wrong, better get it checked. Otherwise if it is regular check-up, then best to send in to check then go from there. Don't be penny wise and pound foolish, esp if your family is at stake.

My Altis is due for servicing, not sure if minor or major, can I forgo since the car is going for scrap in Oct?

If I am you, I will not.. unless you know impt thing like brake is giving way. but again if brake is giving way I will scrap early. I don't think COE will make any different within the 6mths, unless u decided to give up driving.

Edited by Heman75

for me its ok if not changing but need to top up if oil level dropping.

but if you want a smoother drive everyday, not to mention the effect on FC best to change it...I think Autobacs got $88 package for oil change.

Thanks for all the responses, jokes or serious advice haha.

Ya, my nick speaks loud. Will check out some the options provided.

im sure ur altis served u well, dont b stingy left 6 mths of the life line

u also so calculative whether to service or not.......

give the car dignity..service it and let it RIP in style......

No need if you had serviced it 6 months ago and you are only going to use <10k km from now.

Edited by Lincoln

im sure ur altis served u well, dont b stingy left 6 mths of the life line

u also so calculative whether to service or not.......

give the car dignity..service it and let it RIP in style......

Um, a car is an inanimate object. It doesn't need dignity. TS just needs to ensure it doesn't breakdown on him for the next 6 months if he doesn't service it. On a balance of probabilities, I think there is no need for servicing.

I drove a Toyota MRS, which share the same engine as Altis 1.8, from Oct 2012 to Jan 2014. I only change engine oil & filter once. By the time i sold it, it is left with 4 months & wear out clutch.

can...

its your car.. and you are driving...

I have a Toyota Corolla (Make in Japan), which I did not service for two years, and it did not give me any problem.

Eventually, I got it service. The feel of the car is totally different.

If you want to save money, you can just ignore it.

If you want a good driving experience, have it services. A normal services will last you 10km.

My advice is to go to any service centre and do the cheapest services.

Edited by Kweechang

Since it's going to scrapyard and not renewing COE, just continue to drive until it arrives at the 'crematorium'. The yard won't use lemon law against you. Don't worry, be happy.

My Civic 1.7A due to scrap in 1 week time. Stopped servicing it since 11 months ago. So far covered 19k since last servicing. Fuel consumption only drop by +/- 5%. Other then that not much problem. Engine still running quiet and fine.

if you love your car, your car will love you. if you treat it like crap in this last 6 months, it will breakdown at the most inconvenient and even dangerous times. dude, even if the servicing costs 100 bucks just do it lah. dont tell me you can buy car cannot afford 100 bucks to service it meh? some things can save one save but this kind of servicing walao just do it lah. if not for yourself, think of the safety of other road users too. now i see this thread dont dare go and drive my car out liao): must keep looking out for altis and siam... why you make my life so leh chey...

Must siam Civic 1.7A also @LYC :D

I have a Toyota Corolla (Make in Japan), which I did not service for two years, and it did not give me any problem.

Eventually, I got it service. The feel of the car is totally different.

If you want to save money, you can just ignore it.

If you want a good driving experience, have it services. A normal services will last you 10km.

My advice is to go to any service centre and do the cheapest services.

You didn't service your car for 2 years and yet the car did not give you any problem??? Thinking it is proven the good reliability and quality of Toyota or it is that you are just very lucky?! Lol.