Mr Lee Kuan Yew wanted Oxley Road home demolished

Duckduck

On 10/28/2024 at 10:10 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Exactly... so many places of memories and heritage have been demolished in the name of "development", what makes this house so special that it must be discussed in parliament? :D 

yah lor...like my parents stay at the wooden kampung...sad, no more memories of that place...

so demolish lah....dun waste time dunno want to do preservation analysis and what not...waste time and money only.

get it over with, done with it and move on...if wanna preserve, then why those kampung kampung houses neber do preservation analysis? i think those kampung style houses more important this this...

if they can keep the Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall cos 孫中山 used that place for some revolution meeting in Nanyang.

I believe the Oxley house has the same meaning in the 50s when important meetings were held there for the independence of Singapore. 

If this oxley house got so much to keep, then when LKY was so powerful and alive, he would make sure it is casted in concrete before he goes. Now he have to stand up as he was quoted if someone wish to demolish it. 😆 

On 10/26/2024 at 11:46 AM, Playtime said:

Maybe he knows, understands, or hinted?... some lines he cannot cross. 

Maybe in his future memoirs he can speak more freely. 

Like ah goh [laugh]

On 10/28/2024 at 1:43 PM, Sosaria said:

Like ah goh [laugh]

Looking back..  ah goh actually not bad right🤔

Maybe history will... should.. be kinder to him. Maybe he should do a tell all book 😅

On 10/28/2024 at 9:16 PM, Playtime said:

Looking back..  ah goh actually not bad right🤔

Maybe history will... should.. be kinder to him. Maybe he should do a tell all book 😅

The Father, the son and the holy goh [laugh] 

I remember this saying.

On 11/1/2024 at 7:44 AM, Jman888 said:

I wonder he dare say he didn't benefit a single cent from the father and brother when there were PM.

I don't think LHY ever claimed he didn't benefit... Me see this as just a smear campaign by the Gov to paint him as ungrateful... But most know who the real ungrateful and dishonourable son is..

On 11/1/2024 at 7:44 AM, Jman888 said:

I wonder he dare say he didn't benefit a single cent from the father and brother when there were PM.

No difference from daily and office politics. First you get rid of your enemy. Then you need to turn inwards to fight among yourselves. Greed and jealousy will split them. They aren't there to work for the people but all about their own self interest. 

Edited by Victor68

On 11/1/2024 at 7:53 AM, Victor68 said:

No difference from daily and office politics. First you get rid of your enemy. Then you need to turn inwards to fight among yourselves. Greed and jealousy will split them. They aren't there to work for the people but all about their own self interest. 

To be fair... just like office. 

I belive most do start with real Good intentions... even butchers Mao and Stalin belive themselves... but once power got in, character change lor... power corrupts.

Many would know of good colleagues who once promoted,  changed liao 🤦‍♂️

Sone even change once they started chasing promotion. 

Edited by Playtime