Beware of scammers

Yewheng

2FA suppose to counter scenarios like this leh.  You also need physical token to add new payee for money transfer. So many layers of security nowadays. Login id and password are not enough to pull this off.

Unless the victim really sit down with the scammers to key in all the necessary inputs.

Stupiak couple.

Blame here blame there but never blame the wife for being brainless.

Sg is a fearful society.

They fear the law, they fear authorities.

Scammers know this, when they invoke the "authorities", they know they will get what they want.

Sgporeans may be IQ smart, but they are not EQ or street smart.

They can score 100% in any kind of exams, but they will be scammed by low IQ scammers.

They think by being obedient and follow the laws, everything will be alright, the laws will protect them like a talisman.

But too bad, when they learn the hard truths.

Yeah man....even transferring 2K from my DBS account to my HSBC account I also have to dig for my 2FA dongle liao..... wonder how they manage to withdraw $70K just like that....

2FA suppose to counter scenarios like this leh.  You also need physical token to add new payee for money transfer. So many layers of security nowadays. Login id and password are not enough to pull this off.

Unless the victim really sit down with the scammers to key in all the necessary inputs.

Now I know combined income of 12-14K may not necessary endow someone with IQ and streetsmarts to being conned just like a retiree....

Actually is the wife never ownself blame ownself.... the man diam diam.... probably for the best....

Stupiak couple.

Blame here blame there but never blame the wife for being brainless.

Yeah man....even transferring 2K from my DBS account to my HSBC account I also have to dig for my 2FA dongle liao..... wonder how they manage to withdraw $70K just like that....

The initial login to internet banking, you'll need login id and password. That may or may not even let you access read-only info like balance available.  Then, you need to key in 2FA code either from mobile or physical token.  

Once login successfully, if need to create new payee for money transfer, again need physical token to enter the challenge code from the web page, generate the answer code, key back into website before payee is created. Bank also send SMS alerts for all these critical transactions.  

Lastly, to actually transfer the money, I thought there's a daily limit to how much can be transferred? I can't imagine how $70K can be transferred in a single day?!?!

Sometimes, I can't even manage to transfer money that I otang my friend because either my physical token out-of-sync (expired), I forgot the token pin or exceed daily limit.

There must be some missing info in the article.

Edited by Jellandross

I think they should had called at least one of the ministers. They should be randomly called and I already tio 2 times one is the DHL scam and just 15 minutes ago is dbs scam. Don't know is it they have computer machine that do auto calling, just set pre-recorded voice and played it when call was picked up.

Yes ... It's auto dialing ...

When someone picks up the call then the other side will have human voice.

The initial login to internet banking, you'll need login id and password. That may or may not even let you access read-only info like balance available. Then, you need to key in 2FA code either from mobile or physical token.

Once login successfully, if need to create new payee for money transfer, again need physical token to enter the challenge code from the web page, generate the answer code, key back into website before payee is created. Bank also send SMS alerts for all these critical transactions.

Lastly, to actually transfer the money, I thought there's a daily limit to how much can be transferred? I can't imagine how $70K can be transferred in a single day?!?!

Sometimes, I can't even manage to transfer money that I otang my friend because either my physical token out-of-sync (expired), I forgot the token pin or exceed daily limit.

There must be some missing info in the article.

I agree. Not so easy to transfer funds with 2FA protocols.

Story not quite right.

Maybe it was something else, eg 30% return investment scheme, that went wrong. So now use this to cover up.

Stupid for doing it in SG, and being physically here in SG.

Maybe they are just minions here to do leg work. Bosses are still in prc.

These are copycats lah. The modus operandus is different for the final stretch.

The original ones will want the victim to wire the over to china where our police can do nothing about it...

Wah.... truth finally out......she is dumb enough to even give her one-time password.....

and btw... I thought 70K? 报假账 Report fake account?

The police said they received a report on July 4 from the 32-year-old woman, who said that an unknown person claiming to work for DHL had called to tell her that her parcel had been detained by Chinese Customs for containing illegal goods.

She said the call was then transferred to another person whose number was reflected in the caller ID as "999". This man claimed to be from the police and the woman was asked to provide her Internet banking credentials, including the One-Time Password from her Internet banking dongle.

The woman later discovered that $36,000 was transferred from her bank account to an unknown account.

Edited by Vratenza

Wah.... truth finally out......she is dumb enough to even give her one-time password.....

dun say out so loud, she used the $34K for her series of prata and LV   [laugh]  [laugh]

PRC female voice: "早安您好,您会说中文吗?"

Me:" Pardon me,  what did you say again? "

Kenna hung up unceremoniously. 

i also kana once last time

asked me if can speak mandarin (in chinese)

I replied " i dunno" (in chinese) and hung up lolx

maybe she  :a-bang:

sad to say ... inspite of all these media and online coverage on scammers ... more will still fall prey and add to the statistics ...

dun say out so loud, she used the $34K for her series of prata and LV   [laugh]  [laugh]

and maybe a toy boy too ...  [:p]

i also kana once last time

asked me if can speak mandarin (in chinese)

I replied " i dunno" (in chinese) and hung up lolx

maybe she  :a-bang:

If have spare time, I will entertain them ... :D

On a sidenote, better to educate the older folks (like my parents, and grandma) on the trend of scams around ...

Whatever weird calls received, just put down first and call us (children and grandchildren) to verify ...