2015 Jun, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

Long ago I was looking at Corolla. As usual no one hew when I walked in and showroom was empty. I'm usually happy to be undisturbed since I've done my homework before buying something. So I was all over the car and after a while I went to look for a SE and he was pretty reluctant to answer my queries. When he final asked what car I was driving. I told him Corolla and he 360 degrees u turn and became dam friendly! But in the end I got a Peugeot. Lol. Now the SE at Peugeot was fantastic in comparison.

Suzuki also another super no hew AD. I think I can push off a Swift and they wouldn't even notice!

Ha, I have the same experience with the Suzuki AD, the SE spoke so proudly about their relation with BM and under the same Incha*** Group, and kept bragging without giving my spouse and me a chance to speak our real needs.

Ended with a wet arm, flooded by his saliva as he was speaking so close. Ha ha......

On the contrary, my experience with Toyota was quite nice, as I was greeted by a Japanese CSO (sweet lady) and the SE was nice too, on a quiet afternoon on Christmas eve.

Nowadays, customers are mostly well informed and done some good homework before visiting the showroom. Just hope those SE can listen more, give the customer a chance to express their needs before starting the sales pitch.

Cheers.

Ha, I have the same experience with the Suzuki AD, the SE spoke so proudly about their relation with BM and under the same Incha*** Group, and kept bragging without giving my spouse and me a chance to speak our real needs.

Ended with a wet arm, flooded by his saliva as he was speaking so close. Ha ha......

On the contrary, my experience with Toyota was quite nice, as I was greeted by a Japanese CSO (sweet lady) and the SE was nice too, on a quiet afternoon on Christmas eve.

Nowadays, customers are mostly well informed and done some good homework before visiting the showroom. Just hope those SE can listen more, give the customer a chance to express their needs before starting the sales pitch.

Cheers.

To add on, I had very good experience at Nissan, Mazda and Hyundai. But totally looked over at Toyota.

But for all four dealers, I wore the same $12 bata slipper with soccer Jersey and berms...

Thank you. Look forward to my ride next week. Hehe. Although I was a little disappointed at the big drop in CAT B. Let the dealer made 3.5k extra.

Not so bad la.

If you had waited after July the prices will be 10k more for the C Class. C&C raised the price by 10k after taking away the CEV thingy.

Even though coe drops 10k but price is adjusted back to square and buyer ends up holding a car with lower coe yet gotto pay the same price pre CEV.

Just enjoy your upcoming ride.

Cheers.

Lol. Mazda under same family as Porsche, RR and Maclaren leh.

These days Toyota and Honda are no longer THE car to buy. Their sticking to tradition will cause their downfall one day. Mazda is doing roaring sales under eurokar, Tan Chong was near empty when I was at both on a weekend.

Lol. Mazda under same family as Porsche, RR and Maclaren leh.

These days Toyota and Honda are no longer THE car to buy. Their sticking to tradition will cause their downfall one day. Mazda is doing roaring sales under eurokar, Tan Chong was near empty when I was at both on a weekend.

Ya, fully agreed. Mazda under eurokar are doing great marketing. For their listed prices, can easily slash another $10k off.

Take for example,

Mazda 3 (standard) listed at $114,888.

Taking existing stock - $5k discount

In house finance and insurance rebate - $2k

forgo 4th and 5th year warranty - $2k

Hidden cash discount as form of overtrade - $2-3k (a few months ago was as high as 5k),

Mazda Loyalty discount - $1k

Ends up Mazda 3 (standard) becomes $102,888 with 1 bid guarantee. Think they also threw in 3 years free servicing last weekend.. (this one i am not sure as i had not followed up on my interest). But the above discounts, i am very certain as i checked with a few SEs from Mazda.

Somemore, Mazda is very well spec and made in Japan, At such prices and specifications, they really sell like hot cakes. Furthermore, after all the discounts, still can get inhouse Rikecool solar films and camera cum wiring done up and etc. Very good buy for Mazda buyers.

Edited by Ivan_06

Haha.. i like your joke. November go back up again! 1700 COE is for Aug - Oct. Come November the COEs available will shoot pass 2000 per bid for Cat A.

Up it will not go again, because the pool of buyers at above 60K has been exhausted. All gone and buy already. The next pool at 50K - 60K is now on the sideline waiting. 40K - 50K pool can wait for next year.

If PIs and ADs push COEs back up to 65K above, then they can suck thumbs and piak bungs because no one will walk into the showrooms except to look see look see.

Other than year end increase in demand for car, there are aso those who bought at very high coe $ between 2012 to mid-2014

When coe drop to $55k, why should one hold on to car with 80k coe bot during 2012/2013?

So add onto demand...

Other than year end increase in demand for car, there are aso those who bought at very high coe $ between 2012 to mid-2014

When coe drop to $55k, why should one hold on to car with 80k coe bot during 2012/2013?

So add onto demand...

There will also be this pool of car owners who bought during 05-07 who would be coming in to join the queue cos car expiring. I am one of them.

So add onto demand...

Oh yes... I am very frightened of this group of buyers.... they are the moneyed ones...

They will rush in and push the COE back to 80K.

So, sell 80K COE car and buy back 80K COE and smell brand new leather of car again

<hahahahhaha>

don't think such a thing will happen... maybe SG50 $50 road tax rebate

edit: ... actually hor even this kind won't happen, they will say they already give 50% off road tax because of petrol duty up up

we are already the people govt don't want to have... people who drive car and they dont want us to have car but must let us have car anyway

G wants your money, COE is source of huge revenue, plus tax on petrol. Ha Ha.

Ya, fully agreed. Mazda under eurokar are doing great marketing. For their listed prices, can easily slash another $10k off.

Take for example,

Mazda 3 (standard) listed at $114,888.

Taking existing stock - $5k discount

In house finance and insurance rebate - $2k

forgo 4th and 5th year warranty - $2k

Hidden cash discount as form of overtrade - $2-3k (a few months ago was as high as 5k),

Mazda Loyalty discount - $1k

Ends up Mazda 3 (standard) becomes $102,888 with 1 bid guarantee. Think they also threw in 3 years free servicing last weekend.. (this one i am not sure as i had not followed up on my interest). But the above discounts, i am very certain as i checked with a few SEs from Mazda.

Somemore, Mazda is very well spec and made in Japan, At such prices and specifications, they really sell like hot cakes. Furthermore, after all the discounts, still can get inhouse Rikecool solar films and camera cum wiring done up and etc. Very good buy for Mazda buyers.

That becos they trying to clear ex stock. You go this weekend and see if such offer exist or not.

In Feb, their overtrade was 5k. Meaning even if your car was going to expire in 1 month, they still take in paper value + $5k hidden cash discount.

I am sure the offer will continue to hold, just tweak here and there. of cos got the CEVS surcharge lah. but sooner or later, price will come down. This offer has been around for a few months already.. When i enquired in May, their existing stock MFD is May 2015... so clearing stock is just a marketing ruse which is cleverly devised by eurokar.

Meaning for Mazda, when one goes into the showroom. Dun be misled by the prices. aim to slash the price by another $10k with etc etc etc lah.

Edited by Ivan_06

No, the possibility of OCS is diminishing.... The number of COEs renewal has been climbing steady, see Yoyo other thread for COEs availability projection. Yoyo underestimates the number of COEs renew and his projection for Aug 2015 COEs has been cutted from 1900 per bid at teh start of the year to 1700 per bid now.

These COEs will feed back into the system 200 coe x 2 bids x 12 month = 4 800 coes during the low period of 2018 - 2020.

Also, my estimate is that COE will not dropped below 30K this time, accounting for the inflation, so it should lock out a portion of the market that buys OPC cars and who cannot afford at 30K and 5 year loans at 50% quantum only. This group will probably renew their COE when the PQP drops instead of buying new.

i'm curious...what's your expectation of COE price range during September

40k? 50k?

I am out of Toyota for good....had very bad experience during the CNY contract. There are many other good cars around....

buy the car for what the car is, you might be going to live with it for 10years. why bother about the Sales. I wouldn't. sale person good so what. give me a VW i also don't want.

dun say until like that. free one, i will take. :)

I have driven other cars for many years and they served me well...just no affinity with Toyota....the 3 mths of wait and frustration was enough for me. . .Give me VW free, I want...

Not so bad la.

If you had waited after July the prices will be 10k more for the C Class. C&C raised the price by 10k after taking away the CEV thingy.

Even though coe drops 10k but price is adjusted back to square and buyer ends up holding a car with lower coe yet gotto pay the same price pre CEV.

Just enjoy your upcoming ride.

Although you pay CEV, your car omv will be higher, so still gain at the end of the day.

Edited by Csc2015

One thing I dun like about Toyota is that the SE look people no up. When I drove my 9+ toyota vios and went in with my young family. No SE gave me a glance. I was there molesting the car and helping myself and my famoly. The SEs were quite free. Some were playing with hp but no one came forward to assist me though we looked at their direction.

My wife was telling me since toyota doesn't want to do business why be so thick skinned. Ended up we drove over to Mazda. The SEs were good. Immediately before I opened the door, one SE attended to me and was very detailed in explanation and not pushy. But the price didn't match my psychological barrier of $100k after all in and I even test drove it. I ended up texting him every now and then to see if price has reduced. He followed up promptly.

Then by chance, happened to know that hyundai has brought accent manual in. Was just glancing to see got any deal, likewise the SE came up to me and attended to my needs. Told me it's $96988 with 3 years servicing, 1 year road tax. Freebies can be negotiated. Rebate at 67k. She was very sincere and genuine, the test drive was very good. But still I ended up walking away as I do not like to sign on the spot. The price was beyond my psychological value of $100k.

When I reached home, she was still texting me and gave me a courtesy call where I told her I will sleep over it. Thought through the night, ended up brought family down for second test drive. Reconfirmed the reason for buying. And there you have it. The SE even came back specially on her off day to secure the deal. And there you have it :)

I have a very different experience at Mazda. When I went to Ubi showroom, a lady was prompt enough to receive us & recommend SE to us but that SE cannot make it. He saw us looking at various models, i.e. 2, 3, 5, 6 but what's wrong with looking at all that's available in the showroom, especially that's our first time ever going to Mazda showroom? When we asked him to work out the quote for us, he seemed impatient, asked him got trade in, said they don't do it but don't these ADs have tie up with dealers? Asked him abt insurance price, he said don't know... He probably has the mentality that we are not sincere buyer since we look at a range. The showroom at Leng Kee was even worse, our experience was just like yours at Toyota. We also brought our kids along, maybe some people have the mentality that we are not sincere buyer cos whole family went, like going family outing, but they never think that it's precisely we're looking for a car that we even bother to bring kids along to see cars, else, why burn our weekends to view cars when we can do better things. If the SE had bothered to talk more about trade in, he wld have known that our car was already into the 9th yr & family usually with young kids will consider getting a replacement as we need to drive our kids around & it will be soon before the 10yrs are up.

I ended up getting a Kia, although I know they have profited a lot from the drop in COE price, I did not regret it as the SE is great! He's same like your Hyundai SE, came back on his off day to secure the deal, & when my kids complained hungry, he took out biscuits for them. When we were signing the papers, he was very detailed in going through them. Maybe, Korea companies like Hyundai & Kia are more eager in securing deals, & hence provide better service.