Little_prince Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 if now. i think the parents would complain all the way until MOE lol Last time Principal is powerful one. My parents did all the paperwork liao, just need approval from my primary school principal which is what the Henry Park side wanted. But she refused cos I'm one of her top students. Guess she really believes every school is a good school. Well so good, won't end up being merged with other schools liao lol... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Cannot lah! Darryn already say $500 for a shot in a good school is too much! Now you come suggest $700 for a frivolous ipad?? How can?!?!?! I rem the last thread, viceroymenthol vigorously defended the rights of the alumnis. Anyway LHL tweaked it just 1-2 years back right? So doubt got any change for another 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I rem the last thread, viceroymenthol vigorously defended the rights of the alumnis. Anyway LHL tweaked it just 1-2 years back right? So doubt got any change for another 10 years. I am in Viceroy's camp. Old boys are the reason why the school has a good name. And there are seats still allocated for all the johnny-come-lately who have absolutely no connection with the scholl and they feel entitled to kpkb when they ballot and cannot get a slot. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I am in Viceroy's camp. Old boys are the reason why the school has a good name. And there are seats still allocated for all the johnny-come-lately who have absolutely no connection with the scholl and they feel entitled to kpkb when they ballot and cannot get a slot. Number of children now in phase 2A are now pretty large. For the good schools, it has essentially becoming a self perpetuating cycle. Only the 20 seats reserved for 2B and 20 for 2C remains to reduce the impact of this cycle. That's essentially only 13-16% of the school population given enrolment of 240-300 per year. If more it's even more diluted. Personally i don't think it's healthy and there's still too much emphasis on alumni. The ratios should be skewed more towards the randoms. I'm the johnny come late, so i don't think it's fair given that all primary schools are 100% govt funded. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Number of children now in phase 2A are now pretty large. For the good schools, it has essentially becoming a self perpetuating cycle. Only the 20 seats reserved for 2B and 20 for 2C remains to reduce the impact of this cycle. That's essentially only 13-16% of the school population given enrolment of 240-300 per year. If more it's even more diluted. Personally i don't think it's healthy and there's still too much emphasis on alumni. The ratios should be skewed more towards the randoms. I'm the johnny come late, so i don't think it's fair given that all primary schools are 100% govt funded. Or do we make it such that any school (which exceeds a certain % of for Phase 2Ax placements) will get closed down and a new school with a new name will be created at another location? Then all schools can be 100% govt funded? Or what is the magic number seats to be allocated to phase 2B and 2C? 50%? 70%? The thing is there will never be enough seats esp for schools like CHIJ St Nick's or Nanyang where demand far exceeds demand and you still have parents who gamble and try their luck and when they get the short straw, they kpkb. It's a bit like FTs who were not here during the nation building years and have the cheek to clamour for equal rights/ privileges and when they don't get it, kpkb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) Number of children now in phase 2A are now pretty large. For the good schools, it has essentially becoming a self perpetuating cycle. Only the 20 seats reserved for 2B and 20 for 2C remains to reduce the impact of this cycle. That's essentially only 13-16% of the school population given enrolment of 240-300 per year. If more it's even more diluted. Personally i don't think it's healthy and there's still too much emphasis on alumni. The ratios should be skewed more towards the randoms. I'm the johnny come late, so i don't think it's fair given that all primary schools are 100% govt funded. But isn't that what makes schools like ACS great? I am not from ACS. I used to hold the typical stereotypical view of ACS until my bro was in it and I saw the camaraderie, the spirit, the support that the alumni gave back. They also have a branch where they took in ACS students with not so outstanding results too. It changed my perspective and I actually admire their cohesiveness, Raffles is another that comes to mind, though maybe the establishment of a primary school would have built up the cohesiveness more? There's St Andrews, SJI, Chinese High etc. I was not from these schools but I do admire their cohesiveness and it is down to their own effort that they built their school's reputation. Edited July 8, 2015 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Or do we make it such that any school (which exceeds a certain % of for Phase 2Ax placements) will get closed down and a new school with a new name will be created at another location? Then all schools can be 100% govt funded? Or what is the magic number seats to be allocated to phase 2B and 2C? 50%? 70%? The thing is there will never be enough seats esp for schools like CHIJ St Nick's or Nanyang where demand far exceeds demand and you still have parents who gamble and try their luck and when they get the short straw, they kpkb. It's a bit like FTs who were not here during the nation building years and have the cheek to clamour for equal rights/ privileges and when they don't get it, kpkb. I take your last analogy. It's like banning people from immigrating to SG and become citizens unless they had singaporean parents. It can be done, i just don't think it's healthy for the nation or the school or society as a whole. I think the ratio should be something significant to reduce the worsening elitism of our society. Maybe 25% of the school to completely non-affilated children. 1 in 4 should be a decent ratio. As of now, its like 1 in 8 or 9. The benefits will be of a national level, and yes screw the alumni/PV/those who failed in the ballot. As it rightly should be. The kiasu parents will still do what they have to do. But i think there is a positive benefit to this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I take your last analogy. It's like banning people from immigrating to SG and become citizens unless they had singaporean parents. It can be done, i just don't think it's healthy for the nation or the school or society as a whole. I think the ratio should be something significant to reduce the worsening elitism of our society. Maybe 25% of the school to completely non-affilated children. 1 in 4 should be a decent ratio. As of now, its like 1 in 8 or 9. The benefits will be of a national level, and yes screw the alumni/PV/those who failed in the ballot. As it rightly should be. The kiasu parents will still do what they have to do. But i think there is a positive benefit to this. I agree the ratio shd be improved. Most popular schools can still cope with 20%-25% non-affiliated. Only the crazy popular ones are bursting at the seams. I believe over time, it will be shifted to 20%-25%. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Or do we make it such that any school (which exceeds a certain % of for Phase 2Ax placements) will get closed down and a new school with a new name will be created at another location? Then all schools can be 100% govt funded? Or what is the magic number seats to be allocated to phase 2B and 2C? 50%? 70%? The thing is there will never be enough seats esp for schools like CHIJ St Nick's or Nanyang where demand far exceeds demand and you still have parents who gamble and try their luck and when they get the short straw, they kpkb. It's a bit like FTs who were not here during the nation building years and have the cheek to clamour for equal rights/ privileges and when they don't get it, kpkb. Actually this is where the elite thing comes in, though to the students is a sense of identity. Mixed school difficult to achieved such cohesive bond. After long period of time, the exclusion of non alumni will create social issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 going to elite school is to make friend with elite la ... "same feather flocks together" even chapalang school teacher is great ... student is smart ... no point ... lol Some parents use the opportunity to network for business too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Roses are red, violets are blue, there's always an Asian that's better than you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 when balloting they should give 2X chance to parents with 2 kids (1 younger kid than the one enrolling), 3X chance to parents with 3 kids (2 younger kid than the one enrolling) and so on, sure birth rate increase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 But isn't that what makes schools like ACS great? I am not from ACS. I used to hold the typical stereotypical view of ACS until my bro was in it and I saw the camaraderie, the spirit, the support that the alumni gave back. They also have a branch where they took in ACS students with not so outstanding results too. It changed my perspective and I actually admire their cohesiveness, Raffles is another that comes to mind, though maybe the establishment of a primary school would have built up the cohesiveness more? There's St Andrews, SJI, Chinese High etc. I was not from these schools but I do admire their cohesiveness and it is down to their own effort that they built their school's reputation. easier for you to say which non-cohesive school you were from rather than tell us which schools you were not from Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 But isn't that what makes schools like ACS great? I am not from ACS. I used to hold the typical stereotypical view of ACS until my bro was in it and I saw the camaraderie, the spirit, the support that the alumni gave back. They also have a branch where they took in ACS students with not so outstanding results too. It changed my perspective and I actually admire their cohesiveness, Raffles is another that comes to mind, though maybe the establishment of a primary school would have built up the cohesiveness more? There's St Andrews, SJI, Chinese High etc. I was not from these schools but I do admire their cohesiveness and it is down to their own effort that they built their school's reputation. I am not going to speak for anyone else - But for me, those old-boys that are actively giving back to the school, building the culture and supporting what has made the school excellent I would strongly advocate for priority - And screw any accusations of "dynasty building" or "unfair advantage" or whatever - what I would rail against would be the person that leaves the school after P6, never joins any events after that, never makes themselves a part of the school community but still expects to get priority for their children. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 (edited) In the past, parents will eagerly volunteer at schools to get priority placing for their children going into P1. Based on this year's stats, and because of the new ruling to keep 40 spaces for Phase 2B and 2C, there is one school so popular that there may not be any vacancies at all for Phase 2A(2)! Guess which school? http://edumatters.sg/p1-registration-phase-2a1-closed-stats-update/ Yes... my friend is alumni also had to ballot.... but she got her daughter in after ballot... 4 unlucky alumni didn't make it... sad... Agree, every school is Good but no school are run alike. School are mini Empire. Just like IJ schs. All IJ right but why some are more popular? For those aiming for SNGS, u should know why u prefer it over others. Definitely not for it's academic achievements. Only one IJ school can be considered an elite school... which is St Nicholas.. The rest of the IJs are ok but not spectacular.... but one or two are really bad.... I rem the last thread, viceroymenthol vigorously defended the rights of the alumnis. Anyway LHL tweaked it just 1-2 years back right? So doubt got any change for another 10 years. Wow... so long liao still can remember... Simple reason is this: a school's current reputation is built upon the achievements of its alumni. Number of children now in phase 2A are now pretty large. For the good schools, it has essentially becoming a self perpetuating cycle. Only the 20 seats reserved for 2B and 20 for 2C remains to reduce the impact of this cycle. That's essentially only 13-16% of the school population given enrolment of 240-300 per year. If more it's even more diluted. Personally i don't think it's healthy and there's still too much emphasis on alumni. The ratios should be skewed more towards the randoms. I'm the johnny come late, so i don't think it's fair given that all primary schools are 100% govt funded. It is understandable that you don't think it is fair and think that it is still skewed towards alumni because this does not tally with your own interests. Maybe the govt will increase 2B and 2C then ok lah. You got boy or girl? When primary 1? Edited July 9, 2015 by Viceroymenthol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 Agree, every school is Good but no school are run alike. School are mini Empire. Just like IJ schs. All IJ right but why some are more popular? For those aiming for SNGS, u should know why u prefer it over others. Definitely not for it's academic achievements. Why ah? You are referring to Nanyang or SCGS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 Why ah? You are referring to Nanyang or SCGS? LOL... ya lor I also dunno she gong simi... St Nick's if not for academic achievements then for what? Maybe she mixed up with SCGS lah.... that one ghim gek girls school LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 9, 2015 Share July 9, 2015 Wow... so long liao still can remember... Simple reason is this: a school's current reputation is built upon the achievements of its alumni. It is understandable that you don't think it is fair and think that it is still skewed towards alumni because this does not tally with your own interests. Maybe the govt will increase 2B and 2C then ok lah. You got boy or girl? When primary 1? older one another 4 more years. Anything that uses cheng hu money to me must have social agenda. Just like stay in HDB, u have to deal with Foreigner quota or Racial quota within your block. U don't like it, go buy ur PC. Similarly in NS, u dont get to choose if your buddy is malay/PRC/Indian. Anyway no point arguing liao. Cos already tweaked 1-2 years back, so no more changes for another 10 years. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...