Atrecord Supersonic July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 Got thought of changing installer? But already paid when first installing leh... if go elsewhere, sure need to pay again... Yeah quite unprofessional. Obviously a cover up BS story for a mistake made. A simple test operation involving starting, stopping and locking the car after installation before handing over to you would have avoided all that. To minimise the number of times the cam recording is activated and maximise the period of "surveillance" , I will usually park the car in an area where I know will have less car or human traffic going across the front of the car. Eg. End of the no-through way carpark aisle, next to the wall, never park near a junction and especially the gantry or lobby area. If you ever want to try lower the cut off voltage, I suggest is better to have a jump starter kit with your car all the time.... Just in case. Yah lor. Lucky the place is not far from my office. Else, really should curse them for the inconvenience and all Oh yah, my car is parked at a not too busy part of the carpark. But cannot avoid all cars as the carpark is one-way traffic, so there's bound to be cars passing by... err... jump starter kit arrh... at one point i was thinking of getting one, but since i signed up for AA, i shelved the idea already. ok, let me think carefully before fiddling with the cut-off... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 All right bro. For me, it’s always Do It Right First Time, Every Time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 But already paid when first installing leh... if go elsewhere, sure need to pay again... Yah lor. Lucky the place is not far from my office. Else, really should curse them for the inconvenience and all Oh yah, my car is parked at a not too busy part of the carpark. But cannot avoid all cars as the carpark is one-way traffic, so there's bound to be cars passing by... err... jump starter kit arrh... at one point i was thinking of getting one, but since i signed up for AA, i shelved the idea already. ok, let me think carefully before fiddling with the cut-off... goodness, if i have a cam, i will off the bloody thing when parked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sch21 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 Yes, your description is exactly what i see too. All the same... until i press to lock the car, then the light closed shop... Oh, got chance it could be wired wrongly? I am clueless about the exact details of the technical part - dunno which wires are involved... If there's a chance that it's not my batt already weak, but is wiring wrong, then I should go back to the installer to get them to relook at it... Thanks! What car you driving? For komoco, they initially insisted changing to parking mode will void warranty. Then when bringing me to the car on collection day, my SE told me say they won't void, but if really want to do, i will need to go outside to do (their installer will not do for me)... Yeah went back to the outside installer now and after they called the AD and promising warranty wldnt be void they changed the battery connection. Now after car engine off the white light will be on standby mode then flashes rapidly if it detects motion. Question though, when its in standby mode does it mean its not recroding? If it flashes rapdily does it mean its recording for that couple of 10 to 20secs then?Also, i noticed the iroad cam feels warm to hot to the touch after changing the connection. Being perpetually on standby mode if its in parking and then recording will make it always working.. anything i shld be concerned abt of this cam overheating? Am driving a macan fron AD 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comage 5th Gear July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 Thanks! then maybe 12.3v is the recommended/standard setting? mine is Screenshot_20180712-193431_IROAD.jpg My car collected end apr 17, so it's 1 yr 2.5 mth old only leh... and i never mod anything to load the batt... so koyak meh? In any case, my TPMS got show the batt level, which fluctuates betw 12.8 and 14.2 when engine is on. 14.2 is when first on engine, later after moving, will go down to 12.8. 20180713_081739.jpg Then when i first cut the engine, the cam will say it's going into parking mode, and the white light in front will still blink/move. But when i lock the car (both by pressing the door handle button, and by pressing the remote), the white light will stop already. I gathered it must mean it stops recording liao... dunno is it the voltage will drop once the car is locked... Is yours doing the parking mode fine? And how old is your wife's car/batt? I had the same problem like yours - when my car first turns on engine, it will spike to 14.0+V, then drop back down and hover between 12.0+ to 14.0+. Note that this is not normal - an idle engine should always consistently generate > 13+V to 14V. I had just changed my battery, so I knew it wasn't the battery. Turns out it was crusted battery connectors that was hooked up to my car battery causing the issue. So I disconnected the battery and used a toothbrush with some alcohol cleaning solution to clean off the oxidised green powder on the connectors. Thereafter, hooked back up the battery and then it went to a steady 13+V to 14V. Problem solved. Try it - and if after that it still doesn't work, it means your alternator may be going bad. Note that if your engine is not generating enough voltage - it will affect the charging of your battery when engine is turned on. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 hi bros, any iroad model and dealer to recommend? http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/listing.php?COM=IROAD+Authorised+Dealer thank you! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreamer_toons 2nd Gear July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 hi bros, any iroad model and dealer to recommend? http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/listing.php?COM=IROAD+Authorised+Dealer thank you! Depends mainly on your budget and the features you want. The newer models comes with Starvis sensor which offers better night vision compared to the old models. Also, need to factor in budget for power pack if you need parking model. Otherwise, the installer will connect the cam directly to your car’s battery, which may shorten the battery’s life span. I had been to Infinity Werkz and Mods Ministry; the former to install my power pack months ago and the latter for my recent cam upgrade. Both are authorised dealers and workmanship is pretty good; they bother to do cable management during the installation, unlike some other workshops who chunked the excess cables and the entire cabling looked like fried bee hoon. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreamer_toons 2nd Gear July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 I realised that when I linked my iPhone iroad app to my cam via wifi, it doesn’t show the entire recorded footages over the last few day. I’m using a 64GB and based on past experience, it should be able to store at least the previous day footages. I thought the cam was skipping some recording along the way. However, when I access the card on my computer, the software reveals all the footages, including the previous days. Anyone encounter this issue? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 Thank you bro. I'm looking for a 2ch camera with wifi and starvis sensor. How much is power pack? Budget around $1k Depends mainly on your budget and the features you want. The newer models comes with Starvis sensor which offers better night vision compared to the old models.Also, need to factor in budget for power pack if you need parking model. Otherwise, the installer will connect the cam directly to your car’s battery, which may shorten the battery’s life span.I had been to Infinity Werkz and Mods Ministry; the former to install my power pack months ago and the latter for my recent cam upgrade. Both are authorised dealers and workmanship is pretty good; they bother to do cable management during the installation, unlike some other workshops who chunked the excess cables and the entire cabling looked like fried bee hoon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 Thank you bro. I'm looking for a 2ch camera with wifi and starvis sensor. How much is power pack? Budget around $1k Was quoted $460 for X9 front and back, power pack is $250. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreamer_toons 2nd Gear July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 Thank you bro. I'm looking for a 2ch camera with wifi and starvis sensor. How much is power pack? Budget around $1k Currently, only X9 ($460) and TX9 ($550) have starvis sensor, the former being a full HD front and rear cam while the latter a 3K front cam with screen and Full HD rear cam. Their prices are mostly fixed, inclusive of installation when I was shopping for my upgrade. Power pack cost me $300, the smaller capacity during the last computer show but the price includes installation too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 Great help, else i kena carrot again.. thank you bros!!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 15, 2018 Share July 15, 2018 Currently, only X9 ($460) and TX9 ($550) have starvis sensor, the former being a full HD front and rear cam while the latter a 3K front cam with screen and Full HD rear cam. Their prices are mostly fixed, inclusive of installation when I was shopping for my upgrade. Power pack cost me $300, the smaller capacity during the last computer show but the price includes installation too. and this article says, for safest operation, need 2 power packs if there are 2 cams Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Yeah went back to the outside installer now and after they called the AD and promising warranty wldnt be void they changed the battery connection. Now after car engine off the white light will be on standby mode then flashes rapidly if it detects motion. Question though, when its in standby mode does it mean its not recroding? If it flashes rapdily does it mean its recording for that couple of 10 to 20secs then? Also, i noticed the iroad cam feels warm to hot to the touch after changing the connection. Being perpetually on standby mode if its in parking and then recording will make it always working.. anything i shld be concerned abt of this cam overheating? Am driving a macan fron AD When in standby mode (white light moves from left to right slowly and continuously), it means the cam is ready to record when there is motion detected. Then when there is indeed motion detected, it will flash rapidly as you mentioned. It should then record when there is still motion detected, and will stop when there isn't any motion anymore, and it's based on how many sec you set per clip, as well as how many sec more after the last motion is detected. Yup all cams will feel hot to the touch when in operation, esp if it's full HD or higher. Overheating was a common problem in the earlier days when full HD just came out, but I supposed it should be resolved by now. The iRoad person whom i spoke to, said it can withstand temp of up to 90 deg C - although i'm not able to verify it btw, when in standby mode, it apparently draws much less batt than when it's actually recording. And it should also be less warm/hot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 I had the same problem like yours - when my car first turns on engine, it will spike to 14.0+V, then drop back down and hover between 12.0+ to 14.0+. Note that this is not normal - an idle engine should always consistently generate > 13+V to 14V. I had just changed my battery, so I knew it wasn't the battery. Turns out it was crusted battery connectors that was hooked up to my car battery causing the issue. So I disconnected the battery and used a toothbrush with some alcohol cleaning solution to clean off the oxidised green powder on the connectors. Thereafter, hooked back up the battery and then it went to a steady 13+V to 14V. Problem solved. Try it - and if after that it still doesn't work, it means your alternator may be going bad. Note that if your engine is not generating enough voltage - it will affect the charging of your battery when engine is turned on. Thanks for this info. Let me find some time to take a look at my batt to see if i've the same problem. When you said crusted battery connectors, did you mean got those green green powder at the connectors? How did you disconnect the batt, and after you reconnected back, did it affected the vehicle ECU, windows and radio memory, etc. I saw before previously after changing batts, that's what will happen, unless the engine is running when replacing the batt. But I've only 'seen' but not done it myself Am certainly hoping that it's not the alternator giving problem - my car is only 1 yr 2 mth+... Will be really angry if it starts going bad so soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hope_n_pray 2nd Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 I realised that when I linked my iPhone iroad app to my cam via wifi, it doesn’t show the entire recorded footages over the last few day. I’m using a 64GB and based on past experience, it should be able to store at least the previous day footages. I thought the cam was skipping some recording along the way. However, when I access the card on my computer, the software reveals all the footages, including the previous days. Anyone encounter this issue? On the iPhone app, need to scroll up/down (can't remember which direction) and hold for it to load the older videos. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nitrodrops 1st Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Hi All, Using iRoad V7. Kept encountering cam saying "memory card damagaed and cannot be recorded". 1.) i will disconnect/reconnect the main power to the cam, and it will just start recorded again 2.) this error keeps repearting even though i have reformat the microSd card. Using 256G SanDisk (Not the high endurance type. Used for 1 year already. Any idea? Thanks Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blmg 2nd Gear July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Hi All, Using iRoad V7. Kept encountering cam saying "memory card damagaed and cannot be recorded". 1.) i will disconnect/reconnect the main power to the cam, and it will just start recorded again 2.) this error keeps repearting even though i have reformat the microSd card. Using 256G SanDisk (Not the high endurance type. Used for 1 year already. Any idea? Thanks Cheers The max capacity for iroad should be 64gb. Not sure if your 256Gb is causing the issue. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...