L23 6th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 I dun consider this really a good deal when coe prices are supposed to drop further Surprised to see this statement from you.. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 If ppls still can afford a 500k (2.5 time) HDB which in 10 yrs ago was 200k, what made us think that ppls cant afford a car that is 100k (2 time only) now when 10 yrs ago is 50k?Because hdb will not be worthless after 10yrs, car will be 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Think need to deduct 20% only right from your gross income since that 17% is from your employer's contribution? The numbers release from Gov is gross salary, which includes of CPF contrbutions from Employee and employer, so, take home pay would be to deduct off 37% off from the gross. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Actually, I would expect that many people who were earning around 2k 10 years ago would be earning over 5k now. Well, I dont know what is your defination of "many", or what makes you think that.... But I do know that you will need around 9.6% increment every year to achieve that 150% within 10 yrs. If you think that 9.6% increment is what MANY People is getting... then you could be right. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
_h_r_ 2nd Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 I dun consider this really a good deal when coe prices are supposed to drop further It's hard to say if COE will really tank. Back in Feb just before CNY, Altis was $100K with $5K CEVS rebate and no one got the COE without topping up because COE went up. Now Altis is $101K which is really a good deal considering that CEVS rebate is $0 which means PARF increased by $2.5K. If I was not driving a lao pok BMW, I would have bought the Altis at $101K. Looks really bad to downgrade from BMW to Altis in brand conscious Singapore. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Surprised to see this statement from you..I use the word supposed. No way am I saying it will drop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Premacist 5th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 One model drop in price and you concluded coe price down n economic conditions are gloomy? How come you think in such a naive manner?Naive? Maybe, but yesterday's result shown the COE down again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 It's hard to say if COE will really tank. Back in Feb just before CNY, Altis was $100K with $5K CEVS rebate and no one got the COE without topping up because COE went up. Now Altis is $101K which is really a good deal considering that CEVS rebate is $0 which means PARF increased by $2.5K. If I was not driving a lao pok BMW, I would have bought the Altis at $101K. Looks really bad to downgrade from BMW to Altis in brand conscious Singapore. I would say it will not go lower than 50kNaive? Maybe, but yesterday's result shown the COE down again.Down again. So? A car still cost more than 95k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 3rd Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Surprised to see this statement from you.. :grin: :grin: 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 It's hard to say if COE will really tank. Back in Feb just before CNY, Altis was $100K with $5K CEVS rebate and no one got the COE without topping up because COE went up. Now Altis is $101K which is really a good deal considering that CEVS rebate is $0 which means PARF increased by $2.5K. If I was not driving a lao pok BMW, I would have bought the Altis at $101K. Looks really bad to downgrade from BMW to Altis in brand conscious Singapore. Well at least you are honest about the face part 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmy82 1st Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Heard interest has gone up to 2.78% across the board. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doppel Turbocharged December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Heard interest has gone up to 2.78% across the board.This is front end loading interest rate, so effective interest rate is actually double: about 5.6%. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
edwin15 4th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Well, I dont know what is your defination of "many", or what makes you think that.... But I do know that you will need around 9.6% increment every year to achieve that 150% within 10 yrs. If you think that 9.6% increment is what MANY People is getting... then you could be right. I do not have any numbers to show either way. So many is just my opinion. But the population I'm referring to is those earning 2k 10 yrs ago. Typically these people will be in their early to mid 20s and maybe just graduated. In the early part of one's career wage growth tends to be pretty fast till you hit a certain level, then it slow down. A 9.6% increment to someone earning 2k is only 200 increment vs 5k which is 500 increment. So my point is that while many people do not get a 9.6% increment year on year averaged out for 10 yrs, it is possible that many people earning 2k 10 years ago could get a 9.6% increment year on year averaged out for 10 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eaton 2nd Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Now more good deal . A lot of kan Cheong spider all buy last few months before change of cevs 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cosmicclaw 6th Gear December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Heard interest has gone up to 2.78% across the board. If previous rate was 2.28% and loan amount was $60K, the additional interest cost is only $300 per year @ 2.78% 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Don't get fooled. COE price is meaningless. What is important is the car price. COE price drop, doesn't mean car price will all drop. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Wa, need a PhD to follow this thread liao. Jin cheem de man 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 24, 2015 Share December 24, 2015 Maybe those 2k 10 yrs ago people already bought flats at 200k. So now sitting on 300k paper gain. Huat Ah!!! Paper gain is no gain until you monetize it. Say you are given one house worth $1mil and it appreciates 100% everyyear but you are not allowed to monetize it. At the end of the day it remains the same house whether it is $1mil or $100mil The key is to be able to monetize it. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...