Forrestcat 2nd Gear January 10, 2016 Share January 10, 2016 no worry lah, just let those kan chiong spiders go buy, happy ju hor. by end 2016, hopefully all those need to buy or those in hurry to buy or those cannot wait to buy already bought. 20k coe can smell leow :D Can wait until 2017 too, no problem ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear January 10, 2016 Share January 10, 2016 Can wait until 2017 too, no problem The smart money is indeed to wait out 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IcyColdGemini 1st Gear January 10, 2016 Share January 10, 2016 I was looking at those newly/latest posted ads (1-2 days old) . Hoping that 2nd hand car might drop abit in price since CAT A COE dropped so much. Until I see this $15K depreciation Vios. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=487950&DL=1068 Bro, just curious but how do you determine a fair value for depreciation? For the case of Toyota Vios (Based on the last recorded price, ~$107K in the link), would a yearly depreciation of 10~12K per year asked by 2nd hand car dealers be a fair deal? Asking cause I'm planning to get a 2nd hand car soon. http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11315 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear January 10, 2016 Share January 10, 2016 Ya lo I referring to ad one. One should know the refund process takes forever lol, some bros exp here Liao. As for the 8 bid PI one, Tmr they run road habis Liao. Ya lor. But i have a fren who was lucky enough the refund was almost immediate. Heng sway i guess. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Trade in at AD vs sell direct to 2nd hand dealer? Get new car but kena piak at lower trade in. Sold my ride direct to dealer and got $8K more. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Trade in at AD vs sell direct to 2nd hand dealer? Get new car but kena piak at lower trade in. Sold my ride direct to dealer and got $8K more. Agreed n to add, sell direct to buyer n get even more! Maybe one way to go round this rule is to get at near 10yr car to trade in to get best of both worlds but administratively maybe a hassle to do this. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Bro, just curious but how do you determine a fair value for depreciation? For the case of Toyota Vios (Based on the last recorded price, ~$107K in the link), would a yearly depreciation of 10~12K per year asked by 2nd hand car dealers be a fair deal? Asking cause I'm planning to get a 2nd hand car soon. http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11315 Bm no more sell new vios liao. But vios should never dep so much fot a virtual new one today. I assume a vios should be selling 85k for a brand new assuming there is one in the first place. so 7k dep for a used is fair. Nothing more. More is carrotted 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahpan 1st Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 news from CNA - http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/car-dealers-see-swell-in/2414642.html Could this current COE at the bottom of the rock? hmm 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 news from CNA - http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/car-dealers-see-swell-in/2414642.html Could this current COE at the bottom of the rock? hmm This is typical kiasu behavior of sporeans, scared no new car to drive. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Just wondering why Singaporeans want to call each other 1. gan cheong spider 2. kaisu singaporean 3. stupid or whatever should they buy car now or what. BTW I am saying this not because i am holy or i am buy car now or have bought car with high COE. i am just speaking from neutral stand point. we should respect each other point of view whether buy now or buy later no need to call each other names like KS , stupid or ... they are rich they like to spend money this way. why not let them be.. if u believe that coe will be lower still to your believe and continue to wait. those bought also no need to say thing like u wait long long.. time will tell. how are we so sure that these ppl are singaporean why not FT? even within singaporean we are not cohesive how to stand against outsiders? 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Just wondering why Singaporeans want to call each other 1. gan cheong spider 2. kaisu singaporean 3. stupid or whatever should they buy car now or what. BTW I am saying this not because i am holy or i am buy car now or have bought car with high COE. i am just speaking from neutral stand point. we should respect each other point of view whether buy now or buy later no need to call each other names like KS , stupid or ... they are rich they like to spend money this way. why not let them be.. if u believe that coe will be lower still to your believe and continue to wait. those bought also no need to say thing like u wait long long.. time will tell. how are we so sure that these ppl are singaporean why not FT? even within singaporean we are not cohesive how to stand against outsiders? Ego....................... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Just wondering why Singaporeans want to call each other 1. gan cheong spider 2. kaisu singaporean 3. stupid or whatever should they buy car now or what. BTW I am saying this not because i am holy or i am buy car now or have bought car with high COE. i am just speaking from neutral stand point. we should respect each other point of view whether buy now or buy later no need to call each other names like KS , stupid or ... they are rich they like to spend money this way. why not let them be.. if u believe that coe will be lower still to your believe and continue to wait. those bought also no need to say thing like u wait long long.. time will tell. how are we so sure that these ppl are singaporean why not FT? even within singaporean we are not cohesive how to stand against outsiders? Is like that one, bash others to make themselves feel better. Bunch of insecure brats, age doesn't matter. This is the hard truth news from CNA - http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/car-dealers-see-swell-in/2414642.html Could this current COE at the bottom of the rock? hmm If its the bottom, then all whom book Elantra at 41k will all have to top up FOR SURE to get their cars. Lowest yet is 45k. Imagine the amount of refunds to be performed 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_ryder 1st Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Hi, I'm still a newbie so please forgive the silly question. Usually what kind of situation will people be asked to top up to meet COE that has risen? Is it only for non-guaranteed bids? If buying from AD, can we get it in writing how much difference maximum will they absorb before asking for top-up? Thanks in advance! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ttl1976 5th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 I feel some scare pple rush in and will push the coe up. Just like ... parents telling kids. Dont rush dont rush. But kids being kids, they still rush in kind of situation.... Ha ha ha. Chill la. Some pple has their trigger point to buy. Some lower, some higher..... Some dont even have any, wanna buy just buy. So chill la. Ha ha ha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IcyColdGemini 1st Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Bm no more sell new vios liao. But vios should never dep so much fot a virtual new one today. I assume a vios should be selling 85k for a brand new assuming there is one in the first place. so 7k dep for a used is fair. Nothing more. More is carrotted Thanks for the reply bro. So I guess a depreciation of about +1K~2K(Max) in addition to the car's depreciation per year should be okay as Dealers need to profit abit too. Assuming if the car is in decent condition and covered for a limited warranty by a reputable dealer (If there are any lol). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahpan 1st Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Just wondering why Singaporeans want to call each other 1. gan cheong spider 2. kaisu singaporean 3. stupid or whatever should they buy car now or what. BTW I am saying this not because i am holy or i am buy car now or have bought car with high COE. i am just speaking from neutral stand point. we should respect each other point of view whether buy now or buy later no need to call each other names like KS , stupid or ... they are rich they like to spend money this way. why not let them be.. if u believe that coe will be lower still to your believe and continue to wait. those bought also no need to say thing like u wait long long.. time will tell. how are we so sure that these ppl are singaporean why not FT? even within singaporean we are not cohesive how to stand against outsiders? well said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IcyColdGemini 1st Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 I feel some scare pple rush in and will push the coe up. Just like ... parents telling kids. Dont rush dont rush. But kids being kids, they still rush in kind of situation.... Ha ha ha. Chill la. Some pple has their trigger point to buy. Some lower, some higher..... Some dont even have any, wanna buy just buy. So chill la. Ha ha ha It's rather scary how people think that a CAT A COE at ~$45K is considered cheap these days. Prices are increasing but my wallet isnt increasing in tandem =[ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 11, 2016 Share January 11, 2016 Hi, I'm still a newbie so please forgive the silly question. Usually what kind of situation will people be asked to top up to meet COE that has risen? Is it only for non-guaranteed bids? If buying from AD, can we get it in writing how much difference maximum will they absorb before asking for top-up? Thanks in advance! If your rebate is 41k for example, and coe bidding is 50k, AD may not bid for you, but its counted as 1 chance gone. 5 more to go if you are on 6 unguaranteed bids. If rebate is 41k and coe is 38k after bidding, you get back 3k. If rebate is 41k and COE bidding is say 43k, you'll prob be asked if you want to top up. Unless santa claus SE help you bridge the gap which i'm assuming sextra services is required for that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...