Consequences of installing different tyres compunds on a car

RCoupe

Thanks already wrote in to SIN main rep last week, but till date no respond from them, today I wrote again to their main office in Italy. Hope to hear from them soon.

Pirelli Asia Pte Ltd – Singapore

133, Cecil Street, #08-01A Keck Seng Tower, Singapore 069535, Republic of Singapore

Tel: +65 6709 3106

call and see what they say?

I understand "MO" stand for "Mercedes original",that means OEM tyres for Mercedes Benz cars.,N1 is for Porsche...AM8.?Aston Martin.?? :a-confused:  :a-SOS: Ask RobertTan the best...can find him in Tyres section.

Firstly must compliment TS for giving us a very detailed breakdown of his issue.

My understanding is that he went to change 4 piece Pirelli Pzero tyres and got 4 piece OE tyres - 2 for mercedes and 1 for Porsche, 1 for Aston Martin. His butt feel say something not the same as before and zoom in on this difference. manufacturer website as usual kiasu and say everything must be same same across all 4 wheels.

My own thinking is that I will not be too concerned about 4 different types of OE as long as same brand/model/size/manufacture period. How much difference can they introduce to their tyre to differentiate it between car brand to car brand? its not like one brand is doing aircraft, the other is off-road vehicle. Tyre shop uncle probably think the same as me, so that's why treat TS as siao lang.

But if TS wants to be safe, maybe at least change the rear 2 tyres to same type - either AM8 (better, as lucky huat number) or N2.

I think apart from not getting 4 identical tyres, there is also grief involved in the response from a supposed recommended merchant from sgcm.

Caveat emptor / buyer beware yes I know.

anyone knows or experience having installed with different tyre/tires compound on the car even though tires of the same brand?

Recently I went back to the same tyre shop that I have patronized for last 3 years but this round, I got bad experience as the tyre were installed with different compound. (Initially all MO and rear tyres need to replaced. It was replaced with 1 N2 and 1 AM8 by KH tyre shop!! at ubi)

less than 2weeks, I realised the drive was different esp. on corner and wet floor (these few days raining). I started making inquiry and read a lot online and I understand that its important not to have mix component. I went back to the tyre shop and damn unscrupulous owner gave lots of excuse.

**shall elaborate the excuses given by the scheming tyre shop owner** sucks, bulls**t excuses

I was told if any accident with root cause related to the tyre will have the insurance void as the tyres were not meant to be mixed! apart from this important factor.

All bro, can tell me what to do?? any advice and action that I can take?

if u change all 4 tyres at 1 go, and they give u different spec. can go back and f--- them .

but if u replace 2 or 1 only , try to have left and right same at least.

if the left and right tyre on the same axle is different, and u e.brake on a raining days, and the braking distance is different ?

the car might turn side way???

( I guess only)

For the amount of $$$ you prob paid for PZeros, hope you can get it rectified.

the shop quite koyak

Yes the shop is terrible, today I got another shock to find out that the size they fit for me is wrong too, suppose to be 285/30/R19 instead they fitted with 290/30/R19, and also noticed that my fuel usage has increase during this few weeks.

wah they give u free upsize/upgrade

I am quite amused at this tyre shop, they seem to be in a mess. Can't even put on the correct tyres.

Based on your personal experience and my brother's encounter, they seemed to be doing their best to clear inventory. Of course your experience is more detrimental considering these are Pzeros we are talking about.

Would you be planning to change them? Just wondering if there are any shops that can provide trade in discounts?

I don't think there is 290/30R19

wah they give u free upsize/upgrade

Some time, odd size is more expensive, therefore not necessary a upgrade is at your advantage.

Based on your personal experience and my brother's encounter, they seemed to be doing their best to clear inventory. Of course your experience is more detrimental considering these are Pzeros we are talking about.

Would you be planning to change them? Just wondering if there are any shops that can provide trade in discounts?

Try Soh tyre at AMK..

Firstly must compliment TS for giving us a very detailed breakdown of his issue.

My understanding is that he went to change 4 piece Pirelli Pzero tyres and got 4 piece OE tyres - 2 for mercedes and 1 for Porsche, 1 for Aston Martin. His butt feel say something not the same as before and zoom in on this difference. manufacturer website as usual kiasu and say everything must be same same across all 4 wheels.

My own thinking is that I will not be too concerned about 4 different types of OE as long as same brand/model/size/manufacture period. How much difference can they introduce to their tyre to differentiate it between car brand to car brand? its not like one brand is doing aircraft, the other is off-road vehicle. Tyre shop uncle probably think the same as me, so that's why treat TS as siao lang.

But if TS wants to be safe, maybe at least change the rear 2 tyres to same type - either AM8 (better, as lucky huat number) or N2.

i disagree..... it must say something when they need to differentiate tyres for different car models.... however slight the difference is still a difference

gai siao you next time go Leong seng at Ubi or Hurry Tyre at Mackenzie Rd, best serbit. 

I don't think there is 290/30R19

Even have no no hav, if fitting in tyres that are not what the customer wanted, the shop must let customer know regardless mah.  But wah 290 Pzero, you drive Lamborpoghini ah?

Edited by Mockngbrd

gai siao you next time go Leong seng at Ubi or Hurry Tyre at Mackenzie Rd, best serbit.

Bookmarked, gum siao gao gao