Ender Hypersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 typing is also going the way of the dinosaur. Keying 8 characters into the mobile pad the warden has or carrying a QR scanner, like those NTUC, and leaning over the bonnet to scan thru the wind screen. I figure, keying in the car plate is much easier. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 sounds rather stupid actually having to print out a QR code. i rather they linked the app to IU. then parking attendants just carry a hand scanner that scan the IU. makes much more sense. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Aiyoh, discuss so much, pointless. Yesterday's press conference on next generation ERP they already said it can auto charge for street side parking. You drive off peak car during restricted hours, they can also charge. You can run, but you can't hide. Print QR code? That's so yesterday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) The just announced ERP 2 system that uses OBU (On Board Unit) instead of IU effectively render this eCoupon system obsolete. ERP2 is revolutionary. eCoupon is evolutionary. With OBU in all locally registered car, using satellite technology, LTA monitors every car, 1. The distance driven on which road - and impose tiered ERP and deduct directly from you OBU. 2. When you park in any open air URA carpark along the road, deducts directly from OBU parking charges. Other possibilities, 1. LTA provide each driver a statement of account by email or snail mail for monthly payment of toll and parking instead of direct debit. 2. TP monitors every driver's speed via GPS rendering their speed camera obsolete. Nobody gets away from speeding. 3. Insurance company attains from LTA a driver's driving pattern and behavior (speed, distance, fines) and customize insurance premium for each driver accordingly. 4. Banks obtaining court order to obtain data from LTA to track owners who defaulted their loan and get the exact location to tow back the car 5. Police can even track if a car is in Malaysia, and which part of Malaysia when solving a crime. All these will allow the gov to do away with parking attendants aunties, red light camera, speed camera, more data to catch traffic offenders. LTA can also provide an app for you to monitor the location of you car, how much parking charges have incurred, or trace your driving history. Possibilities are limitless. Edited February 26, 2016 by Miles 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/seeing-the-last-of-parking-coupons interesting project. if they offer more payment methods besides paypal and credit card, i definitely will use it! looking forward to their app release to see what it can and cannot do. no use.. once the satellite epr thing is up .. it can be used across to parking too.. it becomes auto liao .. so this app will die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged February 26, 2016 Author Share February 26, 2016 (edited) sounds rather stupid actually having to print out a QR code. i rather they linked the app to IU. then parking attendants just carry a hand scanner that scan the IU. makes much more sense. student project nia lah. IU scanner is not consumer grade item that is readily available. student budget is always must-be-good-must-be-cheap-lagi-best-if-free no use.. once the satellite epr thing is up .. it can be used across to parking too.. it becomes auto liao .. so this app will die. not exactly. it will be enhanced to auto deduct from your cashcard! so dun be surprised if you parked one day, and come back to your car greeted by an empty cash card. The just announced ERP 2 system that uses OBU (On Board Unit) instead of IU effectively render this eCoupon system obsolete. ERP2 is revolutionary. eCoupon is evolutionary. With OBU in all locally registered car, using satellite technology, LTA monitors every car, 1. The distance driven on which road - and impose tiered ERP and deduct directly from you OBU. 2. When you park in any open air URA carpark along the road, deducts directly from OBU parking charges. Other possibilities, 1. LTA provide each driver a statement of account by email or snail mail for monthly payment of toll and parking instead of direct debit. 2. TP monitors every driver's speed via GPS rendering their speed camera obsolete. Nobody gets away from speeding. 3. Insurance company attains from LTA a driver's driving pattern and behavior (speed, distance, fines) and customize insurance premium for each driver accordingly. 4. Banks obtaining court order to obtain data from LTA to track owners who defaulted their loan and get the exact location to tow back the car 5. Police can even track if a car is in Malaysia, and which part of Malaysia when solving a crime. All these will allow the gov to do away with parking attendants aunties, red light camera, speed camera, more data to catch traffic offenders. LTA can also provide an app for you to monitor the location of you car, how much parking charges have incurred, or trace your driving history. Possibilities are limitless. so many words just to say BIG BROTHER! and we can't do shit about it! Woo~~~! sweet isn't it? Edited February 26, 2016 by Ahgong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Cannot use car plate number to identify? Parking warden just key in the car plate, and and all e-coupon purchase information should be able retrieve. Ya hor, using car plate number to identify would be a good alternative solution. Not sure whether implemented before in Singapore, should consider using sms as 1 of the payment mode. There are uncle and auntie drivers who are not familiar using smartphone. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 I praise you for bringing up the possibilities, but I fark the LTA and PAP for coming up with this. In future there will be absolutely zero privacy. They will even know when you brought your mistress to the park and how long it took for you to cum. The just announced ERP 2 system that uses OBU (On Board Unit) instead of IU effectively render this eCoupon system obsolete. ERP2 is revolutionary. eCoupon is evolutionary. With OBU in all locally registered car, using satellite technology, LTA monitors every car, 1. The distance driven on which road - and impose tiered ERP and deduct directly from you OBU. 2. When you park in any open air URA carpark along the road, deducts directly from OBU parking charges. Other possibilities, 1. LTA provide each driver a statement of account by email or snail mail for monthly payment of toll and parking instead of direct debit. 2. TP monitors every driver's speed via GPS rendering their speed camera obsolete. Nobody gets away from speeding. 3. Insurance company attains from LTA a driver's driving pattern and behavior (speed, distance, fines) and customize insurance premium for each driver accordingly. 4. Banks obtaining court order to obtain data from LTA to track owners who defaulted their loan and get the exact location to tow back the car 5. Police can even track if a car is in Malaysia, and which part of Malaysia when solving a crime. All these will allow the gov to do away with parking attendants aunties, red light camera, speed camera, more data to catch traffic offenders. LTA can also provide an app for you to monitor the location of you car, how much parking charges have incurred, or trace your driving history. Possibilities are limitless. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 I praise you for bringing up the possibilities, but I fark the LTA and PAP for coming up with this. In future there will be absolutely zero privacy. They will even know when you brought your mistress to the park and how long it took for you to cum. the moment everyone carries a smartphone, they already know where you are, when you go toilet for how long... etc. this is just for cars. it could be anyone driving your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) Smartphone is not 100% accurate if GPS is off. The best they can do is use triangulation method to estimate your last location using cell signal. So in reality, you don't even need a smartphone for them to track you. Normal 2G mobile phone with signal to cell tower will do. But this ERP 2.0 is 100% GPS and I am guessing the unit is also hardwired to be on together with ignition. So your last location will be accurate down to +/- 5M or less. Of course there are GPS signal jammers in the market so have to wait for someone to try it out. the moment everyone carries a smartphone, they already know where you are, when you go toilet for how long... etc. this is just for cars. it could be anyone driving your car. Edited February 26, 2016 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 whatever it is.... our parking coupon must go down as one of the most stupid method of charging parking fees with all its inconvenience in design that is totally flawed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 whatever it is.... our parking coupon must go down as one of the most stupid method of charging parking fees with all its inconvenience in design that is totally flawed. not really.... its being copied by the municipal council of Penang and they are now using parking coupons to reduce the dependency on parking attendant. I'd say the system was a cheap way of implementing public parking scheme in a city state like Singapore. We're gonna have a cool way of paying for parking come 2020. No escape, no cheats, just pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 not really.... its being copied by the municipal council of Penang and they are now using parking coupons to reduce the dependency on parking attendant. I'd say the system was a cheap way of implementing public parking scheme in a city state like Singapore. We're gonna have a cool way of paying for parking come 2020. No escape, no cheats, just pay. its the tearing of it that is oh so stupid. learn from boleh land how it is done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Smartphone is not 100% accurate if GPS is off. The best they can do is use triangulation method to estimate your last location using cell signal. So in reality, you don't even need a smartphone for them to track you. Normal 2G mobile phone with signal to cell tower will do. But this ERP 2.0 is 100% GPS and I am guessing the unit is also hardwired to be on together with ignition. So your last location will be accurate down to +/- 5M or less. Of course there are GPS signal jammers in the market so have to wait for someone to try it out. I'm sure the system is programmed in such a way that it is a two layer verification,linked to your ignition. So if say car moved yet no feedback loop from GPS... U tio liao. Too many scholars in govt to keng against kengsters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Well, what if it is completely disconnected from the ignition? Just need to install a switch. Haha. I'm sure the system is programmed in such a way that it is a two layer verification,linked to your ignition.So if say car moved yet no feedback loop from GPS... U tio liao. Too many scholars in govt to keng against kengsters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Well, what if it is completely disconnected from the ignition? Just need to install a switch. Haha.Easier if someone come up with a cash card writer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged February 26, 2016 Author Share February 26, 2016 ha ha ha ha ha... before the system is even in the testing phase, you guys are already thinking of ways to beat it? This is hilarious! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrlim 2nd Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Another two points to add: Point One Your monthly bill will also come with letter asking how you travel from point A to point B so fast ah? Then we LL have to explain how come given the speed limits imposed Point Two if you do not pay your fines or road tax promptly, LTA using satellite will disable your car via the On Board Unit in your car , render it immobile till you pay ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...