Bukit Batok bi-election!

Duckduck

J22, last GE you kanna banned, right? Good to see you back in full force in this by election.

No lah. Last election I ban myself. You go see Liverpool thread. I was posting there all the time.

This election not my place. I come out talk rubbish.

Edited by Joseph22

Pls do not bring up the race card. PAP has never won a by election, it has nothing to do with race. Singaporeans hv voted in minorities before in single constituency, be it JB Jeyaratnam or Michael Palmer. I find it disturbing that PAP n some supporters are playing the race card, n say Singaporeand racist if vote for CSJ. Singaporeans are more mature than that. Anyone wins by his own merit, not race. And why are people suddenly linking this by election to whether sg is prepared to hv minority PM? This has nothing to do with race. I believe many Singaporeans prefer Tharman to be PM than many other candidates. But this has nothing to do with the results of the by election. So lets not fall onto the race card game. The best man win.

I actually agree with u CSJ will not win. But even if he wins, he wins with his own merit. N this by election results does not affect the race of our future Pm. Plds delink this.

Let's face facts. Race does still make a difference to a certain extent. You ever think Tharman will become the next PM assuming LHL suddenly has to step down for some reason?

Yes sinkies have voted in minorities before but they are exceptional personalities like JBJ or neutral races like a Eurasian which go down better as compared to a pure Indian . There is a reason why GRC was implemented by LKY - because he knew most sinkies voted along racial lines, no matter how difficult it is to comprehend.

By the way you are contradicting yourself that pAP has never won a by election and yet conclude CSJ would not win.

If I am a Moderator, I would have slap you with a warning, or at least 30 dislike points. I gave you 5 anyway.

Do you have anything more constructive other than calling names and other personal attacks? Yes you can stand up and defense whoever you supports, but support with facts and logic. Name calling and personal attacks brings you no where except bringing disgrace to the opposition. Have some standard will you...

Whom have I called names and launched personal attacks on? Sinkies ?Thank god you are not a moderator, otherwise MCF would have got abandoned and closed shop.

Let's face facts. Race does still make a difference to a certain extent. You ever think Tharman will become the next PM assuming LHL suddenly has to step down for some reason?

Yes sinkies have voted in minorities before but they are exceptional personalities like JBJ or neutral races like a Eurasian which go down better as compared to a pure Indian . There is a reason why GRC was implemented by LKY - because he knew most sinkies voted along racial lines, no matter how difficult it is to comprehend.

By the way you are contradicting yourself that pAP has never won a by election and yet conclude CSJ would not win.

I am not contradicting myself. It is factual that PAP has never won byelection. Having said that, CSJ is unlikely to win becos he is an exceptional case with too much baggage. But what disturbs me is people start bringing up race. N linking this bt batok byelection to our choice of race of PM. And Grace Fu warning about Chinese voting Chinese and black cat white cat. Will appreciate if we discuss the merits of each individuals and not play the race card.

Good leader are forgiving and tolerant to avoid abusiveness character nature , these few who mentioning sensitive matters to warn or defame opponent reputation is obviously "unnecessary", they have proven themselves over re-acting and defensive, they unknowingly made America Barrack Obama and PRC Xi Jin Pin looks as great leaders of the world.

Lightning flash in a matter of 2 seconds, it's very normal that BB residents never notice it with door closed [rolleyes]

来无影去无踪旋风小飞侠。

Any picture to show the rally crowd ? Please................ [:(]

Wah, just heard channel 8 news broadcast Grace Foo rally messages, she borrowed Teng Xiao Ping famous phrase...Regardless Black or White Cat, The Cat that catches rat is a Good Cat.

Using rat talks in Bukit Batok is 100% relevant [laugh]

Err... if she really say that.. face palm.

She indirectly talking about candidate. . Or party??

Either way, this is potentially even worst than her salary not enough theory.

I see.. So the note that got torn at my Friend house belong to pap... they had been trying to find out which supporter torn the note. Now all is clear.

Sometimes it could be ownself tear ownself . . . then cry foul play.

But it's the PAP CEC who decides who is PM not the electorate.

Correction: It is my belief that LKY used race as a pretext to implement GRCs. I would surmise that the real reason was to stack the odds even more heavily against more opposition candidates being elected to Parliament.

If you consider the incontrovertible fact that JBJ (an Indian) had already defeated PKH (a Chinese) in a straight fight in Anson 7 years before the GRC implementation, and that racism generally downtrends with time, then what LKY claimed holds no water. 

Also, and this is most important, the one who brought that whole "this country is not ready for an Indian PM" thing into the national consciousness in the first place was LKY. That was a completely unwarranted comment, IMO.

LKY did many great things, but he had many, many faults. We should stop idolising him, and not just because LWL says so or because that's what LKY would want (which really isn't important), but simply because he was just a man, and men are imperfect.

• Praise 13

in before 70% voted for COE, ARF, petrol tax, ERP n million dollar ministar salary

Sometimes it could be ownself tear ownself . . . then cry foul play.

Oh .... that's politics. No right or wrong. Suit one, it's right. Otherwise wrong. Hahaha ..... I think many ppl would like to see more credible alternative voices in parliament.

Correction: It is my belief that LKY used race as a pretext to implement GRCs. I would surmise that the real reason was to stack the odds even more heavily against more opposition candidates being elected to Parliament.

If you consider the incontrovertible fact that JBJ (an Indian) had already defeated PKH (a Chinese) in a straight fight in Anson 7 years before the GRC implementation, and that racism generally downtrends with time, then what LKY claimed holds no water.

Also, and this is most important, the one who brought that whole "this country is not ready for an Indian PM" thing into the national consciousness in the first place was LKY. That was a completely unwarranted comment, IMO.

LKY did many great things, but he had many, many faults. We should stop idolising him, and not just because LWL says so or because that's what LKY would want (which really isn't important), but simply because he was just a man, and men are imperfect.

And so are we all.....

Only the charbor is perfect!!!

The force is strong in the family, dun jealous. Not everyone can be a Knight.

Tharman is blast furnace forged, everyone can see that.

Reliable, hardened damascene, so many layers. He got my support not because other people said so, or that I love minorities or bald handsome men.

Sometimes a horse needs a breeder to recognize its thoroughbred ability. Such horses search far and wide. Such breeders search far and wide for their thoroughbreds. When they meet, joy to world.

Have a nice day and remove all the grouchiness. Bad for your health. We love you too Turboflat force.

would it be better to discuss issues at hand (national ans/or local level), capabilities of candidates, strength of parties and options. Race and religions are very sensitives topics. Some things are best kept at bay, even if it is true, how many times do we see topics on race and religions get tense up and full of heat. Instead of focusing on a meaningful discussion, people become personal and warnings issue, thread locked.

let's keep it civil.