2016 Apr, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

This is likely to be my last 2 months in this forum until I decided to get a car again. 

This forum never say must have car then only can participate leh .

It only say if buy car must pay full cash . [rolleyes]

Please continue to post .

Err...the bidding result shows only few bids received. And all $1....and today last day..

Does it mean COE will drop? Sorry..I first time see live bidding result...

Thanks.

Err...the bidding result shows only few bids received. And all $1....and today last day..

Thanks.

Mai Kan Cheong .... the show only starts after lunch.

For those who have missed this article -Ride way to bend the rules, Transport News & Top Stories - The Straits Times

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/ride-way-to-bend-the-rules

Why does it matter that third-party ride-hailing app companies such as Uber and Grab are jostling for certificates of entitlement (COEs) - either directly, or through their partners?

After all, the COE system is an absolute control on vehicle population, whoever the bidders may be.

To answer that, we should look at two recent regulatory changes. One is the Monetary Authority of Singapore's (MAS) curb on car loans, meant to cool overheated COE bidding and to ensure borrowers are not overgeared. The other is the Transport Ministry's move to remove taxis from the COE bidding process, again to take some heat off car bidders. Both changes were introduced a little over three years ago.

Now, three years after third-party ride-hailing apps arrived - led by Uber - the two policy instruments are being turned on their heads.

For instance, Uber has been advertising high car loans to woo marginal car buyers who cannot afford the 40 per cent to 50 per cent down payment required by the MAS. The cars are registered as private-hire vehicles and under a company's name, which exempts them from the MAS ruling

Not only that, Uber-owned Lion City Rentals has started bidding for COEs on its own, putting in 800 bids in just one tender exercise two weeks ago.

That figure is believed to be just the tip of the iceberg. Uber and Grab are said to have signed up as many as 10,000 private-hire vehicles in just three years and there is no sign that they are slowing down.

What does that all mean? It means the newcomers are making a mockery of the two regulations. They have found ways to game the system, without breaking any rules. It means individual car buyers will again have to compete with big taxi-like firms for COEs. It means COE premiums will not fall as quickly or as sharply as envisaged. It also means individuals who are desperate to own a car will potentially be overgeared if they took up Uber-like offers.

These things, and more, will come to pass, unless the authorities review their "light touch" approach to regulating these newcomers.

Gov won't mind more $$$$ in the pocket if the number of people that commit fanancial suicide is not a big group such that it rocks the economy. They can only address the big picture where majority dun do it. It is with such intent that they roll out the loan policy but kept one eye close on some holes. Any tighter, a lot goes underground (illegal loan) and gets a lot harder to control.

Thanks.

Relax bro, after lunch then start. Nowadays I notice quite early, it used to be 3pm then action start, but recently 2pm already moving..

both Cat A & B below 40K in order to draw BIG crowd to weekend's car expo

Thought it was always the new car models and girl girl models that drew big crowd .... hahaha ....

Sibei depressed.

My workplace's carpark lot just got makan. Now I need to pay for a carpark lot further away. $140 per month. Looks like I am going to scrap my car.

This is likely to be my last 2 months in this forum until I decided to get a car again.

It is like that one :(

In view of recent news on private hire car, fear factor and uncertainty likely to push up COE prices.

My guess:

Cat A $49K

Car B $51K

Cat E $52K

both Cat A & B below 40K in order to draw BIG crowd to weekend's car expo

Ha? another car show @ expo? Tot one last weekend .. Sph one..

So many car shows and so near..

With the news lately, ppl with last attempt on NG COE today would be feeling stressful. Wonder they can still change to guarantee last minute this morning?

Ha? another car show @ expo? Tot one last weekend .. Sph one..

So many car shows and so near..

With higher COE quota, ADs have to push more sales leh. I think more will be coming.

please please coe go green....

certain cars like vezel omv now above $20k...... dp now must be more....(i know many here buy cash but i think some still need loan)

if whoever and wicever company wants to increase fleet...why not just bid at lower levels so that the overall coe will drop.....all pakat 30k...... at least the overall coe wont jump so much............. there were unused coe in the previous bidding to be recycled into this bidding.... of coz they can reject the bids but for how long they will keep rejecting.....

Mai Kan Cheong .... the show only starts after lunch.

Oh I see...cos I never go to see live bidding result.  Only go to see the result after bidding ends.

Thanks for the clarifications!

Relax bro, after lunch then start. Nowadays I notice quite early, it used to be 3pm then action start, but recently 2pm already moving..

Oh I see...I usually don't go see bidding result one....only go and find out after bidding ends...

Very curious how the COE go....that is why went to see the live bidding results.

Thanks for the clarifications.