EURO 2016 Final

Maxus-MIFA9

How apt...

What maradona did i think is not replicable in modern soccer.

In 1982, as an up-and-coming talent, he was kicked in most matches. Just like Beckham much later, he retaliated after a foul and was red-carded in the last match.

In 1986, he literally single-handedly scored the first goal against Shilton, before single-footedly scoring what some said the best-goal ever as the winner - taking revenge over losing the Falkland wars to England...

1986 world cup was his tournament.

1982 was Paolo Rossi's, the guy who was supposed to be serving a ban that was cut short

1994 was Romario's

1998 was strange - should have been Ronaldo's if not becos of his fits before the finals. Zidane could have said to steal the show

2002 was belatedly Ronaldo's

2006 was Zidane's story - for the wrong reason mainly

2010 like no stand-out player but Spain stood out as a team. Just surprised they won only narrowly

2014 will be remembered as host Brazil being trashed 7-1...

Messi is not made for world cup... yet. Depends on whether he still has the appetite to try.

U forgot 1990 German engine Rudi voeller, klinnsman, matthaus.

I have a different view when it comes to comparison betw new vs old, though.

In older football, players were less well-fed, and less-well-trained, facilities not as good, equipment not as good (dunno wore boots or just shoes, and think no shoes with better control or can kick further, etc.). Take into account travel, which is a big part of a pro soccer player's life, is by much older buses and propellor planes or locomotiv trains... conditions were much harsher then.

So for the players to stand out the way some of them had, would be a bigger achievement. And is there a player who had decided (or influenced) 4 world cups tournaments? England should in fact thank Pele for being injured in 66, or i doubt they would have won it even once.

I would venture to say pele opponents and defenders are also less well nutritioned then

I have a different view when it comes to comparison betw new vs old, though.

In older football, players were less well-fed, and less-well-trained, facilities not as good, equipment not as good (dunno wore boots or just shoes, and think no shoes with better control or can kick further, etc.). Take into account travel, which is a big part of a pro soccer player's life, is by much older buses and propellor planes or locomotiv trains... conditions were much harsher then.

So for the players to stand out the way some of them had, would be a bigger achievement. And is there a player who had decided (or influenced) 4 world cups tournaments? England should in fact thank Pele for being injured in 66, or i doubt they would have won it even once.

And the ball is heavier and harder to kick.

Hee hee... you're right - i forgot them.

Cos i only remember the really memorable things about those world cups that I watched. That 90 tournament is not as memorable as the rest.

Had watch 78 too, but still young and only remembered that peru lost by a huge margin to deprive brazil of final spot...

I would venture to say pele opponents and defenders are also less well nutritioned then

ok lor... take the nutrition out of the equation lah.

Then still got the other factors should be still valid leh :grin:

Hee hee... you're right - i forgot them.

Cos i only remember the really memorable things about those world cups that I watched. That 90 tournament is not as memorable as the rest.

Had watch 78 too, but still young and only remembered that peru lost by a huge margin to deprive brazil of final spot...

ok lor... take the nutrition out of the equation lah.

Then still got the other factors should be still valid leh :grin:

Hehe Looks like you should be slightly older than me. My first full experience with football is World Cup 82. And I can vividly remembered watching Malaysia cup final in 80 too but I don't think I really know much about football at that time.

1974 bt Argentina and Holland was the first WC final I ever watched.

Holland should have won with an injury time effort but hit the pole.

The South Americans then gone on to score in ET and played ever dirtier with handball throughout the rests of the game. No yellow card then. So suddenly they had 10 goal keepers outside the box. Never like them till 1986 WC with so many memorable goals from the shorty. Battistuta was overshadowed...

Don't think batistuta is in 86 World Cup at all.

Day 16: 0 goal(5), 1 goal(11), 2 goals(12), 3 goals(11), 4 goals(2), 6 goals(1).

Hopfully tonight Italy vs Spain will be boring. So I can sleep early then wake up and watch England vs Iceland

Don't think batistuta is in 86 World Cup at all.

Yup. Confused with the names. Should be Burrachaga or something. Batistuta came on in the following WC, a repeat final with the WG but the single penalty revised the fortune of both teams. Still remember that Maradona cried like a baby...

No lah, batistuta wasn't in 90 World Cup also. I remembered is canniggia, the long hair striker is the main striker for Argentina. This World Cup I remembered quite a bit thanks to toto schchilli scoring goals for Italy, gazza cried because of one yellow card and thought he won't be playing in the final but in the end England didn't even make it to the final [laugh] , Ireland, west Germany left back score penalty with right foot.

Think it's 1978 WC final played in Buenos Aires between Holland n Argentina u mean. Argentina was led by Pasarella n the striker was Kempes

Oh my...sign of ageing...got confused with Batista and Batistuta. I better double check my alarm clock for the 3am game later.

Yes, it's the 78 final...Holland came so close to win their first ever...

This year Euro goals are all very solid, players like Bale, Hazard, Morata, Griezmann, Payet and more are all very very impressive.

Whole of German squad are also very solid, right from keeper to front line, from first 11 to the bench.

England stand not chance.

Is this the WC where the whole world saw spitting cobra.... eerrrr... Riikyard... on tv?l

Watched Hungary-Belgium highlights on YouTube.

Not bad for a 40yo keeper, saved quite a number of shots.

The final scoreline suggested a one sided match but Hungary did had many attempts but just couldn't convert to goal.

Therefore, Belgium defence is still questionable.