MQX87511 5th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 Still unable to firgure out why Ubor in the rush to bid ? So many COE available why bid in bulk ? Must have some hidden agenda behind just we don't know ? this is our government another way to shrink coe quota, smart enough ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brianlee 1st Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 increase population lor you pls contribute more.. :D Yah dun think uber n private hire can get 30k nos. Total taxi current in march 16 only 28k leh.. Taxi Fleet Comfort 12,625 12,567 12,676 CityCab 4,351 4,329 4,348 Trans-Cab 4,842 4,847 4,839 SMRT 3,507 3,529 3,509 Premier 1,984 2,001 1,986 Prime 795 789 780 Individual Yellow-Top 154 150 148 that's why i have a big question mark when ppl quote 30k uber, 30k le Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jungus 4th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 My thought is they will continue to bid high and as long as possible. by doing so it deter ppl from buying car and switch to private car instead. this in a way help them too. the objective is to get ppl to use them and to do this is to make car ownership difficult and to do this they will continue to bid high and as long as possible. Seriously? You really think that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bronzy 2nd Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 Still unable to firgure out why Ubor in the rush to bid ? So many COE available why bid in bulk ? Must have some hidden agenda behind just we don't know ? I thought it would be better for them to say bid 100 per round. doesn't make sense unless they already have many would-be owners waiting for their cars. Perhaps a quota reduction is coming up? Or there is some major news that would be announced soon that is not advantageous to their business model? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 800 bids every round, one month 1600, so total 6 months to fulfil. Best time for COE to crash will be Nov/Dec 16 if all play out accordingly. you seriously think singapore market require 10K uber driver within 6mths?... .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LaBamba 1st Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 I thought it would be better for them to say bid 100 per round. doesn't make sense unless they already have many would-be owners waiting for their cars. Perhaps a quota reduction is coming up? Or there is some major news that would be announced soon that is not advantageous to their business model? Perhaps Uber is aware that people are unhappy with them. And they want to get their 10,000 COEs before the government decides to clamp down on private hire companies bidding for COEs. I personally hope the government will change the rules so that private hire companies are required to share their COE quota with taxi companies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 I think ur analysis is correct. Unless grab joins in Don't forget grab founder is a Singaporean. He knows how this game is played. If July drops, and to compete with Uber, he will definitely start bidding. Basically for apps like this. Who has more cars (and drivers) will win. Right? Zero sum game. Smrt is under grab, hopefully there r they have no other plan to increase their fleet by buying new cars. I read from news, the turn over rate for grab or uber drivers r very high. I personally find it's not worth to "lease" a car from these companies. There will be a time when supply of cars r more than demand of uber drivers, which I find it more worth it to buy a 1-2yr old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 (edited) you seriously think singapore market require 10K uber driver within 6mths?... .. Yes, I think there is demand for it. Edited May 19, 2016 by Imac Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shawnthefarmer 1st Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 Grab founder not Malaysian meh? I think ur analysis is correct.Unless grab joins inDon't forget grab founder is a Singaporean. He knows how this game is played. If July drops, and to compete with Uber, he will definitely start bidding.Basically for apps like this. Who has more cars (and drivers) will win. Right? Zero sum game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 (edited) if like that how can I manage to get 10k coe in 3 yrs time to change new car? Seem like those that bought their ride at 38k coe or at the following bid is the most lucky batch in this decade then OMG! digest 10k at least take 2 years, once bloody Uber finish their fleet, COE tsunami also finish liao, Uber majorly fight in CAT A or B? Edited May 19, 2016 by Axela72 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 Btw there r always 1 kind of ppl in everywhere who like to spread insider news, even though their news have been proven to be fake or inaccurate.u can ask them to provide evidences, u see what they show u la. These ppl will just follow the flow and lead the blur. When they see the coe is dropping, they will say coe sure drop, this bidding blah blah blah don't buy first, then when it's increasing they will have another pack of stories. Like chasing the Rainbow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antant77 1st Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 if like that how can I manage to get 10k coe in 3 yrs time to change new car? Seem like those that bought their ride at 38k coe or at the following bid is the most lucky batch in this decade thenAgree. Car B some more lower that cat A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
razor54 3rd Gear May 19, 2016 Share May 19, 2016 Btw there r always 1 kind of ppl in everywhere who like to spread insider news, even though their news have been proven to be fake or inaccurate.u can ask them to provide evidences, u see what they show u la. These ppl will just follow the flow and lead the blur. When they see the coe is dropping, they will say coe sure drop, this bidding blah blah blah don't buy first, then when it's increasing they will have another pack of stories. Actually it's the existence of such forumers that make the COE thread so interesting. All sorts of insights and predictions about uber this grabcar that...COE quota increase or dry...demand and supply high/low. Then for months predicting that COE will have big drop. Month after month never drop then became quiet after 4pm on 2 Wednesdays a month, until the next COE thread open. Then the prediction cycle starts all over again. If so easy to predict then there's no need for COE topic thread liao. It's quite amusing actually. I don't judge them, just find them interesting by adding flavour to the forum. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rachdanom 2nd Gear May 20, 2016 Share May 20, 2016 Smrt is under grab, hopefully there r they have no other plan to increase their fleet by buying new cars. I read from news, the turn over rate for grab or uber drivers r very high. I personally find it's not worth to "lease" a car from these companies. There will be a time when supply of cars r more than demand of uber drivers, which I find it more worth it to buy a 1-2yr old car. I also had thought the same...we may see a boom in 2nd hand cars after the grab / uber hype dies down, when economy picks back up and people get back their desk jobs etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear May 20, 2016 Share May 20, 2016 Singapore car prices can manipulate from COE and others country can't . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear May 20, 2016 Share May 20, 2016 Actually it's the existence of such forumers that make the COE thread so interesting. All sorts of insights and predictions about uber this grabcar that...COE quota increase or dry...demand and supply high/low. Then for months predicting that COE will have big drop. Month after month never drop then became quiet after 4pm on 2 Wednesdays a month, until the next COE thread open. Then the prediction cycle starts all over again. If so easy to predict then there's no need for COE topic thread liao. It's quite amusing actually. I don't judge them, just find them interesting by adding flavour to the forum. Ya true. And now we can see ppl discussing uber wanted to buy 30k new car then next month maybe increase to 300k new cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear May 20, 2016 Share May 20, 2016 I also had thought the same...we may see a boom in 2nd hand cars after the grab / uber hype dies down, when economy picks back up and people get back their desk jobs etc....There r no of uber drivers who quit n change back to taxi drivers, and those who tried and find it not suitable. Not sure when is their peak but after that, we will see a big change Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocy Hypersonic May 20, 2016 Share May 20, 2016 Many factors influencing COE prices. Currently one major factor is Uber. Many 'if' and ... 'If' now ... rather speculative. 'If' no need new car now, just wait and see, BUT before COE quota starts to shrink. Good Luck! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...