Time spent with family

Jman888

Family time spent  

39 members have voted

1. 1. How long you spend with the family?

• 0-10hrs
    • 10-20hrs
    • 20-30 hrs
    • ALWAYS
    • 30-50hrs

i think besides money... time is also important...

on the contrary, because of them, i now have 1 x 2ft tank and 3 x 3ft tank [sweatdrop]

Yes. Quality time spent is very important. Cos I know there may come a day where kids find hanging out with papa passe haha.

Let's enjoy for now while they are 小大人

Wow.... you have time to maintain them huh?

Each day I reach home already half dead, gotta spend quality time with the kid, where got time to wash tank, clear algae, fertilize, adjust Co2, check on chillers, feed fish....

but I guess when he is a bit older I might get back to the hobby but on a smaller scale for educational purpose [;)]

now i feed the fish once every 2 days, do water change every week.... that's about all..... mine not planted tank... mostly fish.... filter use external canisters...

i try to let him interact with animals and insects as much as he can now that he still young.... i see my cousin's son.. already 10... still don't dare touch a guppy  [sweatdrop]

now is to convince him to touch and catch beetles, spiders and earthworms, etc......lol

Yes. Quality time spent is very important. Cos I know there may come a day where kids find hanging out with papa passe haha.

not if i bring them go ktv  [laugh]  [laugh]

to add on, you can see how it is a game changer from these:

- the number of boxes of untouched Gundam plastic models I have stacked up in my storeroom

- the number of PS4 game discs still in wrappers

- the 6 feet planted aquarium tank I sold off

- the 2 door cabriolet I sold off to replace with a station wagon

I still game at night. After she gone to bed

Now all my ps4 kakis slowly less time to game as they need to rest and take care their children..

Yeah i try to kiss my kids everyday (five years down the road, they'll probably push me away  [laugh] )

I think interaction is more important than spending time together..................I make it a point to talk with my kids about their school life and mates everyday................no fix time............mostly 10-15 mins only...........and go for a family makan at least once a week............

We also set up a family whatsapp grp................and communicate via the grp to relate information.............the key thing to me is.........the kids know I am there when they need me...........and they can tell me anything.................even when we cannot meet face to face..............there is always communication tools............ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

not if i bring them go ktv  [laugh]  [laugh]

Yeah i try to kiss my kids everyday (five years down the road, they'll probably push me away  [laugh] )

i always asks my girl to kiss me least 10/ 20 x a day.. haha...

and the songs she learns in skool.. sing to me i find it so amusing..

all videoed and archived..

I still game at night. After she gone to bed

Now all my ps4 kakis slowly less time to game as they need to rest and take care their children..

no lar.. is because play different game..... past 2-3 weeks ah ball and i played almost every night from 10pm-1am... we playing the division

I think these reports and finding...................sometimes really kuku...............or they dont even know what they talking.............is like the guy in LTA whom is in charge of traffic light.................but he got no driving licence......... [laugh]  [laugh]

The gov.............everything want to control.............now knn how much time family spend together also want to control.............I think they sld have robot citizens better............... [laugh]  [laugh]

spending time with family . . .  what is family?

izit with parent(s), with wifey, or with kids at home???

ha! if its a context to sillyporeans, its all depend which phase of life (both prospects and ages) you are in today . . . .

early to mid 30s (struggling professionals) . . . focus on self-indulge is always heavier

young couples rather spend in outings, holidays, night outs and maintaining their circle of friends, i.e. work hard, play hard . . .

mid to late 30s (point of change arrives)

those had enuffs would start thinking kids . . .  this is especially those with wifey reaching or past 30.....

some'd postpone/delay this moment to gamble for a career climb or upgrades......it is also at this point that direct the kind of life one's destined/struggled to have . . .

those with stable career (as they think so)

he/she starts to dedicate more instead of hands-on..... (that's why others receive them good or bad boss) in exchange for that balanced life & career..... 

BUT the world has grown smaller and much faster these days . . . . and become unstable, uncertain and prone to BIG changes at any time!

biz travels become part of the job. and the "silent" commitment (receive biz calls/meeting in odd hours) exists nowadays!

spending time with family gotta become at stakeholding management liao!!!

but hoh! what is spending time with family lehhhh?

besides being there when they need you, you MUST also be available "before & after" during when they needed you!

then what is "before & after" lehhhhh? - its about how "close" you are with them for them to let you know lohhhh! . . . .

and how "close" you think you are, then its how much time you spend with them lohhhh...

so, those whom able to touch their loved ones' heart whenever they are there, they'll be probably not at home but work most of the time

but those whom 'hit' their loved ones heart instead, then he/she gotta spend more (even in the expense of sacrificials the above #s !) . . . .

a.  PARENTs - they are more forgiving for you to spend less with them, but time's running out!

b.  KIDs - they are more ignorant in needing your time, thus the ignorance developes into the stranger bet. you and your kids

c.  WIFE - she's the driver, facilitator in detemining your time with your family; instead you may took it for granted or even abuse this privilege

you will always have your best reasons for doing less in a, b, c above

I regretted in a, so I dun wanna be in deeper regret in b.

I have undeniably taken granted in c. so I will learn to reward myself by making a happy c. ever!

all the above are enwtined into the decision box for your dreamt retirements; NOT the decision from yr job, yr boss or yr company.

if not so, the above is also your oxygen when you wakes up in the early morning everyday, NOT yr job, boss, or company too.

what' bout yr gahmens??? arghhhh, what utter BS they are talking???

which is what i am trying to say... having money makes having a balanced lifestyle easier  [sweatdrop]

low or high income is subjective in your case..... lol

congrats on your #2.... mine already hinting about #3  [dizzy]

Aiya. The grass is always greener on the other side la. Rich people usually means they have a job with big responsibilities(except those born into rich family)Lol. Met so many of them who earn alot but then no time to spend with kids. Time for themselves also hard to find. Got alot of money but no time to spend it.

On the other hand, those who don't focus so much on career probably get more free time but also less wealth. These people can find time but maybe no money to enjoy.

I think interaction is more important than spending time together..................I make it a point to talk with my kids about their school life and mates everyday................no fix time............mostly 10-15 mins only...........and go for a family makan at least once a week............

We also set up a family whatsapp grp................and communicate via the grp to relate information.............the key thing to me is.........the kids know I am there when they need me...........and they can tell me anything.................even when we cannot meet face to face..............there is always communication tools............ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

can they still contact you when you having ME time in KTV?!  :grin:

or u put a "busy" msg "Daddy working hard"

i always asks my girl to kiss me least 10/ 20 x a day.. haha...

and the songs she learns in skool.. sing to me i find it so amusing..

all videoed and archived..

Yeah, kids don't stay young forever.

there will come a time when they start to have other friends, and bf/gf..... that's it for parenthood. 

enjoy while it lasts

what about tablet and handphone use?

They are only allow to use their mobile to call us otherwise it should be shut off all the time & leave it with my wife or myself after school. Tablets are only for e-learning or with permission for research (with supervision) or instructional video eg. Arts & crafts, baking, etc. also under supervision. The only electronic device they each have is kindle.

There are plenty to do in their free time eg. Reading, playing with toys, playground, cycling, ball games, movies, exploring the city, etc.

They are only allow to use their mobile to call us otherwise it should be shut off all the time & leave it with my wife or myself after school. Tablets are only for e-learning or with permission for research (with supervision) or instructional video eg. Arts & crafts, baking, etc. also under supervision. The only electronic device they each have is kindle.

There are plenty to do in their free time eg. Reading, playing with toys, playground, cycling, ball games, movies, exploring the city, etc.

Wow ok. Inspirational.

I thought this won't work for upper primary school kids and above nowadays cos they are virtually on their phones or playing stuff all the time.

Will try this in future.

We set the conditions and they agreed before we give them a mobile. We told them that privilege will be taken away from them if they did not stick to their end of the bargain. Their mobile only need to be charged once every 2-3 weeks. So it is not that difficult to enforce the rules + they have so much to do....no time to play with their phones.

Edited by Silver_blade

i think the survey didn't include retiree   :XD:  :XD:

I not retiree.

Retired from first career but now on second career .... :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Why 78hrs ?  Here's how :

Daily leave home at 6.00am and return at 5.30pm - children all back from work by then also and have dinner together until sleeping time (5 ~ 6 hrs / Mon ~ Fri)

Weekends ; Sat morning go marketing together and have breakfast outside, afternoon after lunch go shopping if there are sales or stay at home. Dinner all at home cos got BPL matches. (24hrs) 

Sun : morning breakfast together, lunch at home, afternoon go NUTC for whole week rations. Evening dinning outside together. (24hrs)

Its how as a head of the family keep a family closely knit together. Being brought up this way. :wut:

I not retiree.

Daily leave home at 6.00am and return at 5.30pm - children all back from work by then also and have dinner together until sleeping time (5 ~ 6 hrs / Mon ~ Fri)

Weekends ; Sat morning go marketing together and have breakfast outside, afternoon after lunch go shopping if there are sales or stay at home. Dinner all at home cos got BPL matches. (24hrs) 

Sun : morning breakfast together, lunch at home, afternoon go NUTC for whole week rations. Evening dinning outside together. (24hrs)

Its how as a head of the family keep a family closely knit together. Being brought up this way. :wut:

they don't have bf or gf?

I not retiree.

Being at home together does not mean spending time with each other together. They may be doing their own things. Cannot be u talking to ur kids 24hrs Sat.

I know when I was a kid, I always hide in my room most of the time even thou I am home 24hrs. Play my own game or soccer with my bro. Wash the football clean clean, then bring to bed and practise bicycle kick and sicssors kick in bed. I kick to my bro, he kick to me. [laugh]

Edited by Adrianli

Being at home together does not mean spending time with each other together. They may be doing their own things. Cannot be u talking to ur kids 24hrs Sat.

I know when I was a kid, I always hide in my room most of the time even thou I am home 24hrs. Play my own game or soccer with my bro. Wash the football clean clean, then bring to bed and practise bicycle kick and sicssors kick in bed. I kick to my bro, he kick to me. [laugh]

he can dream talking   [laugh]  [laugh]

if i can spend time together 24 hours with my kids, i think they will complain and make noise liao, give them some privacy can?   [laugh]