Vinceng Turbocharged July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Don’t get me started on the brake pads.... At 20k service, the SA say my pads ‘very worn out’, need to replace. Which I thought was a bit premature n didn’t feel any decline in braking performance Neber mind, give them benefit of the doubt since still quite new to the heavy Sorento n lots of start stop city driving. Took a look at the old pads which the left behind in the car, pads still looked pretty thick. Felt quite cheated At 40k service, SA tried to pull the same trick again. Told them dun bother la Apparently, Cycle and Carriage does the same - I have seen replaced brak epad sthat are pretty thick - can easily do another 15,000km to 20,000km. The greatest joke is the recommended tyres rotation at 5,000km interval ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Apparently, Cycle and Carriage does the same - I have seen replaced brak epad sthat are pretty thick - can easily do another 15,000km to 20,000km. The greatest joke is the recommended tyres rotation at 5,000km interval Since this thread is on the Elantra, wonder if Komoco play the same tricks? Any Elantra bros can comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Since this thread is on the Elantra, wonder if Komoco play the same tricks? Any Elantra bros can comment? toyota give the same trick also . my company lorry go servicing, tell me to change, quoted almost 300 for front orginals brake pad. i refuse, bring to my workshop, the boss ask me change for wat?? still got at least 50%. next round i not even going back for basic oil change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 16, 2018 Author Share July 16, 2018 (edited) toyota give the same trick also . my company lorry go servicing, tell me to change, quoted almost 300 for front orginals brake pad. i refuse, bring to my workshop, the boss ask me change for wat?? still got at least 50%. next round i not even going back for basic oil change. Actually I believe that their workshops should not do that. Building long term relations with customers is more important than making a fast buck. Or maybe it's for safety reasons? Edited July 16, 2018 by RogerNg_185295 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 toyota give the same trick also . my company lorry go servicing, tell me to change, quoted almost 300 for front orginals brake pad. i refuse, bring to my workshop, the boss ask me change for wat?? still got at least 50%. next round i not even going back for basic oil change. MB tried asking me to replace the 4 brake DISC at 30k service saying all worn out liao. Knn.....where got brake disc wear out n need full replacement at 30k one? Tink everyday i go Sepang on the way to work izit? Immediately tell them dun bother and they tried selling fear instead saying if dun change hor, car maybe cannot brake. Told them I’ll take my chances. Basket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Apparently, Cycle and Carriage does the same - I have seen replaced brak epad sthat are pretty thick - can easily do another 15,000km to 20,000km. The greatest joke is the recommended tyres rotation at 5,000km interval But some bro still trust them. Brought servicing package from them.lol.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 MB tried asking me to replace the 4 brake DISC at 30k service saying all worn out liao. Knn.....where got brake disc wear out n need full replacement at 30k one? Tink everyday i go Sepang on the way to work izit? Immediately tell them dun bother and they tried selling fear instead saying if dun change hor, car maybe cannot brake. Told them I’ll take my chances. Basket. they will keep doing it 1. cos the % of owner giving in is quite high. most lady and new owner that dun know any workshop outside, like u mention some scare tatics like cannot brake, etc etc, they say change change change liao. alot of my friends n college only believe wat AD say, they have the impression all outside workshop is carry a chopper waiting to chop them. they dun believe AD hold the biggest knife lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 16, 2018 Author Share July 16, 2018 MB tried asking me to replace the 4 brake DISC at 30k service saying all worn out liao. Knn.....where got brake disc wear out n need full replacement at 30k one? Tink everyday i go Sepang on the way to work izit? Immediately tell them dun bother and they tried selling fear instead saying if dun change hor, car maybe cannot brake. Told them Iâll take my chances. Basket. What class you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 they will keep doing it 1. cos the % of owner giving in is quite high. most lady and new owner that dun know any workshop outside, like u mention some scare tatics like cannot brake, etc etc, they say change change change liao. alot of my friends n college only believe wat AD say, they have the impression all outside workshop is carry a chopper waiting to chop them. they dun believe AD hold the biggest knife lol Haha, after 5 years of going to AD, I finally woke up and find workshops outside. I realised that the $$ I spent at the ADs, can service my car for the remaining 5 years at the workshops outside.. Some more those WS that I went are case trust certified where their workmanship are similar or better the AD. P.S. Some had massage chairs, HD TV with movies, old school video games, free can drinks, etc. I enjoy going for my half yearly servicing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kennyyy 4th Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Normally ADs or even most workshops will like to ask u to change brake pads. Very easy to fool ppl and earn quick $. However, brake pads only need to change if it is lesser than 5mm. The thing is many ppl are not sure where exactly is the Brake pad, or rather mistaken "which part" is the "brake pad" itself You can actually see your brake pad if u shin a light into the wheel area. Refer my pic. This is the brake pad and normally 3-4mm then I change. Normally when the workshop ppl say my brake pad is thin I will ask them to show me (without taking it out) and I take a small ruler from them and estimate myself. Its actually pretty easy. Here's wat I can contribute:- 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kennyyy 4th Gear July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 Normally ADs or even most workshops will like to ask u to change brake pads. Very easy to fool ppl and earn quick $. However, brake pads only need to change if it is lesser than 5mm. The thing is many ppl are not sure where exactly is the Brake pad, or rather mistaken "which part" is the "brake pad" itself You can actually see your brake pad if u shin a light into the wheel area. Refer my pic. This is the brake pad and normally 3-4mm then I change. Normally when the workshop ppl say my brake pad is thin I will ask them to show me (without taking it out) and I take a small ruler from them and estimate myself. Its actually pretty easy. Here's wat I can contribute:- Opps:- This pic no making. Paiseh. Refer this one:- 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged July 16, 2018 Share July 16, 2018 I go KMC servicing also same de. Not even 2 years car, ask me do engine flush and aircon servicing. I say don’t need cos I don’t drive the car a lot, low mileage. At least they nvr say things to scare me. When free servicing finish, I also wan to go outside do liao. At least I can see how things are being done and what types of things are being used on my car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sHy3r 4th Gear July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 $1094 for 4 servicing for conti car is a reasonably good option provided they use synthetic oil. But your perception of conti car repair may not be the same as many others here. Some conti cars can be easily serviced and repaired by third party workshops, unless you are referring to some of the less mainstream brands/models.It’s for a Korean car. Not Continental.My car just came back from C&C... alternator died. Next month warranty end. Sent in... the Advisor say will claim warranty... even though it’s consider wear n tear for driving close to 5 yrs. Good benefits if service at AD... i doubt they will warrant my alternator if i service outside... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 17, 2018 Author Share July 17, 2018 Itâs for a Korean car. Not Continental. My car just came back from C&C... alternator died. Next month warranty end. Sent in... the Advisor say will claim warranty... even though itâs consider wear n tear for driving close to 5 yrs. Good benefits if service at AD... i doubt they will warrant my alternator if i service outside... That's why I say never risk your warranty. You never know when you need to claim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sHy3r 4th Gear July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 That's why I say never risk your warranty. You never know when you need to claimYes, that’s rite... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 19, 2018 Author Share July 19, 2018 The altis is now 100k after the latest bidding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsan 2nd Gear July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 Atlis will now dethrone Elantra based on pricing . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 The altis is now 100k after the latest bidding For which trim? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...