Private Property prices......still up or down? Part II

Suggest to do an awning on the roof. Can reclaim some open space  :D

anything that affects the look of the facade, need to check with MCST first hor. some are damn picky because they don't want the facade changed.

mine took a many years after TOP before they passed a by-law allowing Invisible Grilles to be installed. lucky by the time i moved in this by-law was already passed.

but they still don't allow number-locks for the letterbox  [:|]  :a-bang:

EL development.

The one that build the infamous clementi BTO, Trivelis ...

Already owners should zai zai liao mah.

Yup, i'm surprised how many condos don't have this nowadays. My BIL (who's a tennis coach) actually had to shortlist newer condos which still had tennis court.

that was my wife's directive when we were looking out 2 years ago. in my area, only 2 condos have tennis courts.

i guess nowadays, to qualify as a condo, having a pool is enough. even a 10m length pool counts.

I hope those who plan to buy or hunting for one, please be careful and not make the same mistake. The prices in the area drop as well due to the new plan by HDB to add in more flats. further jamming up the area... arrggg.

Actually, the jam and chokiness of the area should hv put you off ? Surprised that you still went ahead

Many years ago, it made sense to place in the bank. Nowadays placing all our in the bank is equivalent to digging a cavity and keeping the money "safe".  

Matthew 25:14-30New Living Translation (NLT) Parable of the Three Servants

14 “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven can be illustrated by the story of a man going on a long trip. He called together his servants and entrusted his money to them while he was gone. 15 He gave five bags of silver[a] to one, two bags of silver to another, and one bag of silver to the last—dividing it in proportion to their abilities. He then left on his trip.

16 “The servant who received the five bags of silver began to invest the money and earned five more. 17 The servant with two bags of silver also went to work and earned two more. 18 But the servant who received the one bag of silver dug a hole in the ground and hid the master’s money.

19 “After a long time their master returned from his trip and called them to give an account of how they had used his money. 20 The servant to whom he had entrusted the five bags of silver came forward with five more and said, ‘Master, you gave me five bags of silver to invest, and I have earned five more.’

21 “The master was full of praise. ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together![b]

22 “The servant who had received the two bags of silver came forward and said, ‘Master, you gave me two bags of silver to invest, and I have earned two more.’

23 “The master said, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’

24 “Then the servant with the one bag of silver came and said, ‘Master, I knew you were a harsh man, harvesting crops you didn’t plant and gathering crops you didn’t cultivate. 25 I was afraid I would lose your money, so I hid it in the earth. Look, here is your money back.’

26 “But the master replied, ‘You wicked and lazy servant! If you knew I harvested crops I didn’t plant and gathered crops I didn’t cultivate,27 why didn’t you deposit my money in the bank? At least I could have gotten some interest on it.’

28 “Then he ordered, ‘Take the money from this servant, and give it to the one with the ten bags of silver. 29 To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away. 30 Now throw this useless servant into outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

Very few people can afford to buy a >2mil house without loan. Most Singaporeans are cpf n asset rich but cash poor. Just ask those friends and relatives around you just how many have a million cash in the bank.

Edited by Showster

EL development.

The one that build the infamous clementi BTO, Trivelis ...

Already owners should zai zai liao mah.

Yup, i'm surprised how many condos don't have this nowadays. My BIL (who's a tennis coach) actually had to shortlist newer condos which still had tennis court.

Oh that famous one huh?

Quite jialat right? Apparently the big boss came out to apologise and said will not have problems again in future - and within a year got 2nd one...

Many years ago, it made sense to place in the bank. Nowadays placing all our in the bank is equivalent to digging a cavity and keeping the money "safe".  

Matthew 25:14-30New Living Translation (NLT) Parable of the Three Servants

14 “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven can be illustrated by the story of a man going on a long trip. He called together his servants and entrusted his money to them while he was gone. 15 He gave five bags of silver[a] to one, two bags of silver to another, and one bag of silver to the last—dividing it in proportion to their abilities. He then left on his trip.

16 “The servant who received the five bags of silver began to invest the money and earned five more. 17 The servant with two bags of silver also went to work and earned two more. 18 But the servant who received the one bag of silver dug a hole in the ground and hid the master’s money.

19 “After a long time their master returned from his trip and called them to give an account of how they had used his money. 20 The servant to whom he had entrusted the five bags of silver came forward with five more and said, ‘Master, you gave me five bags of silver to invest, and I have earned five more.’

21 “The master was full of praise. ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together![b]

22 “The servant who had received the two bags of silver came forward and said, ‘Master, you gave me two bags of silver to invest, and I have earned two more.’

23 “The master said, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’

24 “Then the servant with the one bag of silver came and said, ‘Master, I knew you were a harsh man, harvesting crops you didn’t plant and gathering crops you didn’t cultivate. 25 I was afraid I would lose your money, so I hid it in the earth. Look, here is your money back.’

26 “But the master replied, ‘You wicked and lazy servant! If you knew I harvested crops I didn’t plant and gathered crops I didn’t cultivate,27 why didn’t you deposit my money in the bank? At least I could have gotten some interest on it.’

28 “Then he ordered, ‘Take the money from this servant, and give it to the one with the ten bags of silver. 29 To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away. 30 Now throw this useless servant into outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

since your post is not related to this thread then i shall take the liberty to go OT as well :D

this is why i steer clear of religion even though i'm born a Roman Catholic.

this story is flawed. the servant didn't do anything wrong. it's just a difference of way of thinking. and he is punished because he did not do things "the right way". And he is branded lazy and wicked for nothing.

religion is really the king of mindf**ks. i do not buy into anything that uses fear for shaping mindsets.

give me common sense anytime. :D

I must admit that its greed..... for the price I am getting, I thought I got a damn good deal. No choice. just keep it as it is. What further piss me of is that I wasted my 3rd absd ... darn.

Actually, the jam and chokiness of the area should hv put you off ? Surprised that you still went ahead

Edited by Krieger

since your post is not related to this thread then i shall take the liberty to go OT as well :D

this story is flawed. the servant didn't do anything wrong. it's just a difference of way of thinking. and he is punished because he did not do things "the right way". And he is branded lazy and wicked for nothing.

religion is really the king of mindf**ks. i do not buy into anything that uses fear for shaping mindsets.

Relax brudder, I am a free thinker without religion.

These are just useful parables to learn from. The central idea is what would you do if you have 1 million? Deploy it wisely, or keep in a hole (or bank)?

I can also write my own examples observed in my relatives, the story won't be that much different.

Edited by Showster

The story will be different if the servant who invest loses the money. No bao Jiak one.

So if you have access to funds that does not belong to you and you used them to invest and make double, then put back more than the anticipated taken, it is OK?

Most of the time, things go other way and many such cases in history. Nick Leeson still sound a familiar?

With such neighbors.....

Rich ppl problems.....

never fark around with aunties. especially rich old aunties. :D

Yeah, I'd much prefer SYT [:p]

• Praise 10

Relax brudder, I am a free thinker without religion.

These are just useful parables to learn from. The central idea is what would you do if you have 1 million? Deploy it wisely, or keep in a hole (or bank)?

I can also write my own examples observed in my relatives, the story won't be that much different.

the way i read the story, it's not about what would i do if i had money.

because if the gist of the story is really that, then the punishment part is not necessary at all.

that servant gets punished for not doing the way his master wanted it, even though the master never explicitly gives specific instruction to the servant.

so to me, the story tells the same old thing. if you do not fear God, or do not do things his way, you will be punished.

it doesn't matter whether you did the right thing. as long someone "superior" says you are wrong, you will be punished. sounds like a dictator eh?

post-1798-0-51419700-1490065376.jpg

but i see your point lah. boring tuesday so i just wanna grumble abit :D

That parable was from a different generation with different backgrounds. For example, the master even mentioned that putting in the bank helps earn some interests rather than putting in a hole. I had wished to see how the master would have responded if the second servant loses 1 bag from 2 bags. To be appeased for taking risks, or to be angered for incurring losses?

The key learning point is still to take risks, but to go for those you understand (or can learn to understand), and to go for those where the risk level is at best moderate, than no risk, or the other extreme of being highly risky of losing capital.

From my relatives, there is a similar true story. The contexts are altered to protect their identities.

Three brothers were born to the same family. The first had an enterpreneurial mindset, the second was a great craftsman, and the last was the most doted by the parents. 

The first had almost faced bankruptcy at some point in life due to over-expansion, but had lived through that period, and now has a few dozens of shops scattered across Singapore malls. But he never shows his face and seldom do people know he is the real boss. His task is just planning and administration, most of the time at home.

The second built up a strong family and continues to work into his mid-60s. His wife works part time and is quite relaxed as they have children who have the same mentality to ply their trades for dough.

The third was given the most, having inherited his parents' HDB and much of their savings. He chose to live a glorious young life, but is unable to find work now. His wife has to work full time to support the family currently. Worst still, their children also inherited their mentality about living life only in the moment.

These are real-life case studies. If one loves his trade, the second choice is not too bad, but be prepared about very long working period.

To set up business aggressively like the first means there is a real risk of bankruptcy. We must be prepared about all contingencies.

But the worst choice is to sit still, rest on laurels and not put up any defensive stances against the inevitabilities of the future.

The story will be different if the servant who invest loses the money. No bao Jiak one.

So if you have access to funds that does not belong to you and you used them to invest and make double, then put back more than the anticipated taken, it is OK?

Most of the time, things go other way and many such cases in history. Nick Leeson still sound a familiar?

Edited by Showster

anything that affects the look of the facade, need to check with MCST first hor. some are damn picky because they don't want the facade changed.

mine took a many years after TOP before they passed a by-law allowing Invisible Grilles to be installed. lucky by the time i moved in this by-law was already passed.

but they still don't allow number-locks for the letterbox  [:|]  :a-bang:

Before end of 1st year, no MCST formed yet. Fast hand fast leg ask the mgmt office for permission and do lor  :D

After MCST formed, too late for them liao.

He just did a "KongHee" and twisted it to suit himself.

Muayhahahahahahah

He is too young and naive to know nick leeson or barings

Every investment is calculated and compared as though its risk free for him.

But doesnt matter, he happy can already.

Edited by Throttle2

I am very happy, and only wish the same for others.

Investments can never be risk-free, but there are things we can do and look out for to mitigate the risks.

He just did a "KongHee" and twisted it to suit himself.
Muayhahahahahahah
He is too young and naive to know nick leeson or barings
Every investment is calculated and compared as though its risk free for him.

But doesnt matter, he happy can already.

That parable was from a different generation with different backgrounds. For example, the master even mentioned that putting in the bank helps earn some interests rather than putting in a hole. I had wished to see how the master would have responded if the second servant loses 1 bag from 2 bags. To be appeased for taking risks, or to be angered for incurring losses?

The key learning point is still to take risks, but to go for those you understand (or can learn to understand), and to go for those where the risk level is at best moderate, than no risk, or the other extreme of being highly risky of losing capital.

From my relatives, there is a similar true story. The contexts are altered to protect their identities.

Three brothers were born to the same family. The first had an enterpreneurial mindset, the second was a great craftsman, and the last was the most doted by the parents.

The first had almost faced bankruptcy at some point in life due to over-expansion, but had lived through that period, and now has a few dozens of shops scattered across Singapore malls. But he never shows his face and seldom do people know he is the real boss. His task is just planning and administration, most of the time at home.

The second built up a strong family and continues to work into his mid-60s. His wife works part time and is quite relaxed as they have children who have the same mentality to ply their trades for dough.

The third was given the most, having inherited his parents' HDB and much of their savings. He chose to live a glorious young life, but is unable to find work now. His wife has to work full time to support the family currently. Worst still, their children also inherited their mentality about living life only in the moment.

These are real-life case studies. If one loves his trade, the second choice is not too bad, but be prepared about very long working period.

To set up business aggressively like the first means there is a real risk of bankruptcy. We must be prepared about all contingencies.

But the worst choice is to sit still, rest on laurels and not put up any defensive stances against the inevitabilities of the future.

The parable is talking about multiplying one's gifts, talents or money to be used in God's Kingdom. You are citing it out of context lah

Well he did say he is not a Christian

But yeah, out of context

Essentially, I was just responding to your post about how many have a million cash in the bank.

My opinion is that even if one has a million in cash, it should not be kept in the bank - that is the only relation with the parable used.

More people have that million than you imagine actually. They just keep them in many accounts in many banks. The more money one has, the more afraid one is of losing them - and therefore inaction, when the decisive go out to live their dreams with well managed loans anyway.

My apologies to those offended in terms of my being out of context - actually you won't really be "punished" in the same way if you keep your money in the bank.

LPPL, on 21 Mar 2017 - 12:31 AM, said:snapback.png

Very few people can afford to buy a >2mil house without loan. Most Singaporeans are cpf n asset rich but cash poor. Just ask those friends and relatives around you just how many have a million cash in the bank.

Edited by Showster