Is it alright to pay more for the Toyota brand?

I saw following cars died on side of road, was towing by tow truck or waiting for tow truck to arrive.

Chevrolet

Honda

BMW

Mercedes

Audi

Kia

Hyundai

Subaru

Nissan

In my humble opinion, if a car dies on road, it is not reliable. I bought Toyota because I don't want my car die on road.

Funny how come others can see Toyotas broke down on the road, but you never? But I secretly hope that day will never come, very painful to see people's dream being shattered by reality you know. 

I just scolded my girl the other day for having the same logic. She always shared she want to migrate to a ang moh country after her studies. So I told her not to think that the moon at other places is rounder which she then accused me of creating such a saying. I became angry as  she did not know does not mean the saying does not exist, only showed her ignorance. 

I forgot to put Mitsubishi in the list of car died/stalled on road.

Haha...i guess its better not to be near u or your ride cos it may cause that car brand to breakdown instantly.

Perhaps, your personal observation of these are conclusive enuff for u. That's fine. Because, unless u are everywhere whenever there's a car breakdown, no way to say 100% no other brands broke down as well.

Besides, i doubt anyone with a breakdown car will need to call u so that u can update this list.

Funny how come others can see Toyotas broke down on the road, but you never? But I secretly hope that day will never come, very painful to see people's dream being shattered by reality you know.

I just scolded my girl the other day for having the same logic. She always shared she want to migrate to a ang moh country after her studies. So I told her not to think that the moon at other places is rounder which she then accused me of creating such a saying. I became angry as she did not know does not mean the saying does not exist, only showed her ignorance.

Jiak kantang version is grass is greener on the other side. Edited by Turboflat4

I am always interested in know which is the most reliable cars including Japanese cars.

I always thought it was Mitsubishi because of a Mitsubishi ad about an owner who drive 220,000 miles without a breakdown.

But I read a report something like JD Powel or Autocar and this was it's findings.

Most reliable to least

Mazda

Nissan (long before tie up with Renault)

Honda

Toyota

Mitsubishi

I understand all these cars are very reliable but I remember top two were Mazda and Nissan.

Anyway I hope people can add knowledge here on individual models and what faults they have.

I just scolded my girl the other day for having the same logic. She always shared she want to migrate to a ang moh country after her studies. So I told her not to think that the moon at other places is rounder which she then accused me of creating such a saying. I became angry as she did not know does not mean the saying does not exist, only showed her ignorance.

The are 2 realities:

1. Toyota is most reliable car brand in the world.

2. The moon is not rounder in Ang Moh country but Ang Moh mindset in Ang Moh country is opener than Asian mindset in Asian country. More freedom in Ang Moh country.

I am always interested in know which is the most reliable cars including Japanese cars.

I always thought it was Mitsubishi because of a Mitsubishi ad about an owner who drive 220,000 miles without a breakdown.

But I read a report something like JD Powel or Autocar and this was it's findings.

Most reliable to least

Mazda

Nissan (long before tie up with Renault)

Honda

Toyota

Mitsubishi

I understand all these cars are very reliable but I remember top two were Mazda and Nissan.

Anyway I hope people can add knowledge here on individual models and what faults they have.

After all Japanese car brands started to use CVT transmission, their reliable is going down. Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru's reliables were hit very badly by CVT transmission issues.

Mazda doesn't use CVT transmission. They still use gear transmission.

CVT transmission issues contributed significant to car died/stalled cases on road.

Jiak kantang version is grass is greener on the other side. ð

Haha very zen. The automotive equivalent of "If a tree falls in the forest, and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?"

Exactly. No see no hear doesn't mean no have. Just that one is not at that location. Zen is cool.

After all Japanese car brands started to use CVT transmission, their reliable is going down. Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru's reliables were hit very badly by CVT transmission issues.

Mazda doesn't use CVT transmission. They still use gear transmission.

CVT transmission issues contributed significant to car died/stalled cases on road.

This is very true.

CVT are not reliable and also expensive to fix.

Same with GDI. It leaks petrol into the oil.

Haha...i guess its better not to be near u or your ride cos it may cause that car brand to breakdown instantly.

Perhaps, your personal observation of these are conclusive enuff for u. That's fine. Because, unless u are everywhere whenever there's a car breakdown, no way to say 100% no other brands broke down as well.

Besides, i doubt anyone with a breakdown car will need to call u so that u can update this list.ððððð

I saw a few brands breaking down over the years but they are not on your list. Nonetheless, breakdown is too general and hasty to say this is a bad boy, i mean not reliable car. Breakdown can be due to empty fuel tank but no petrol station near enuff to walk and no one wants to give one a lift fast enuff for u not to see it or battery died cos headlights not turn off for whole night and jumpstart only allow battery to travel just nice to breakdown for u to take note or owner never bother with maintenance so its not about reliabilty but responsibility of the car owner. Next time if u free, stop by safely near car that broke down and ask why break down. More accurate info then.

Just yada-ing. Pls dun take offence cos none intended.

Thanks for sharing. Pls update list as u see them. Hopefully still got enuff cars within budget to buy by then. Otherwise, i suspect u meant to make us all cycle or walk. ððððkidding.

Car die/stall/break down suddenly on middle of 90 kmh highway is not acceptable regardless any reason. Car break down on small road is still acceptable because it does not lead to fatal accidents.

I saw many cars break down on Singapore highway, it was too dangerous for car owner and other drivers around that break down car.

I just do my best to buy most reliable car to save my own life and offer drivers life around my car.

The are 2 realities:

1. Toyota is most reliable car brand in the world.

2. The moon is not rounder in Ang Moh country but Ang Moh mindset in Ang Moh country is opener than Asian mindset in Asian country. More freedom in Ang Moh country.

Moon is not rounder in ang moh country meh? I see them all very dua liap type. Super round.

This is very true.

CVT are not reliable and also expensive to fix.

Same with GDI. It leaks petrol into the oil.

My Honda CVT and GDI leaks petrol/oil into engine and engine was stalled on middle of 90 kmh highway. I was very lucky to survive that nightmare incident. I scraped the Honda and will never buy Honda again. Learn from that nightmare mistake, I only buy most reliable car.

All brands have some models that are more reliable than others.

My opinion on the most reliable models.

Feel free to mass debate me if you disagree.

I welcome an orgy of opinions.

The most reliable Toyota all the electrical points were gold plated

95812041990315.jpg

The most reliable Daihatsu

FRONT.jpg

The most reliable Suzuki

12638810.jpg

The most reliable Mercedes

Mercedes-Benz-W-124.jpg

The most reliable Honda

28734610.jpg

If one has never seen his brain before....does it mean that he doesn't have one ?

[;)][:p][laugh]

Yes. Anyone who doubts his own brain needs to cut his own head open and take a look. :D

post-52704-0-53499500-1557838805_thumb.jpg

1st Gear

https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/2019-us-vehicle-dependability-studyvds

The above is based on the US market done in 2019. Key conclusions include: (1) Cars are generally getting more reliable compared to the past (2) Some brands are still more reliable AND more consistently reliable than other brands.

Would there be any difference if research is done in the Singapore market? Of course, but I doubt it will drastically different.

Are people willing to pay more for more reliability? Within a reasonable budget, the answer must be yes.

Will there be any flaws in the study? Definitely. Just like all your rankings for top universities in the world. But perception is important. Because perception is what helps a brand to sell.

Edited by xul

https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/2019-us-vehicle-dependability-studyvds

The above is based on the US market done in 2019. Key conclusions include: (1) Cars are generally getting more reliable compared to the past (2) Some brands are still more reliable AND more consistently reliable than other brands.

Would there be any difference if research is done in the Singapore market? Of course, but I doubt it will drastically different.

Are people willing to pay more for more reliability? Within a reasonable budget, the answer must be yes.

Will there be any flaws in the study? Definitely. Just like all your rankings for top universities in the world. But perception is important. Because perception is what helps a brand to sell.

Based on the chart in the report, even the most most reliable brand, Lexus in this case, also reported 106 problems per 100 vehicles! 

So the figure for Toyotas in our Singapore market is magical - zero since commonly acknowledge never break down one haha?