Nissan showroom in Bukit Timah calling it a day

StreetFight3r

Sunny=Bright & Clever [thumbsup]  [:)] ,Sylphy=Sleepy [thumbsdown]

Edited by ER-3682

Actually the Sunny back in the early 2000s were quite a nasty car also. Poor engine refinement and high FC are just some of the issues. And the car looked cheap even by early 2000s standards. When the Hipporolla arrived, the N16 Sunny suddenly looked like a Dino.

Anyway Sylphy IS the current Sunny. Nissan just used a different name. Most western markets used the Sentra name though.

The current OMG Almera was aka Sunnies in some 3rd world markets also.

Well there is the 2020 Sylphy. As nice as it looks, do not be fooled. It is just a remodeled Renault Megane and most styling bits, esp the cabin, are easily over 2 yrs old. Unfortunately Nissan has no plans to use Renault engines in this new model. So the current weak 1.6L continues..

Fourth-generation-Nissan-Sylphy-Auto-Sha

Renault engine good meh?

Europeans tend to be better in turbo technology, but if Renault produce reliable engine and good turbo I dont know. Edited by Ct3833

If nissan was not on the verge of bankruptcy, they will not merge with Renault. Being 100 per cent Japanese is the most ideal situation

Edited by RogerNg_185295

Renault engine good meh?

Renault has a 180hp 1.6T DI petrol engine, and 6 sp DCT.

What does Nissan have for the current Sylphy? That 190hp 1.6T SSS model has been canceled for many yrs due to its inability to meet Euro 6. And only Nissan knows how to zap away most of that engine power bu hooking it up to a CVT box.. And dropping it into a crude platform and then left customer wondering why the car doesnt feel like it had 190hp at all. 

In the year 2000 to 2004, there were 2 models of Nissan sunny sold by Tan Chong

1) n16 sunny

2) b15 sunny aka sunny vip

The n16 gave the Nissan brand a bad name as the engine was not v fuel efficient and there was the famous stalling when doing 3 point turn, which Tan Chong didn’t want to admit but ultimately issue a recall and fix those affected mainly the pre face lift n16 sold from 2000 to 2002.

The b15 on the other hand was a far better model , my driving instructor back then in 2002 use it and he said fuel consumption is pretty decent though I did remember the back seat was v v cramp !

Although you said the n16 sunny gave a bad name, but this model was the one who became the best seller during the 2000-2002. Whereas the sunny vip not many people buy, but saw many driving instructor used this model.

Mr Glenn tan is really lucky to be born in such a good family

Hence, instead of envy him for which he must have been practicing the True Law in his previous existence to be reborn in this great family, we should be practicing the True Law ourselves in order to be reborn into a greater family than his

By the way, GRAB founder is also Tan Chong family

Hence, instead of envy him for which he must have been practicing the True Law in his previous existence to be reborn in this great family, we should be practicing the True Law ourselves in order to be reborn into a greater family than his

By the way, GRAB founder is also Tan Chong family

If everyone practise your so called true law, there will be no poor people in the world already

nissan is probably the next nokia. 

i drove the sunny before, good solid car apart from the gearbox gonna caput near scrap whereby there was a badass jerk from gear 1 to gear 2. 

almera failed to sell cause it was launched during the crazy high coe period. nissan note 1.2dig was good with the turbocharged engine but coe was high as well, coe dropped and they brought in the puny and weaker nissan note to compete with another tin can like attrage. 

pulsar was a gorgeous car but similarly, launched during high coe period and died a natural death in less than a year. 

only good sellers are qq but plugged by issues whereby owners complain about the driving lag non stop. sylphy is decent but based on the old platform and still massively underpowered and guzzler. xtrail is a beast but the price is nuts and people will opt for forester instead. 

pretty much sums up nissan in Singapore, adios. 

Edited by makeanewcall

nissan is probably the next nokia.

i drove the sunny before, good solid car apart from the gearbox gonna caput near scrap whereby there was a badass jerk from gear 1 to gear 2.

almera failed to sell cause it was launched during the crazy high coe period. nissan note 1.2dig was good with the turbocharged engine but coe was high as well, coe dropped and they brought in the puny and weaker nissan note to compete with another tin can like attrage.

pulsar was a gorgeous car but similarly, launched during high coe period and died a natural death in less than a year.

only good sellers are qq but plugged by issues whereby owners complain about the driving lag non stop. sylphy is decent but based on the old platform and still massively underpowered and guzzler. xtrail is a beast but the price is nuts and people will opt for forester instead.

pretty much sums up nissan in Singapore, adios.

It's still doing well in Singapore. If not, TC will let go of the brand already. Your views do not represent the majority of their customers

Have owned Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Toyota, Suzuki, Daihatsu b4. But never a Datsun.....oppss, i mean Nissan b4. Somehow no appeal leh. Yeah, even the GTR

To be fair, the 1978- 1982 Datsun 120Y, 140J and 160B still looked pretty good today despite their 1970s design. 

And these triplets were alot better designed than the KE50 Corolla of that era. God bless RWD! 

Back then Nissan obviously copied styling cues from the Americans but unlike the Chinese of today, they do have their own twist to the original GM styling cues of that era. 

These were superbly simple cars that hardly breaks down. And somehow having 75hp from a single carb OHV 1.6L engine and a 5MT made the 160B quite a hot sedan. 

Edited by Cheefarn

Fair enough. I've had a Nissan 200SX (second car). Way before that my dad used to have a Datsun 240Z. Currently one of our household cars is a Nissan Note.

But, like you, I've never been drawn to the GT-R. At least the R35. The earlier ones have something special about them. But the R35 was when Nissan officially declared war on European supercars. And for a time they seemed to be winning. But the Europeans have long taken back their crown because Nissan just hasn't improved their halo car sufficiently. The newest version makes "only" 565hp (granted it may be underrated), but in this day and age I would expect 600hp to be a bare minimum for top tier performance.

If you discount the performance, there's not a whole lot else going for the car. Certainly not the styling.

Go test that gtr. May be you will change your mind

No mention of the Toa Payoh branch? Still there right?

Nearly forgotten the Nissan branch at toa payoh lor 8.  :o  Guess should be still around.