2019/2020 MCF Revamp - Feedback/Errors

BabyBlade

Message added by BabyBlade

💟

3 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

in that case, shouldnt notfications auto disappear?

see, i got confused.

nope. 

Notification only notify you someone quoted you or reacted to you, thats all. It is stand alone from the content.

In the old format is the same, Admin or mod can make changes to your post or remove it totally, but your notification is already sent to you.  If you see a notification but cannot see that post, 90% chance it was removed, for whatever reason. 

Same goes to threads that are locked and remove totally, you may see some notification that some one quoted you, but when you click on it, it becomes broken, and the thread disappears for good. Same thing. 

In any case, if you posted something and wish to have it remove after the edit time lapse, you can PM the mods or admin to have it remove for you.

This is not something new, this feature has been there since the time I join. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

13 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

nope. 

Notification only notify you someone quoted you or reacted to you, thats all. It is stand alone from the content.

In the old format is the same, Admin or mod can make changes to your post or remove it totally, but your notification is already sent to you.  If you see a notification but cannot see that post, 90% chance it was removed, for whatever reason. 

Same goes to threads that are locked and remove totally, you may see some notification that some one quoted you, but when you click on it, it becomes broken, and the thread disappears for good. Same thing. 

In any case, if you posted something and wish to have it remove after the edit time lapse, you can PM the mods or admin to have it remove for you.

This is not something new, this feature has been there since the time I join. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

then maybe they can revamp this to reduce confusion

For those who missed the "All participated posts" function, I think it is working now, but may not be working 100%. The are settings we can do to cater to how we wants the posts to appear, but it doesnt seem to be able to be saved. However, in order to use it, we can do a few extra steps to get to the same result. 

So, same thing, on Desktop, go to "Forum", below the "search" bar, 3rd from the left, Click on "All participated posts".

image.thumb.png.59fe594f8cb4bf429d7745de7187a6ba.png

Under "read status", you have to tick "unread item links take me to the first unread comment". Only that will it brings you to the last unread post  and not the first page first post. 

image.thumb.png.dcfb83b56f3c5644282b01e91b0be50f.png

After that a list of the topics you participated in will appear, click on the title and it will bring you to the last read post. 

image.thumb.png.b7e9449641f4361b019cf2a10f4cc728.png

@therock, @Theoldjaffa, I think this is something you guys looking for? ^_^[laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

For mobile,  is "menu" button,  3rd bottom bar in the light blue box.  "Show filter" and same thing tick " unread item links take me to the first unread comment". And we sld be able to function close to what we have been doing.  At least until the team get enough time to sort out the loose ends. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

Screenshot_20190902_212501_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190902_212519_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190902_212541_com.android.chrome.jpg

8 minutes ago, therock said:

TM is the new forum IT boss 👍 

Thank you for helping PC / IT idiots like me..

The only problem now is because the setting can yet be saved, we would have to keep repeating  this process until the saved function is sort out.  Extra work, but at least we can more or less get what to work with something we are familiar with for now, better than everything not working at all. [laugh]^_^

No need to thanks me, I am also trying to figure out, so when I come across anything fixed I will just share, but sometimes I may also miss some stuffs, pls dont F me when I make mistakes... [:p][laugh][laugh]

9 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

The only problem now is because the setting can yet be saved, we would have to keep repeating  this process until the saved function is sort out.  Extra work, but at least we can more or less get what to work with something we are familiar with for now, better than everything not working at all. [laugh]^_^

No need to thanks me, I am also trying to figure out, so when I come across anything fixed I will just share, but sometimes I may also miss some stuffs, pls dont F me when I make mistakes... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Maybe if the settings can be saved, you can share out the config file for the rest of us to have the same old setting as before? 😆

Btw i still think TM is a fictitious member created by this forum owner to help us in whatever capacity. He has been used to share alot on durians lobang, now used to help us get used to the new platform haha.

4 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Maybe if the settings can be saved, you can share out the config file for the rest of us to have the same old setting as before? 😆

I think the old setting is when we go to " All participated posts",  sld list a whole list of threads we participated in, then click on the title it would bring us to the last post read. 

I also dont know when it can be saved, I think the team saw our comments and work on it yesterday or last night, so it became functional today. I will check back whenever I log in, If ever I can save the settings, I will post here. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

7 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Btw i still think TM is a fictitious member created by this forum owner to help us in whatever capacity. He has been used to share alot on durians lobang, now used to help us get used to the new platform haha.

KNN, you mai CB hor, got quite a number of ppl here seen me in person before one hor....[smash][laugh][laugh]

4 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Maybe there is more than meet the eye? 😎🤣

KNN, yah they more than met my eyes, they also met my nose, mouth and ears. Even said hello to my wings! :XD:

You mai CB hor, mai anyhow anyhow fake news...:a-aggressive:<_<[laugh][laugh]

2 hours ago, Tianmo said:

yah, it was mentioned earlier that there is a max points for every level, similar to the last format.  They will make some announcement later when things are more stabilize. 

But I think you are the 1st Hypersonic to have expends off all your praises in a day so far.  How many did you fire off ah? [crazy][laugh][laugh]

hahaha ... first day trying , become hyper and just click away . Im very generous 😂 

Unfortunately I didnt count and the Activity List is limited to 40-50 records I think . There is no filter for action also in "See my activity" page too. 

Credit where it's due. Working better now except for slightly longer load times - that lag when you attempt to access the URL. 

But I get fewer errors (not noticed any the last couple of days). 

And I really like how it's easier to copy paste YT links via mobile now.