Euro 2020

Maxus-MIFA9

13 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Finally saw Netherlands played, and I must say they looked quite decent and efficient, even if not full of world class players in each position. In fact, cannot think of even one world class player in the team - was it because already more or less qualified, so fielded a weak team? If no, then even without their captain VVD, they could churn out a decent performance any day - with players that are not very illustrious, so that's quite impressive. Last time my impression of Netherlands would include van der sar, stam, van bastan, van nistheroy, koeman, de boers, cruyff, etc. all fairly well known names. Now i only know Wijnaldum...

Ok, still got Blind and Depay, but i remember more of how they fared when playing for Utd. And yet, like i said, they did decent as a team. Ok, there was a scare when N Macedonia could have scored when still goalless, but other than that, they had most of the game under control. 

I think if they play against England, the English players while each one come with much bigger reputation, might lose to the Dutch...

Actually, even at the last major tournament, I remember Dutch was still using Kuyt and Babbel, again not big-reputation players. This could only mean that the team can punch above their (individual players') weight as a collective unit.

Italy also belongs to this category, i feel. Team like France has a team full of world-class players, but Netherlands and Italy don't, and that is what make them even more impressive.

You missed out the goggle man Edgar Davids 

3 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

You missed out the goggle man Edgar Davids 

arrh yes yes... plus his fren the pui chao nuah guy, of that era, Rijkaard,

as well as so many other famous/household dutch players of yester years...

seedorf

kluivert

overmars

berkamp

Gullit

Now with no big names, still can do well. 👍

40 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

arrh yes yes... plus his fren the pui chao nuah guy, of that era, Rijkaard,

as well as so many other famous/household dutch players of yester years...

seedorf

kluivert

overmars

berkamp

Gullit

Now with no big names, still can do well. 👍

80-90s dutch team also full of stars loh.  esp gullit that batch with frank rijkaard marco van basten etc etc

seedorf davis is a later generation already . 

but they fail to win any major tournment....

sorry WC  i mean, the only 1 euro 1988. 😅

Edited by Beregond

30 minutes ago, Beregond said:

80-90s dutch team also full of stars loh.  esp gullit that batch with frank rijkaard marco van basten etc etc

seedorf davis is a later generation already . 

but they fail to win any major tournment....

sorry WC  i mean, the only 1 euro 1988😅

yup ... the super star team won Euro 1988 ... 

soccer06.jpg

6 hours ago, Beregond said:

why both 2nd place team in the group face each other??? should not be first face second???

Yeah its funny.

Like that better to finish second.

No wonder Wales so happy to lose to Italy.

10 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Why Spain never play Adama Traore?

They cannot win and need some speed and power up front.

lol i dun know this guy is spain till u mention it here.

all along i thought he is england.

i dun remember spain got any black players before??

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

yup ... the super star team won Euro 1988 ... 

soccer06.jpg

That final was a classic to me. 

The Soviets were good throughout the tournament...even in the final wherebu the Dutch could hardly win the ball until that long hair scored with a header...

then the second goal and a missed penalty...habis from there on...

talking of past finals, i was just telling my son about the shocks and upsets, after Eriksen's heart attack. I told him how Denmark was not supposed to be in the tournament in 1992, but was selected to replace Yugoslavia, and then the father of the current goalkeeper, Peter, incredibly won them the title.

the other one was Greece. Such an unfancied team can actually win it... Really makes the often hyped-up teams look not so good leh.

this round dunno will have upsets or not hor?

4 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

talking of past finals, i was just telling my son about the shocks and upsets, after Eriksen's heart attack. I told him how Denmark was not supposed to be in the tournament in 1992, but was selected to replace Yugoslavia, and then the father of the current goalkeeper, Peter, incredibly won them the title.

the other one was Greece. Such an unfancied team can actually win it... Really makes the often hyped-up teams look not so good leh.

Ya...i remembered that year as well. The Danes were oredi prepared to go on holidays after the club season...kena called up and played without any pressure  to win the trophy 😁

14 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

the 3 upset  to me is denmark greece and portugal .

i dun remember any upset in WC. all the winners are seeded teams

5 minutes ago, Beregond said:

the 3 upset  to me is denmark greece and portugal .

i dun remember any upset in WC. all the winners are seeded teams

Yes WC always win by one of the stronger nations. Euros got chance win by underdog but this year I doubt so cos most of the stronger nations playing well enough to win ie Italy, France, Belgium, Holland n even Germany could win it n I dare say England too😃

6 minutes ago, Spring said:

Yes WC always win by one of the stronger nations. Euros got chance win by underdog but this year I doubt so cos most of the stronger nations playing well enough to win ie Italy, France, Belgium, Holland n even Germany could win it n I dare say England too😃

actually i would put belgium as an upset if they win this year.

although their ranking is very high,  they dun have good record in soccer. never win in wc or reach final also??

same as euro, they never win before. did they reach any final?? the rise of belgium  as a power is only this few years that i remember of. 

39 minutes ago, Beregond said:

actually i would put belgium as an upset if they win this year.

although their ranking is very high,  they dun have good record in soccer. never win in wc or reach final also??

same as euro, they never win before. did they reach any final?? the rise of belgium  as a power is only this few years that i remember of. 

U r right that Belgium are not amongst the traditional powerhouse football nations n yes they hv not won anything yet.

Many experts feel if they don’t win this year or perhaps next yr WC, their chance would be gone as oldies like Hazard. Toby, Vertonghen n Vermalean are all above 30. My personal take is they will not win it but come close. Let’s see…..

So far. Frm results. No upsets yet. Maybe only hungary draw with france consider one of the shock result so far only. 

As saif i din watch much of this tourament. Save a few highlights. Hee. 

Yeah the dutch team no real stars. Italy also not much stars. Perhaps becoz i dun catch serie a leow. Hee. But still see bonnucci and the chillenni playing. Old but goldie defence.

From the highlights, their attack and midfielders seems proper class. Maybe they have found some baggios,  dodonanis in their teams finally.

But seems like the current footballers scene lacks a proper baggio. Del pieros. Van basten. Ronaldo fat one. Figos. Inesta class of players.

20 hours ago, Spring said:

Unless u hv a 32 team tournament but UEFA nations I think total 55 countries only so if u put up a 32 team Finals that would mean almost 2/3 will qualify!

I think uefa would do that for more money. Fifa even considering 64 teams world cup soon. In the end, first round games become more like qualifiers. On the other extreme is copa america now (which was moved from argentina due to covid worries to.... Brazil! :D). Too few teams, which saw 10 teams in 2 groups of 5, and after all the 1st round games, only 1 team from each group will be eliminated. 

14 hours ago, Spurman said:

So far. Frm results. No upsets yet. Maybe only hungary draw with france consider one of the shock result so far only. 

As saif i din watch much of this tourament. Save a few highlights. Hee. 

Yeah the dutch team no real stars. Italy also not much stars. Perhaps becoz i dun catch serie a leow. Hee. But still see bonnucci and the chillenni playing. Old but goldie defence.

From the highlights, their attack and midfielders seems proper class. Maybe they have found some baggios,  dodonanis in their teams finally.

But seems like the current footballers scene lacks a proper baggio. Del pieros. Van basten. Ronaldo fat one. Figos. Inesta class of players.

ya. cannot see any new emerging super stars at all.

haven't notice any 1 that can replace messi or cr7

hazard should be, but fail. mbappe? not really. neyma? close but not.

5 hours ago, Beregond said:

ya. cannot see any new emerging super stars at all.

haven't notice any 1 that can replace messi or cr7

hazard should be, but fail. mbappe? not really. neyma? close but not.

Oh ya got this mbappe. Though playing in french league makes him less watchable so far. Hee.

Just seems that yeah. U r rite about emerging stars are so less nowadays.