Atrecord Supersonic yesterday at 02:43 AM Share yesterday at 02:43 AM On 2/20/2025 at 10:54 AM, Sosaria said: Definitely. No joke but I had a colleague who suffered slipped disc and sitting at office for long periods was a pain. During WFH time in the long circuit breaker period, she said was able to lie down to rest periodically and her slipped disc condition improved. I had slipped discs 4 yr ago, but i think the WFH was just the trigger. I prob started damaging the discs way beforehand, through prolonged/excessive sitting. I feel govt should educate the population from young, the harm of prolonged sitting - something that i was not aware of until i went to see my back specialist... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic yesterday at 02:58 AM Share yesterday at 02:58 AM On 5/27/2025 at 10:43 AM, Atrecord said: I had slipped discs 4 yr ago, but i think the WFH was just the trigger. I prob started damaging the discs way beforehand, through prolonged/excessive sitting. I feel govt should educate the population from young, the harm of prolonged sitting - something that i was not aware of until i went to see my back specialist... I can never sit in the same chair for hours. No problem for me 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic yesterday at 03:08 AM Share yesterday at 03:08 AM On 5/27/2025 at 10:58 AM, inlinesix said: I can never sit in the same chair for hours. No problem for me 🤣 Good for you lor. my surgeon said recommended not to sit more than 2 hr. when sitting straight, our lower back takes 50% more stress/strain than when we are standing upright. If sit without back support and body leans forward, then the stress/strain on the lower back is more than double of standing upright... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 03:10 AM Share yesterday at 03:10 AM On 5/27/2025 at 10:40 AM, Atrecord said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/realigned-lim-chu-kang-road-to-open-from-june-8-existing-road-to-be-closed this article says TAB expanding and taking over PLAB, due completion from 2030 onwards: "The expansion of the 86-year-old Tengah Air Base is to accommodate the relocation of Paya Lebar Air Base, which will be completed from 2030 onwards." Liddat Tengah bto should be cheaper from 2030...i know i know...mr tan would say otherwise...well protected...more sexpensive...😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic yesterday at 03:13 AM Share yesterday at 03:13 AM On 5/27/2025 at 11:08 AM, Atrecord said: Good for you lor. my surgeon said recommended not to sit more than 2 hr. when sitting straight, our lower back takes 50% more stress/strain than when we are standing upright. If sit without back support and body leans forward, then the stress/strain on the lower back is more than double of standing upright... What's importance is to "lock" your spine when you sit. That will transfer your weight down to your butt. It will come naturally to you if you do proper weight training. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 03:18 AM Share yesterday at 03:18 AM Aiyoh...someone oredi said that's the sound of peace...albeit in high decibels...nothing is perfect...no more hch...even jt has to llst...😁 Some say when life gives you a lemon, make lemonade out of it... Till life gives you a tangerine, you can say all you want also nothing will cum out of it...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged yesterday at 04:55 AM Share yesterday at 04:55 AM weather sibeh hot these days happy to work in office, just that i cannot wear my SAF singlet and shorts in the office 😆 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic yesterday at 05:01 AM Share yesterday at 05:01 AM On 5/26/2025 at 10:23 AM, bsswan said: Note coping well today, SAF doing low-level loop-d-loops over my place in their A330 since like 8am whilst also constantly being buzzed by F15 close enough I can read the markings. Oh, now a distant humming of a heli..... "For your safety' wears a little thin sometimes. Paranoid much? I keep thinking of governmental push to make us all drive EV to save the environment whilst SAF is burning tanker loads of aviation fuel for, from the outside, seems like too much playing around exercise. Bro, four defence purposes. Give and take lah.. not say they flying for fun. I also staying at SK area which will U turn back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged yesterday at 05:11 AM Share yesterday at 05:11 AM (edited) On 5/27/2025 at 10:58 AM, inlinesix said: I can never sit in the same chair for hours. No problem for me 🤣 I actually prefer to stand most of the time. Take bus or MRT...sure stand. Any place that need to wait for queue number, I will stand. When doing work on laptop, after sitting 30 minutes, I stand to type the keyboard. At home watch TV, after sitting 30 minutes - 1 hour, I will stand for the rest of the show. The only place I won't stand is cinema & makan places. Weird but true.....😅 Edited yesterday at 05:15 AM by Stary 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic yesterday at 05:20 AM Share yesterday at 05:20 AM (edited) On 5/27/2025 at 11:08 AM, Atrecord said: Good for you lor. my surgeon said recommended not to sit more than 2 hr. when sitting straight, our lower back takes 50% more stress/strain than when we are standing upright. If sit without back support and body leans forward, then the stress/strain on the lower back is more than double of standing upright... Not easy to sit more than 2 hr le. No matter WFH or WFO, surely would need to get up to walk to toilet right. Then if WFO, surely need to walk to pantry to replenish water or go to photocopier machine to take prints lo. Edited yesterday at 05:21 AM by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic yesterday at 05:23 AM Share yesterday at 05:23 AM On 5/27/2025 at 1:11 PM, Stary said: I actually prefer to stand most of the time. Take bus or MRT...sure stand. Any place that need to wait for queue number, I will stand. When doing work on laptop, after sitting 30 minutes, I stand to type the keyboard. At home watch TV, after sitting 30 minutes - 1 hour, I will stand for the rest of the show. The only place I won't stand is cinema & makan places. Weird but true.....😅 Cinema cannot stand la, can't be you buy ticket to cinema and then you stand behind or at the side to watch the movie right?! Lol. Experts say eating better is to sit down and eat, if eating while standing or walking not good for digestion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic yesterday at 05:37 AM Share yesterday at 05:37 AM On 5/27/2025 at 12:55 PM, Scion said: weather sibeh hot these days happy to work in office, just that i cannot wear my SAF singlet and shorts in the office 😆 Usually office air cond very cold Wear Singlet can take the cold?🤭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic yesterday at 05:39 AM Share yesterday at 05:39 AM On 5/27/2025 at 11:08 AM, Atrecord said: Good for you lor. my surgeon said recommended not to sit more than 2 hr. when sitting straight, our lower back takes 50% more stress/strain than when we are standing upright. If sit without back support and body leans forward, then the stress/strain on the lower back is more than double of standing upright... this is @inlinesix........ 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic yesterday at 06:07 AM Share yesterday at 06:07 AM On 5/27/2025 at 11:13 AM, inlinesix said: What's importance is to "lock" your spine when you sit. That will transfer your weight down to your butt. It will come naturally to you if you do proper weight training. Informative... but too late for me liao... now i avoid lifting anything more than 3 kg - on doctor's advice. 😓 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic yesterday at 06:10 AM Share yesterday at 06:10 AM On 5/27/2025 at 1:20 PM, 13177 said: Not easy to sit more than 2 hr le. No matter WFH or WFO, surely would need to get up to walk to toilet right. Then if WFO, surely need to walk to pantry to replenish water or go to photocopier machine to take prints lo. My job is quite desk-bound, need to read a lot, so must focus... sometimes really can ~3 hr or more... Not healthy... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic yesterday at 06:12 AM Share yesterday at 06:12 AM On 5/27/2025 at 1:23 PM, 13177 said: Cinema cannot stand la, can't be you buy ticket to cinema and then you stand behind or at the side to watch the movie right?! Lol. Experts say eating better is to sit down and eat, if eating while standing or walking not good for digestion. last week i just went watch mission impossible on weekday afternoon. It's my first movie in cinema since maybe 10 yr ago. the movie so long, and the cinema so empty (maybe only 5 pax in total), so at one point, i was actually standing for maybe 20 min... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic yesterday at 06:26 AM Share yesterday at 06:26 AM On 5/27/2025 at 2:12 PM, Atrecord said: last week i just went watch mission impossible on weekday afternoon. It's my first movie in cinema since maybe 10 yr ago. the movie so long, and the cinema so empty (maybe only 5 pax in total), so at one point, i was actually standing for maybe 20 min... Didn't know still got latest mission impossible movie siah. How many sequel liao? I guess now not many people go cinema watch movie lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic yesterday at 06:35 AM Share yesterday at 06:35 AM On 5/27/2025 at 1:11 PM, Stary said: I actually prefer to stand most of the time. Take bus or MRT...sure stand. Any place that need to wait for queue number, I will stand. When doing work on laptop, after sitting 30 minutes, I stand to type the keyboard. At home watch TV, after sitting 30 minutes - 1 hour, I will stand for the rest of the show. The only place I won't stand is cinema & makan places. Weird but true.....😅 If watch titanic at home how? 2.5 hrs of senang diri...😅 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...