Same Name Different Class

Carbon82

38 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I can see if Singapore have a car brand, the car model name sure very colorful one. hahhaha.

Yes

and the legendary bluebird 

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

I can see if Singapore have a car brand, the car model name sure very colorful one. hahhaha.

Something like this? 😁

20200602_221802.jpg

On 6/1/2020 at 6:39 PM, Carbon82 said:

OK, I am trying out a new series of automotive related discussion thread. Let me know if you prefer something like these or otherwise.

There are hundreds of new model been rolled out worldwide by varies auto manufacturers each year, but the naming convention can be very different among manufacturer. Some would goes with fanciful or eye catching name, such as i, Wake, Up!, Naked, Today, Morning, while others choose to stick with names that have past through several generations such as Corolla, Civic, Golf, and different sizes of paper (A1 to A8).

And here's the interesting part, not all model are the same as their predecessor (or ancestor). I don't mean the look of course, but it term of characteristic or even class. I will first use the following 2 examples for illustrating my point.

Errrrrrr

Just want to point out that paper sizes start at A0.[grin]

21 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Errrrrrr

Just want to point out that paper sizes start at A0.[grin]

I knew this will pop up... :D

Actually there are rumors of A0, but never get to materialise. 

Audi-A0-impressie-2012-03.jpg

The funny thing is that paper get smaller with the increase in number, but it is the reverse for Audi.

• Praise 10

9 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

I knew this will pop up... :D

Actually there are rumors of A0, but never get to materialise. 

Audi-A0-impressie-2012-03.jpg

The funny thing is that paper get smaller with the increase in number, but it is the reverse for Audi.

Is this  a copy of VW up?

8 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Is this  a copy of VW up?

Yes, the photoshop was done basing on VW Up!, which is the smallest car in VAG.

Another model name that irk me: Mitsubishi Galant. From macho and sporty large size sedan,

mitsubishi_galant_vr-4_6.jpg

mitsubishi_galant_vr-4_type-s_1.jpg

To a tame looking mickey mouse... Yes, you are not seeing thing, our Lancer was Sold in Japan and some part of the world as Galant Fortis.

mitsubishi_galant_fortis_22.jpg

mitsubishi_galant_fortis_sportback_5_036

• Praise 11

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:

Yes, the photoshop was done basing on VW Up!, which is the smallest car in VAG.

Another model name that irk me: Mitsubishi Galant. From macho and sporty large size sedan,

mitsubishi_galant_vr-4_6.jpg

mitsubishi_galant_vr-4_type-s_1.jpg

To a tame looking mickey mouse... Yes, you are not seeing thing, our Lancer was Sold in Japan and some part of the world as Galant Fortis.

mitsubishi_galant_fortis_22.jpg

mitsubishi_galant_fortis_sportback_5_036

Yeah. I know about the galant. hahah. When I just join SGCM, my senior told me about the difference of lancer and galant. @Lectrosphere btw. 😃

On 6/2/2020 at 9:36 PM, RadX said:

Yes

and the legendary bluebird 

Bluebird is another model relevant to this thread.

From these...

nissan_bluebird_sedan_2000_g6-ef_5.jpg

autowp.ru_nissan_bluebird_hardtop_1800_t

nissan_bluebird_sedan_15.jpg

nissan_bluebird_sss_twin_cam_turbo_hardt

autowp.ru_nissan_bluebird_4.jpg

nissan_bluebird_1.jpg

to this...

nissan_bluebird_sylphy.jpg

nissan_bluebird_sylphy_2.jpg

Neither sporty nor elegance.[thumbsdown]

• Praise 10

1 minute ago, Carbon82 said:

Bluebird is another model relevant to this thread.

From these...

nissan_bluebird_sedan_2000_g6-ef_5.jpg

autowp.ru_nissan_bluebird_hardtop_1800_t

nissan_bluebird_sedan_15.jpg

nissan_bluebird_sss_twin_cam_turbo_hardt

autowp.ru_nissan_bluebird_4.jpg

nissan_bluebird_1.jpg

to this...

nissan_bluebird_sylphy.jpg

nissan_bluebird_sylphy_2.jpg

Neither sporty nor elegance.[thumbsdown]

If you use your bluebird wrongly

you can get syphilis (sylphy)

ok I see the link 

• Haha! 11

I heard on one of those car review on YouTube that the new 3series is bigger than 5 series from a few generations back.

On ‎6‎/‎1‎/‎2020 at 7:37 PM, Soya said:

Hyundai bestest. Change name maciam change underwear liddat

Hyundai Excel become Accent

Hyundai Sonata become i45 then back to Sonata

Hyundai Elantra become Avante then back to Elantra then back to Avante......

Maciam korean plastic surgery sia can change this n that anytime 😊

Sarted with Hyundai Pony to Excel to Accent ... [drivingcar]

5 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

True dat.

I oso wished Kia would do more of the korean plastic surgery thingy. Kia today is light years away from its dodgy past but still stubbornly hanging on to its ugly badge and names like Cerato, Rio, Sorento which were horrid cars when they first came out

2 hours ago, RadX said:

If you use your bluebird wrongly

you can get syphilis (sylphy)

ok I see the link 

OK, you the Sexpert. :D 

1 hour ago, Lotr said:

I heard on one of those car review on YouTube that the new 3series is bigger than 5 series from a few generations back.

It is normal that the size will get larger with each new generation, so acceptable to me in general.

But @Philipkee favorite Honda City is another extreme, as the original version is a mini city mover (3.38m x 1.57m) while the latest generation has evolved into a mid size sedan (4.55m x 1.75m).

honda_city_e.jpg

honda_city_750_022c00000b8207a4.jpg

1 hour ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

You missed out another one.

Pony <-> Excel <-> Accent <-> Verna

• Praise 12

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:

It is normal that the size will get larger with each new generation, so acceptable to me in general.

But @Philipkee favorite Honda City is another extreme, as the original version is a mini city mover (3.38m x 1.57m) while the latest generation has evolved into a mid size sedan (4.55m x 1.75m).

honda_city_e.jpg

The old Honda City makes me think of motocompo.

th?id=OIP.olbJMn-SFTC7NSYrqzpZ6QHaH3%26p

Last time car so innovative. haha.

2 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

honda_city_e.jpg

That new City is the size of some C segment cars a few years back!

It grew by 10 cm...maybe next time it will be longer than the Civic.

3 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

honda_city_e.jpg

I thought of the City too. There is another Honda that went through an extreme makeover through it's generations.

The Honda Insight. From a futuristic looking 2-seater, to a Prius-esque 5 door, and the current generation that looks like a Civic.

https___blogs-images.forbes.com_sebastianblanco_files_2018_01_am199909_inst01_01002H-e1516134342502-1200x809.jpg

2010_Honda_Insight_LX_--_10-03-2009.jpg

2020-honda-insight_100711438_h.jpg

Edited by iamahbee

11 minutes ago, iamahbee said:

I thought of the City too. There is another Honda that went through an extreme makeover through it's generations.

The Honda Insight. From a futuristic looking 2-seater, to a Prius-esque 5 door, and the current generation that looks like a Civic.

https___blogs-images.forbes.com_sebastianblanco_files_2018_01_am199909_inst01_01002H-e1516134342502-1200x809.jpg

2010_Honda_Insight_LX_--_10-03-2009.jpg

2020-honda-insight_100711438_h.jpg

Hmm. But this one still can sit 5 and its drive with a hybrid powertrain. So i think still not that bad. hahah.

3 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Haha...yeah missed out the Verna.

It went from Pony to Excel to Accent to Verna then back to Accent. Sibei prata

But all still bad names...lol