RadX Moderator August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said: Went to find my fren @RadX😁 Seriously went to find a good spot for sighting comet NEOWISE. but no good. Dun disturb my sleep next time ah ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: HID is losing its popularity. Maybe this is why it is not tested. But HID should be 1 step ahead of Halogen... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 7, 2020 Author Share August 7, 2020 21 minutes ago, ER-3682 said: But HID should be 1 step ahead of Halogen... HID is getting rare now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 Regardless the technology applies to the lightings, I felt white colour lights are just glaring and blinding. Halogen yellow or in fact the more yellow it is, it is more friendly to the eyes and also better on heavy rain condition. Just like the obsession with touchscreens and compromised on safety for the high tech impression, I don't understand why makers apply white light when that colour causes glare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 (edited) 48 minutes ago, ER-3682 said: But HID should be 1 step ahead of Halogen... It's overtaken by technology. LED is simpler and should be cheaper. I never like HID, it's too bluish, needs "warming up", too complex and not all that bright. I don't think any new car comes with it. It's dead. Edited August 7, 2020 by Volvobrick 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 7 hours ago, Lala81 said: Haha don't go those roads. But most of LCK is pretty well lit lah. We drive through part of it before we reach our training area for my reservist. I drove 15mins in margaret river in pitch black night. Country road, No moonlight and partly blocked by trees on both sides. Think that car was still halogen lights. haha city boy sure feel uncomfortable. Active days Ex crescendo after last light, whole company of tanks/M113s tactical movement (means used only BO - Black-Out - lights and no headlights) to rest area. The front guide (company 2IC vehicle) went on a wrong track on a slope, and turned turtle 😭. After that all vehicles on headlights to shine at the area and tried to rescue the trapped... one died. That was 1989. Yes, margaret river. i did that too. In fact, we landed around 2.30 pm, went to car rental company just off Perth airport (cos booked late, airport there no more MPVs 😓) around 4.30, started drive off around 5.30 pm... and first stop was Ferguson Farm stay, a good i think 250 km or more away!!! Tired, hungry, dark, unfamiliar (with road and car - iMax that was fully loaded)... The 2-3 hr on the highway was still ok, cos there were other cars in front and behind, so was not so 'lonely'. Then when finally exited the highway, needed to head uphill in those small roads also surrounded by trees on both sides. Kept asking wife (the navigator with the GPS) whether we're on the right track cos the darkness continued for a long time, ha ha... if headlights faulty, i think that's it... 😅 After that, Margaret River not that scary liao. Oh, but we stayed at a beach house, needed to pass by a cemetry from the little 'town centre' where we had dinner... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 58 minutes ago, Heartbreakid said: Regardless the technology applies to the lightings, I felt white colour lights are just glaring and blinding. Halogen yellow or in fact the more yellow it is, it is more friendly to the eyes and also better on heavy rain condition. Just like the obsession with touchscreens and compromised on safety for the high tech impression, I don't understand why makers apply white light when that colour causes glare. Aiyah, here in SG everywhere got street light, of course we dun appreciate the need to have bright headlights. 99% of places outside of town got no streetlight, so of course the brighter, the better. And white light is brighter than yellow. Yellow light is very good during heavy rain, yes... But during snow and when got fog, it is even more useful. That's why most if not all fog lights are still yellow. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 (edited) 50 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: It's overtaken by technology. LED is simpler and should be cheaper. I never like HID, it's too bluish, needs "warming up", too complex and not all that bright. I don't think any new car comes with it. It's dead. HID is expensive, many many many many times more expensive than halogen, not as durable, very hot, high power consumption, cant think of any good😀 Halogen still exist now because it is so cheap, as cheap as $1 per bulb. So it is either LED, or cheapo halogen. That may explain why HID is dead. Edited August 7, 2020 by Ct3833 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 7, 2020 Share August 7, 2020 9 hours ago, Wt_know said: matrix led auto high beam on nshw is It’s the best.. at the same time if got opposite car coming it auto turns off the adjacent beams.. amazing technology 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 9 hours ago, Volvobrick said: It's overtaken by technology. LED is simpler and should be cheaper. I never like HID, it's too bluish, needs "warming up", too complex and not all that bright. I don't think any new car comes with it. It's dead. Agreed. Had a somewhat bad experience on johore countryside pathway, not even road. Came back straight away changed to HID... the left and right spread were better but the throw was worse than halogen on NSHW. Not to mention the middle fingers I got for causing the glare before I adjust them downward on our road here 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 9 hours ago, Atrecord said: Aiyah, here in SG everywhere got street light, of course we dun appreciate the need to have bright headlights. 99% of places outside of town got no streetlight, so of course the brighter, the better. And white light is brighter than yellow. Yellow light is very good during heavy rain, yes... But during snow and when got fog, it is even more useful. That's why most if not all fog lights are still yellow. halogen good during rain/fog? really? I never experience before. In singapore weather, i prefer LED still. Yellow light is only good for one thing. For indoor lighting during evenings at home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 4 minutes ago, Lala81 said: halogen good during rain/fog? really? I never experience before. In singapore weather, i prefer LED still. Yellow light is only good for one thing. For indoor lighting during evenings at home. It's good in a way that it shows where the car is in the foggy place like at Genting Highland. I was once nearly got bang by a car with white light while I was moving out of parking lot at the open air carpark in raining day with thick fog. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 1 minute ago, mersaylee said: It's good in a way that it shows where the car is in the foggy place like at Genting Highland. I was once nearly got bang by a car with white light while I was moving out of parking lot at the open air carpark in raining day with thick fog. Err why. Shouldn't a light beam give u a clue where it's originating from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Author Share August 8, 2020 10 hours ago, Heartbreakid said: Regardless the technology applies to the lightings, I felt white colour lights are just glaring and blinding. Halogen yellow or in fact the more yellow it is, it is more friendly to the eyes and also better on heavy rain condition. Just like the obsession with touchscreens and compromised on safety for the high tech impression, I don't understand why makers apply white light when that colour causes glare. Halogen only good for use in Singapore as we have good street lighting. Factory fitted LED headlight should not cause any glare. For rainy day, use yellow color fog light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 Quote LED fog lights LED fog lights are growing in popularity. They provide many advantages over halogen fog lights, and for some drivers, switching to LED is a great choice. Although LED fog lights are considerably more expensive than their halogen counterparts, they can actually save you money in the long run. A set of LED fog lights will cost you at least £100. However, it's worth taking the longevity of LEDs into account - upgrade halogen bulbs will last you around 18-24 months, whereas LEDs can last for years. LEDs can also be less difficult to install than you might think. Replacing halogen bulbs with LED lights can be difficult in some cases, but many drivers can do it with very minimal hassle. If you're worried about changing over the bulbs yourself, an auto-electrician will be able to make the switch quickly and easily. Finally, there's the issue of performance. LED lights are brighter than halogen, and most LED fog lights have a cooler colour temperature. This means they produce a whiter light that's easier on the eyes. They also match the look of xenon HID headlights much better than a halogen bulb could. It is worth noting, however, that fog lights are at their most efficient when the colour temperature is warmer rather than cooler. Yellow light reflects off fog differently to a bluish colour, and is much more efficient at lighting up the road. So, if you're switching to LED, make sure the light is not too blue, as you might not be able to see as far in bad weather. https://www.powerbulbs.com/eu/blog/2017/10/halogen-led-fog-lights#:~:text=LED lights are brighter than,than a halogen bulb could. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 (edited) 2 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Halogen only good for use in Singapore as we have good street lighting. Factory fitted LED headlight should not cause any glare. For rainy day, use yellow color fog light Actually u can have yellow LED lights. just like how we have 4000k lights warm daylight leds in our houses. And LEDs are most importantly brighter than halogen in almost all practical scenario. Edited August 8, 2020 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Author Share August 8, 2020 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Actually u can have yellow LED lights. just like how we have 4000k lights warm daylight leds in our houses. And LEDs are most importantly brighter than halogen in almost all practical scenario. My friend bought LED bulb that can switch btw 3 diff colours. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 8, 2020 Share August 8, 2020 24 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Err why. Shouldn't a light beam give u a clue where it's originating from? It’s day time, sky was still brightly lit with thick white fog even though raining heavily. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...