❤️ What Did You Makan Today? ❤️

BabyBlade

Lunch at LYP KouFu - Ayam Lemak Chilli padi set sans chilli padi 😋😋😋😋 cos me can't take too spicy these days. Old liao is like that for me. 

V tasty. 

20201102_145116_resize_5.jpg.1545099f0396b89abccb31e3de521937.jpg

Teabreak - Rojak n teh di lou siew dai 

20201102_120020_resize_89.thumb.jpg.12ac5f230960233a3806f973c40145db.jpg

20201102_120006_resize_18.jpg.36a0f81ca754f2109033da0fd523d1b6.jpg

Heavy rain. Drive safe and check car shoes/brakes are well ya. 

Stay safe all. 

• Praise 20

3 hours ago, Tohto said:

Other than not salty enough, how was the taste?

Thought it was ok. I usually eat the breasts/chicken wings... and let my kids/wife eat the thighs/drumsticks. -_- 

I always find roasting whole chicken an issue. Even if u use chicken thighs/drums only. Always outside skin got flavour, inside don't have much. Though roasting makes the meat more juicy.
Granted i don't usually marinate overnight. Even if i marinate overnight, i find the effect usually not that great.
Angmoh receipes always use a lot of dry spices rubs or have thyme/sage/rosemary. But these spices too infrequently used in our cooking. Chinese cooking, the rice wine/soya sauce etc all more suited for braising/stir fry. 

That's why i always prefer braising/stewing or just stir frying. Also the smaller pieces make marination much quicker and time efficient. But can't use chicken breast much.

I did quite a bit of roasting chicken when i first moved in. But ok lah, the chicken is always 6/10 type. Very seldom can go above.

My mother uses nan ru when she makes her chicken winglets/drumlets. But i understand that she fries it, then bake in toaster oven.

One way was that Bon appetit showed is to use cast iron skillet. actually fry a spatchcocked chicken with a weight above to crisp the skin up, then bake in oven.

7 minutes ago, Discoburg said:

Freaking $6 pack machiam like $3 from Swee guan Hokkien mee.

6C52F19A-BAC4-4E4D-B829-7B3E72DDB891.jpeg

supposed to be the best!  haha either those prawns are big or the mee is little lol.

3 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

supposed to be the best!  haha either those prawns are big or the mee is little lol.

Mee is definitely too little. 

Its nice but definitely not worth the $6. $3/4 is ok.

Also no queues now.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Thought it was ok. I usually eat the breasts/chicken wings... and let my kids/wife eat the thighs/drumsticks. -_- 

I always find roasting whole chicken an issue. Even if u use chicken thighs/drums only. Always outside skin got flavour, inside don't have much. Though roasting makes the meat more juicy.
Granted i don't usually marinate overnight. Even if i marinate overnight, i find the effect usually not that great.
Angmoh receipes always use a lot of dry spices rubs or have thyme/sage/rosemary. But these spices too infrequently used in our cooking. Chinese cooking, the rice wine/soya sauce etc all more suited for braising/stir fry. 

That's why i always prefer braising/stewing or just stir frying. Also the smaller pieces make marination much quicker and time efficient. But can't use chicken breast much.

I did quite a bit of roasting chicken when i first moved in. But ok lah, the chicken is always 6/10 type. Very seldom can go above.

My mother uses nan ru when she makes her chicken winglets/drumlets. But i understand that she fries it, then bake in toaster oven.

Nowadays I normally marinate with light soy sauce with chopped spring onion and ginger and garlic overnight. Actually flavourful enough as it is without thyme/rosemary/garlic powder etc. 

6 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Nowadays I normally marinate with light soy sauce with chopped spring onion and ginger and garlic overnight. Actually flavourful enough as it is without thyme/rosemary/garlic powder etc. 

lol that's chinese style braising liquid. 

Ok think i can try that. But spring onion bit hard. need to go market buy fresh one. Cant keep more than few days even in fridge.
Ginger garlic can keep. 

On 11/1/2020 at 8:25 PM, Tohto said:

Their hot level also not hot lah... I always cook the extra hot.

My son prefer medium hot in the past, so have been sticking to it all the while. My wife, daughter and myself will go for extra hot anytime. :D

On 11/1/2020 at 8:33 PM, Lala81 said:

Good difference in taste?

The taste is stronger for hot level, than medium hot. Somewhat closer to real curry (Japanese style, NOT our Singapore / Malaysia type of curry though).

While I expect whole chicken to take a longer time to cook, it is actually not, and the meat is softer too. You can try to experiment with whole chicken too.

No time to cook recently as now am back to work in office (for my team). Dabao YTF from Fulin Siglap tonight. Surprised that the liao were all not cut, and I have to cut them myself.

Ts8ndGm.jpg

kQBftf1.jpg

• Praise 20

2 hours ago, Discoburg said:

Mee is definitely too little. 

Its nice but definitely not worth the $6. $3/4 is ok.

Also no queues now.

The hokkien mee looks like quite tasty le, prawns also so big but it is dry type. Lol. Guess the taste should be good and popular, thats why price starts from $6. I noticed those popular food usually min price is at least $5 and above. Dont think they would sell $3/4 la.

Breakfast - Home baked cake from neighbour 😋😋😋😋

20201102_214145_resize_73.thumb.jpg.2a8c20ccfa47c53395868228e887c806.jpg

Followed with some seedless grapes - Sweet n crunchy. 

20201101_125639_resize_5.jpg.51776ace5cd0e3080bf23b4cac9f46c5.jpg

Lunch - Ayam Penyet from Parkway Parade Food Republic 😋😋😋

Nice and Chicken is tasty. Promo at $5.80 instead of $7.50. Egg add extra $1. 

20201103_134914_resize_5.jpg.e1c6df947f5f5c40450df13c2f8bdcf2.jpg

Stay safe all. 

20201103_140756_resize_45.jpg.b5905bbd303287591c9c153b9012c44d.jpg

• Praise 19