Hons 1st Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 ev road tax based on motor power has long been established ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andersseanx 1st Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, 216d said: I wonder how did LTA calculate the road tax for Tesla when there's no engine? Well, they have decided one year road tax is S$4,618 !!! Maybe it's because can no longer collect petrol tax, that's why must somehow find other ways of crawling back money. But I thought they want to phase out combustion engine and encourage us to buy electric cars ? Everything labeled green is actually more expensive. From food to cars. To the point, I am not sure why I need to go green because saving the earth is at the expense of my pocket. Edited February 9, 2021 by andersseanx 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 43 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Which model is this? The cheapest Model 3 Std Plus sells for 38k USD in US or about 51k SGD. That already includes profits for Tesla factory. If Tesla in Sg can do without fancy showroom (and coffee of course), salesmen/women, fancy workshop (nothing to maintain), yes, possible to make Normal profit margins 10%, 15%. We are too used to abnormal margins of the ADs. Must write email to Tesla not to put coffee and biscuit at showroom. Else @Philipkee will be there every weekend. 🤣 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
216d Neutral Newbie February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 I wonder where the Tesla model 3 for Singapore market are made, Shanghai or California ? Anyone knows ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 20 minutes ago, 216d said: I wonder where the Tesla model 3 for Singapore market are made, Shanghai or California ? Anyone knows ? Shanghai 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 when model y coming to sinkie? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 how to trade in old car to tesla sg? got do OT ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 COE bidding how? tesla help me? or i DIY - ownself bid ownself? if after 3-4 times dun have how? tesla take car and sell to others? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 once Model X come to SG and sell below SGD 200K, Mercs EQA, EQC , Audi E-tron all GAME OVER Liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 once showroom details out dun worry, confirm have SAFE DISTANCE Staff standing there to take your temp and make sure u check in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 insurance how much hah ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 11 hours ago, Volvobrick said: Which model is this? The cheapest Model 3 Std Plus sells for 38k USD in US or about 51k SGD. That already includes profits for Tesla factory. If Tesla in Sg can do without fancy showroom (and coffee of course), salesmen/women, fancy workshop (nothing to maintain), yes, possible to make Normal profit margins 10%, 15%. We are too used to abnormal margins of the ADs. While I am aware of the selling price in US (which already include profits by Tesla), it sort of make little sense to price it with profit and declare the total amount as its OMV. I derived the OMV from the estimated ARF from Tesla Singapore website, and when I input the figure into my costing spreadsheet, this is what I got. If the selling price is what ST article has claimed (i.e. $145K - $215K), Tesla is going to make a lost for every car sold. In fact, I have discovered another potential error with the info provide on Tesla website, i.e. the road tax payable. Using this formula from LTA, the 12 month road tax for Standard Range Plus (239KW) and Performance (377KW) variant should be $4,626 and $8,078 respectively (including a lump sum tax of $200/yr for EV). 11 hours ago, sinistral said: I think they have to first incentivise potential customers to their cars first. Don't need to earn a profit via selling cars itself. Once they get to monopolise the EV market, the profit will trickle in through selling maintenance packages and Supercharger uses for example. Not logistical for Tesla to adopt such pricing strategy just to attract new customers, especially when they are going to make a lost. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icantdriveyet Neutral Newbie February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 8 hours ago, Carbon82 said: While I am aware of the selling price in US (which already include profits by Tesla), it sort of make little sense to price it with profit and declare the total amount as its OMV. I derived the OMV from the estimated ARF from Tesla Singapore website, and when I input the figure into my costing spreadsheet, this is what I got. If the selling price is what ST article has claimed (i.e. $145K - $215K), Tesla is going to make a lost for every car sold. In fact, I have discovered another potential error with the info provide on Tesla website, i.e. the road tax payable. Using this formula from LTA, the 12 month road tax for Standard Range Plus (239KW) and Performance (377KW) variant should be $4,626 and $8,078 respectively (including a lump sum tax of $200/yr for EV). Not logistical for Tesla to adopt such pricing strategy just to attract new customers, especially when they are going to make a lost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 Already got local review liao. 🙄 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 10 hours ago, sinistral said: I think they have to first incentivise potential customers to their cars first. Don't need to earn a profit via selling cars itself. Once they get to monopolise the EV market, the profit will trickle in through selling maintenance packages and Supercharger uses for example. Agree. I dun doubt Carbon82 drilling in the nos, but there are times where new tech or aggressive penetrating strategy is needed, this can happens. If Amazon or Grab were to be commercially viable from Day 1, they would have been shut down pretty fast. But it's also possible Tesla folks may have made a mistake of sorts without know the real numbers here, since they not using an experienced distribution network. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hansmith 2nd Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 The actual road tax for the Tesla Model 3 is: 2021: $2,526 2022: $2,726 2023++: $3,026 The figures stated in earlier posts are wrong. The youtube review shown above is also wrong. That's an old model. The model in Singapore is the 2021 model. You can youtube it. As for Tesla's pricing, a theoretical calculation doesn't prove that they lose money per car. The fact is that you do not know what is their production cost per car. OMV is not the production cost of the car. OMV is the open market value of the car. Cheers! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafirag 1st Gear February 9, 2021 Share February 9, 2021 I'm glad that Tesla is coming in with a sane pricing strategy that socks it to the PML and C&C. Sillyporeans have been suckered long enough paying obscene markups to these AD's. I'm looking forward to the availability of the Model Y here which hopefully will see the Telsa charging network spring up in parallel. I reckon Kia must be worried who is going to buy their Stingers now. 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 10, 2021 Share February 10, 2021 18 hours ago, Univ3r5e said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/tesla-singapore-sales-portal-goes-live "Even taxi companies are considering Teslas. Out of the main four cab operators contacted, Trans-Cab and Premier said they would consider adding the American car to their fleet" Something to consider eh 😎 Many grab driver will convert to taxi. Drive tesla, chiet anyone until u also cannot smell smoke ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...