23 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Big front HID ... :wub:

Some members here called it 'Airbag' :secret-laugh:

Some called it "safety vest" 😁

1 hour ago, Icedbs said:

I find it quite ok.....sounded very retro, like songs from the 40s.  But the emulation of the trumpet notes, that is not necessary. 

Maybe I old school...but I can understand why the younger audience will find it hard to appreciate.

Edmw folks complaining about her pupupu... 

42 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Why no one talk about the violinist beside her. :slow:

Chio ... [thumbsup]

The violinist was the highlight of that performance...😁

45 minutes ago, Estrangable said:

@Heartlander U mistaken... i am just surprised that people still watches mediacorp shows and are genuinely interested in their awards cos there are so many options available . Even my mum stopped watching these and started on korean stuffs. Folks my age group dont even bother tuning into TV stations anymore actually. Just my 2 cents. Peace. 

No worries. Posting here does not mean we are watching the dramas, not that there is anything wrong with that in the first place. 

I still have fond memories of tuning in to these weekly comedy nights when much younger especially the 梁婆婆 segments really hilarious. I even have had few minutes of fame taking part in a game show whereby the 4 participants have to stand in a row, put on headphones, and try to guess and repeat the phrase down the line. Managed to win a few hundred dollars haha.

2 hours ago, Icedbs said:

I find it quite ok.....sounded very retro, like songs from the 40s.  But the emulation of the trumpet notes, that is not necessary. 

Maybe I old school...but I can understand why the younger audience will find it hard to appreciate.

that is her signature lor. not a fan of it since the first time i heard it on Sing China.

not like Jane Zhang doing the high pitch thingy ... 

1 hour ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Why no one talk about the violinist beside her. :slow:

Chio ... [thumbsup]

yes. [laugh]

violinist is ke yi :wub:

13 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

I just wana say, if locals dont support local productions, who will?

I still watch Mediacorp Ch5, Ch8 and CNA.

channel U also got some informative stuff.

30 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Fully agreed. 

Some shows are really not bad, give them a chance. The current 9pm show is quite good.

7 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Fully agreed. 

Some shows are really not bad, give them a chance. The current 9pm show is quite good.

last night Joanne Peh cook for James Seah ...

i also wanna eat her omelette ... slurp.

12 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Fully agreed. 

I like channel U better, esp those variety/documented show.

7 minutes ago, Blueray said:

last night Joanne Peh cook for James Seah ...

i also wanna eat her omelette ... slurp.

Joanne peh acted well in this show.

4 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Joanne peh acted well in this show.

yes, quite likely Best Actress for next Star Awards. she did not over-act her medical condition. some actresses tend to over-act when they have to show special needs or medical conditions. 

maybe Best Actor for James Seah too ? 

3 hours ago, Icedbs said:

It's definitely subpar and doesn't follow the feel of the original song.
Haha the "trumpet" and the 2nd chorus was bit wtf.

But no need to criticise too much also lah. 

2 hours ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Went through her song. Good. Nothing wrong. Nothing cringe worthy.

Just a different interpretation of the original version. Both original and this version are ok.

10 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

Went through her song. Good. Nothing wrong. Nothing cringe worthy.

Just a different interpretation of the original version. Both original and this version are ok.

haha original is signficantly better than this leh. 

And that's being kind. Nothing against artistic interpretation. But the lyrics, tune and mood of the song is contrary to her interpretation.

That's why it's so jarring. If it's not so jarring, not so many people will be voicing out liddat.

16 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

It's definitely subpar and doesn't follow the feel of the original song.
Haha the "trumpet" and the 2nd chorus was bit wtf.

But no need to criticise too much also lah. 

i was looking at the violin player and Paige when the camera panned, not really listening, so quite zen  ...

1 hour ago, Adrianli said:

I know batam or jb ppl got watch channel u channel 8🤪

My SIL and MIL still watch mediacorp. But of course also not as hiong as last time.

Hah she was watching it on mewatch when we were having dinner on sunday.