Actan72 5th Gear May 14, 2021 Share May 14, 2021 how come no NYC umbrage in the latest conference ??? is he frozen !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 14, 2021 Share May 14, 2021 12 minutes ago, Actan72 said: how come no NYC umbrage in the latest conference ??? is he frozen !!! He stays in listco SPH lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged May 14, 2021 Share May 14, 2021 16 minutes ago, inlinesix said: He stays in listco SPH lo. He basically let go of the HARD part of the business and retain the EASY part. Confirm next FY jump to profit and take the credit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 14, 2021 Share May 14, 2021 4 minutes ago, t0y0ta said: He basically let go of the HARD part of the business and retain the EASY part. Confirm next FY jump to profit and take the credit. Look at the segmental P&L of SPH for FY2019/2020. Profit before tax (after removing Fair Value Change) of Property Segment declined from $181m (2019) to $153m (2020). Property segment will always make $$. On the other hand, media business model still stuck on old revenue model (advertising). That's why KBW said a new business model is required to generate revenue. Accordingly, that's why SPH Media is sourcing a Singaporean with worldview as CEO. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 15, 2021 Share May 15, 2021 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged May 15, 2021 Share May 15, 2021 On 5/13/2021 at 9:07 PM, yishunite said: Even Calvin Cheng buay tahan https://theindependent.sg/calvin-cheng-asks-why-two-retirees-in-their-late-60s-were-called-in-to-run-sph-media-trust/ Where is the talent pool? Actually more like since when gahmen ever trust younger ppl to make decisions? he say recruit people like the DBS CEO.. you know what he talking about.. all talent is not global. none in sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 15, 2021 Share May 15, 2021 On 5/6/2021 at 3:15 PM, Wt_know said: MCF become non profit … downsize to Intel386 PC? lol You mean @kobayashiGT has to return his laptop and change to a 386 PC. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 15, 2021 Share May 15, 2021 On 5/14/2021 at 8:34 AM, Actan72 said: how come no NYC umbrage in the latest conference ??? is he frozen !!! If he's start showing up at the office of another GLC... there employees panic... If he start showing up walk around at some GRC... EVERYBODY there panics..🤯🤯... maybe tanjong pagar again?🤣🤣🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 20, 2021 Share May 20, 2021 No Umbrage please. Raise your words, not your voice. It is the rain that grows the flowers,never the thunder. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 Was reading the Saturday Straits Times and Life section (for motoring) after a long while. Wow! Less than 10 paid adverts (don't count govt advisories and SPH own self promote their radio stations etc) in total in entire paper. And the most shocking thing is that in Motoring Life, only 1 car dealer advertise - AUDI. No surprise most of the articles are on Audi. I recall in the past Saturday papers will have all ADs advertising - Borneo (Toyota + Lexus both have ads); C&C; BMW, Merc etc Straits Times is becoming government announcement memo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 4 minutes ago, t0y0ta said: Straits Times is becoming government announcement memo? just what do you mean by "becoming..." all these years you never read ST before ah??? According to our great warrior businessman... full imperial title.... Mr Umbrage GLC Sinkus Maximus , they are :"...continuing the good work..." 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 1 hour ago, t0y0ta said: Was reading the Saturday Straits Times and Life section (for motoring) after a long while. Wow! Less than 10 paid adverts (don't count govt advisories and SPH own self promote their radio stations etc) in total in entire paper. And the most shocking thing is that in Motoring Life, only 1 car dealer advertise - AUDI. No surprise most of the articles are on Audi. I recall in the past Saturday papers will have all ADs advertising - Borneo (Toyota + Lexus both have ads); C&C; BMW, Merc etc Straits Times is becoming government announcement memo? Not just AD ads, all other ads also shrunk. My newspaper is getting thinner over the past 18 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 21 hours ago, inlinesix said: Not just AD ads, all other ads also shrunk. My newspaper is getting thinner over the past 18 months. This is a supply and demand issue also lah. Businesses wanna to have more targeting power for their ads where print ads cannot provide. The future of ST should focus on online newspaper subscription. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 I still have a stack of unflipped ST during late ah gong passing period...hope can sell for a profit...either fat profit or fat hope 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 15 minutes ago, mersaylee said: I still have a stack of unflipped ST during late ah gong passing period...hope can sell for a profit...either fat profit or fat hope 😁 Just make sure your house are free from termites. I scare got holes. hahhahha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 If anybody bother to scan the horizon, if you think SPH is in deep deep trouble, wait this pandemic blows over. Hints: Hyflux, SIA, etc. Then you realized we, SPH, is not that bad after all. We may not be among the best and neither are we among the worse. Every morning before I start work, I put on my uniform to remind myself that I needed to be discipline. Discipline enough to see SPH turnaround. Unfortunately, recent umbrage had left few to believe. Therefore I have to work extra hard to make sure it works. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 Honestly, there are not much 'news' in ST. It is just a daily routine habits that I need to read something every early morning. Now that it come in a form of tablet, I also tends to search internet than reading from ST. MCF has more news now. haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 44 minutes ago, Ash2017 said: If anybody bother to scan the horizon, if you think SPH is in deep deep trouble, wait this pandemic blows over. Hints: Hyflux, SIA, etc. Then you realized we, SPH, is not that bad after all. We may not be among the best and neither are we among the worse. Every morning before I start work, I put on my uniform to remind myself that I needed to be discipline. Discipline enough to see SPH turnaround. Unfortunately, recent umbrage had left few to believe. Therefore I have to work extra hard to make sure it works. I think SIA is in super deep shit. COVID does not look like it will blow over anytime in early 2020s The USA airlines and China airlines all still can service their internal routes. SIA is stuck paying lease as well as maintenance for all its planes and most of its staff, with minimal revenue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...