Discoburg Supersonic June 13, 2021 Author Share June 13, 2021 34 minutes ago, Tohto said: I like this store, both the BCM and curry chicken noodle. Portion is always quite big and BCM they put a lot of lard. There are a few ‘famous’ noodles stall. The one beside this stall also have its own fame. Appeared on tv before but not for food. At the back there is also stall that uses two stalls. Also have queue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 13, 2021 Author Share June 13, 2021 12 minutes ago, Hamburger said: I like enchik tan sotong rice add another chicken cutlet. Yum yum for less than 10 bucks. Let’s eat is nicer then Encik tan to me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 3 minutes ago, Discoburg said: There are a few ‘famous’ noodles stall. The one beside this stall also have its own fame. Appeared on tv before but not for food. At the back there is also stall that uses two stalls. Also have queue. The store directly beside us equally good. They have their own supporter. Queue is almost same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 13, 2021 Author Share June 13, 2021 46 minutes ago, Tohto said: The store directly beside us equally good. They have their own supporter. Queue is almost same. I know but am not fans of bi=oth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 1 hour ago, Discoburg said: There are a few ‘famous’ noodles stall. The one beside this stall also have its own fame. Appeared on tv before but not for food. At the back there is also stall that uses two stalls. Also have queue. I tried all 3 stalls before, not sure why have queue 😅. taste for all 3 is similar, I will eat only if there is no queue. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 13, 2021 Author Share June 13, 2021 15 minutes ago, RH1667 said: I tried all 3 stalls before, not sure why have queue 😅. taste for all 3 is similar, I will eat only if there is no queue. Same here 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 Jiak soft cake 20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 3 hours ago, Tohto said: Kovan HC. No dine in also long queue. Queue about 25mins. Dabao curry chicken bee tai bak and BCM, never took photo. I noticed during no dine-in for some eatery queue is longer and more people buying than during dine-in. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 Just now, 13177 said: I noticed during no dine-in for some eatery queue is longer and more people buying than during dine-in. Longer queue might be more time is needed for packing. So slow down the order and preparing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 On 6/11/2021 at 7:14 PM, Tohto said: Will the noodle become soggy after dabao? Not soggy for me, but probably also because my traveling distance is a short 15 - 20 min. I find that the noodle is less likely to be soggy in plastic container than plastic bag. BTW, even with no dine-in, the Q is still quite long (~20 min), a big contrast with the other stall at the food centre. On 6/11/2021 at 6:47 PM, Lala81 said: Err all fish soup stall predominantly older people queue one la. Middle aged and above is the norm.... Ive never seen any youngster want to eat fish soup except when they are sick. No wonder I have been called uncle since my teenage day 'cos I always Q for fish soup... or was it I really chao lao? On 6/11/2021 at 8:08 PM, Wolfverine said: Finally tried this baker - overall satisfied and our favs are chocolate flourless, banana loaf and the pandan teacake. Decided to queue for the braised duck rice as well - 45mins wait. Too hungry and only remembered to take photo of duck rice after demolishing part of it 🤣 I can't help but associate the lady without head in your photo with the name of the stall... For braised duck rice, I am with you about the one at Alexandra Market. The lor and duck is authentic teochew style. On 6/12/2021 at 8:55 AM, Othello said: what a blissful man ! Yes, what more can I asked for? I am surprised when my daughter told me she want to cook the soup for our dinner, and this is her 1st attempt (on her own). 100 marks for her effort. On 6/12/2021 at 12:53 PM, Othello said: Foch one is original, Circuit Road one can forget about it. Someday I would like to try another linked shop --> Authentic Mun Chee Kee King of Pig's Organ Soup - 正正文志记猪什汤大王. 207 Jalan Besar Road, I have been eating at their Foch Road branch since early 2000s but their standard did dropped a little over the years. Didn't know they have another stall at Circuit Road, but there is another one at Clementi Central hawker centre, which really cannot make it. So this 正正文志记猪什汤大王 is also by them? Will try if I am nearby. 4 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Lucky you then! 😁 Lucky to celebrate early? My girl said to be fair to her mum, only 1 cake for Father's day lor. Maybe I can ask her to bake something else? 16 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 1 hour ago, RH1667 said: I tried all 3 stalls before, not sure why have queue 😅. taste for all 3 is similar, I will eat only if there is no queue. Honestly. any of these fishball/BCM noodles, as long as 6/10 and above, i really don't feel any difference. Maybe cos not handmade. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: Not soggy for me, but probably also because my traveling distance is a short 15 - 20 min. I find that the noodle is less likely to be soggy in plastic container than plastic bag. BTW, even with no dine-in, the Q is still quite long (~20 min), a big contrast with the other stall at the food centre. No wonder I have been called uncle since my teenage day 'cos I always Q for fish soup... or was it I really chao lao? I can't help but associate the lady without head in your photo with the name of the stall... For braised duck rice, I am with you about the one at Alexandra Market. The lor and duck is authentic teochew style. Yes, what more can I asked for? I am surprised when my daughter told me she want to cook the soup for our dinner, and this is her 1st attempt (on her own). 100 marks for her effort. I have been eating at their Foch Road branch since early 2000s but their standard did dropped a little over the years. Didn't know they have another stall at Circuit Road, but there is another one at Clementi Central hawker centre, which really cannot make it. So this 正正文志记猪什汤大王 is also by them? Will try if I am nearby. Lucky to celebrate early? My girl said to be fair to her mum, only 1 cake for Father's day lor. Maybe I can ask her to bake something else? Lucky to celebrate twice. 😁 You have taught your daughter well and your future son in law is a lucky man. Make sure he has the ISO standard hor. 🤣 For the pig organ soup, there’s 1 at Sam Leong Road too and it claimed it’s the original one. Give it a try next time. Near to Foch Road. Edited June 13, 2021 by Fcw75 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 My go to for pig organ soup for now. Helps that usually bo lang on a busy Sunday morning at chong pang. Other stalls long queue. This stalls pig organ soup is quite underappreciated. Nothing special about the ingredients but the soup and chilli is decent. 16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 21 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: I can't help but associate the lady without head in your photo with the name of the stall... For braised duck rice, I am with you about the one at Alexandra Market. The lor and duck is authentic teochew style. Now that you mentioned 🤣 After eating that lor ark, can hope over AJ to buy muffins also! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 30 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Lucky to celebrate twice. 😁 You have taught your daughter well and your future son in law is a lucky man. Make sure he has the ISO standard hor. 🤣 For the pig organ soup, there’s 1 at Sam Leong Road too and it claimed it’s the original one. Give it a try next time. Near to Foch Road. Not easy to find young generation (born in mid 80s & 90s) knows how to cook or even bake. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 (edited) 9 minutes ago, 13177 said: Not easy to find young generation (born in mid 80s & 90s) knows how to cook or even bake. hmm i think it's opposite actually. youtube has democratized learning of baking and cooking techniques. And obviously Covid-19 has accelerated the process. People don't cook nowadays because they don't have the time. Or they delegate to helper or their grandparents. Last time u only have fang tai or Martin Yan. Now there are multiple cooking shows online. All manner of cuisines. Lots of people know how to do baking. Or else how u see so many home bakers on IG and online? And supermarkets have made accessing ingredients so easy. Everything labeled or all in one section. Online shopping even lagi better. Everything got special mixes and pastes for simple cooking. Dont need to make rempah, just stir fry the paste etc. Special sauces all in a bottle. In contrast, I only know about 70% of the vegetables in the wet market. Certainly some stuff that mostly malay/indian cuisine one i won't know. And they have their own groceries stall at the markets. And there's still many items at the dry goods stall i never even touch though i mostly roughly know what they are. The reason they don't cook is they don't want to, simple. Either no time, or rather just eat out. If u have a reason to cook like cooking for your family, the sky is the limit as a home cook, as evidenced by Loki's helper and TC's wife. Lol. Edited June 13, 2021 by Lala81 5 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 1 hour ago, Carbon82 said: I have been eating at their Foch Road branch since early 2000s but their standard did dropped a little over the years. Didn't know they have another stall at Circuit Road, but there is another one at Clementi Central hawker centre, which really cannot make it. So this 正正文志记猪什汤大王 is also by them? Will try if I am nearby. Jalan Besar one seems to be the founder ⬇️⬇️⬇️ . I just came across this article. I have always eaten at Foch Road, now I know I'm keen to try the "original" 1 hour ago, Fcw75 said: For the pig organ soup, there’s 1 at Sam Leong Road too and it claimed it’s the original one. Give it a try next time. Near to Foch Road. this is the same one lah. ⬆️⬆️ Exact Address is Jalan Besar Road 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 13, 2021 Share June 13, 2021 Bought earlier. Reheated at work. Not ho jiak but not pai jiak also. ↡ Advertisement 18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...