13177 Hypersonic June 14, 2021 Share June 14, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, BabyBlade said: https://mothership.sg/2021/06/bukit-merah-dumplings-firewood-complaint/ Lai. Confess. Who is this? Luckily got age if not first person I suspect is @Hamburger@Hamburger. Heh. Is this another woman who uses firewood to make dumplings? Thought there was also reported one woman using firewood to make dumplings at corridor area? Edited June 14, 2021 by 13177 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 My third round of 东园 nonya First round 3 weeks ago Second round 2 weeks ago Yesterday's price the most expensive...😅 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 16 hours ago, Mkl22 said: Don’t remember any mushrooms in my nonya chang all these years. And nonya chang is all I eat. Also since when is nonya chang wrapped in pandan leaf? the leaf so skinny can wrap? or? thus some of these info graphics…. Cannot believe one . The mushrooms, if any, are all minced up. No whole shitake mushroom like some other types of zhangs. They put a small piece of pandan leaf on the rice just before it's being wrapped with bamboo leaves. But nowadays seldom find nyonya zhang with pandan leaf. I believe it's traditionally being steamed instead of being boiled in water. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 52 minutes ago, mersaylee said: My third round of 东园 nonya First round 3 weeks ago Second round 2 weeks ago Yesterday's price the most expensive...😅 So you were among those people who went queue to buy bak zhang yesterday? Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 28 minutes ago, 13177 said: So you were among those people who went queue to buy bak zhang yesterday? Lol. I won’t bother...got from reseller or gifted... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 15, 2021 Author Share June 15, 2021 I still damn gian Nonya Zhang. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray7456 3rd Gear June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 On 6/13/2021 at 8:26 PM, Discoburg said: Where is this place? Hong Lim food centre, level 2 that's the bak zhang stall that is being featured 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 15, 2021 Author Share June 15, 2021 You guys think the Joo Chiat Kim Choo bak zhang price and queue came down already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 57 minutes ago, Discoburg said: You guys think the Joo Chiat Kim Choo bak zhang price and queue came down already? Bak zhang festival is over liao right? By right price should back to normal and no more queue lo. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 15, 2021 Author Share June 15, 2021 24 minutes ago, 13177 said: Bak zhang festival is over liao right? By right price should back to normal and no more queue lo. Lol. By right but by left leh?! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 53 minutes ago, Discoburg said: By right but by left leh?! By left you must go to the bak zhang stall to see look see look, might have some people still celebrating bak zhang festival today or even for the rest of the week lo. 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 15, 2021 Author Share June 15, 2021 9 minutes ago, 13177 said: By left you must go to the bak zhang stall to see look see look, might have some people still celebrating bak zhang festival today or even for the rest of the week lo. 😂 Then I better go straight. Wait for someone here to donate some to me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 2 hours ago, Discoburg said: You guys think the Joo Chiat Kim Choo bak zhang price and queue came down already? wait another week or 2. for sure no crowds. haha, i'm the sort who will eat steam boat for xmas and steak for CNY. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 22 hours ago, Mkl22 said: Don’t remember any mushrooms in my nonya chang all these years. And nonya chang is all I eat. Also since when is nonya chang wrapped in pandan leaf? the leaf so skinny can wrap? or? thus some of these info graphics…. Cannot believe one . The nonya chang is all minced meat with chopped mushrooms, chestnuts and winter melon candies lah. It is sweet because of the winter melon candies lah. Nonya chang is never wrapped in bamboo leaves, always wrapped in a kind of leaves that looks almost like a pandan leaf, a bigger and harder version of Pandan leaf, without the strong sense of pandan leaf. Are you sure nonya chang is all you eat? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 18 hours ago, BabyBlade said: https://mothership.sg/2021/06/bukit-merah-dumplings-firewood-complaint/ Lai. Confess. Who is this? Luckily got age if not first person I suspect is @Hamburger@Hamburger. Heh. errrrr.................85 yrs old woman wor.... @Hamburger is the last person to even come to mind, or rather he will scold me to even think of him if I ever asked.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 7 minutes ago, Tianmo said: The nonya chang is all minced meat with chopped mushrooms, chestnuts and winter melon candies lah. It is sweet because of the winter melon candies lah. Nonya chang is never wrapped in bamboo leaves, always wrapped in a kind of leaves that looks almost like a pandan leaf, a bigger and harder version of Pandan leaf, without the strong sense of pandan leaf. Are you sure nonya chang is all you eat? usually eat kim choo nonya chang. never tasted any chestnut inside. maybe got chopped mushrooms but never noticed any. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 (edited) Sorry I don't have any recommendations because my late grandmother's bak zhang is the best ever. The leaves she used, the fatty pork, chestnut, mushroom and glutinous rice are the best combi. To me the dragon boat festival is not about the Qu Yuan story, boat race or bak zhang but a day of remembrance for my late relatives, esp my grandma. Edited June 15, 2021 by Weez911 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 15, 2021 Share June 15, 2021 5 hours ago, mersaylee said: I won’t bother...got from reseller or gifted... When you say reseller first thing I can think of is scalpers on Carouhell lmao. Buy bazhang then sell on Carousell hahaha, like bak kwa. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...