Keep changing battery

Bluepica

My ride is only slightly less than 5 yrs old and this is the 3rd time I am changing the battery.. both also Amaron. Current one already flat twice. There is no telltale before it went flat totally (like poor engine cranking sound)

mine is an OPC 

Is this normal ?

I remember my last ride Avante 10yrs only changed only 2x 

7 minutes ago, Bluepica said:

My ride is only slightly less than 5 yrs old and this is the 3rd time I am changing the battery.. both also Amaron. Current one already flat twice. There is no telltale before it went flat totally (like poor engine cranking sound)

mine is an OPC 

Is this normal ?

15 Months a Battery seem like Normal for a Korean Make.

OPC means sit in the carpark hardly driven. Hardly drive means battery hardly get charged by the alternator.

Aiya, switch to BlueSG lah. Fuss free hassle free.

Really dont understand the opc scheme. Buy car park in the carpark, not fully utilized.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

Time to get a lithium jump starter. Cheaper than replacing the battery if it is an occasional issue. 

Once the lead acid battery falls below 50% charge the car alternator is not able to charge it back to 100%. It needs a car battery maintainer/charger to charge it back up.

For OPC, it's "normal" to have an undercharged battery.

When you switch off the engine, it doesn't mean the car don't use the battery. There are parasitic loads that continue to draw current from the battery. So if the car is left alone for too long, like OPC, the battery can go flat. There are loads that is tied to always "Hot" of the battery, they don't go through the ignition switch, like your remote control, otherwise, you can't lock or unlock the door, without starting the engine.

Cabin lights, hazards lights, brake lights, are also tied to always hot. They can drain a battery flat, if left on, or something goes wrong with the brake switch.

And lastly, if you install camera, which record on parking mode, it's also tied to the always "hot" side of the battery.

The solution is not easy, unless you can pull out the battery to be charged off an AC charger. Otherwise, you have to start the engine periodically to let the alternator charge the battery.

Otherwise, invest in a lithium-ion jump starter.

1 hour ago, Bluepica said:

mine is an OPC 

Is this normal ?

What do you mean the current one already flat twice? Twice within a year? Or twice within 2 years? Or twice within 6 months? 

Paiseh, England not always very precise, that's how lawyers earn their moolah. 😁

Mine went flat within 6 months. Fault traced to power window. Window no come down or go up but the motor is dreaming 25 hours, I mean 24 hours daily. Changed that and all's well. 

During lockdown, circuit breakers and whatever, less driving out, the car cam drained the battery like Dracula sucking blood cos not enough mileage to charge itself. I got an external car cam battery (Carecell LifePo4) and car battery been well since. 

But these days, batteries are lazier, not as long lasting as their granddaddy - battery era. 

Stay safe 

The battery now is already 2.5yrs old, flattened 2 twice for past 6 months…

I just found the fault.. it’s my Thinkware F750… I checked the recording, it’s been recording every min every movement in the MSCP … the last recording shows the battery level only 5.2V !! 

I checked the cam settings , it’s in recording mode and the cut off recording battery level is 12.2V …

but it’s still recording when battery falls below this threshold value. But I think it’s intermittent fault ..  I think when the batt flattened 6 months ago, the same trait happened, n I set the cam to lower sensitivity n try to park the car whereby not much movement detected…

now I dunno to change the battery or not .

2 hours ago, Bluepica said:

mine is an OPC 

Is this normal ?

i think you seldom drive. Time to time you to need to drive the car and charge the battery. . .

29 minutes ago, Bluepica said:

I just found the fault.. it’s my Thinkware F750… I checked the recording, it’s been recording every min every movement in the MSCP … the last recording shows the battery level only 5.2V !! 

I checked the cam settings , it’s in recording mode and the cut off recording battery level is 12.2V …

but it’s still recording when battery falls below this threshold value. But I think it’s intermittent fault ..  I think when the batt flattened 6 months ago, the same trait happened, n I set the cam to lower sensitivity n try to park the car whereby not much movement detected…

If u changed to new battery but the Thinkware continues to bypass your battery settings to cut off at certain %, you will end up with another flat battery. 

Perhaps u may want to consider getting an external battery pack (one that can record for like 24/48 hours without drawing from your car battery and needs only like an hour to be fully charged, when u drive). 

Or you consider setting car cam to record upon impact (this may sometimes be "useless" as recording may not have vital footage prior to impact.) 

Or change car cam altogether. 

There are quite a few sellers on carousel for both items ie car cam and external battery pack. 

I only caution used units which may not be in optimum working condition especially external battery packs which generally can take between 2,000-4,000 cycles which is about 2 - 3 years optimum lifespan. Beyond that, their charging cycle deteriorates eg instead of 24 hours recording, it can now only record up to 10,12 hours. 

Think bro @Fcw75has a good contact/shop installer in Toa Payoh which if you try saying his name, can get free, oops, I mean a discount?

😂😂 Pls dun kill me.

Just sharing. Cos I have had mine done recently, the experience is fresh in my mind to share. 

Hope you get this issue resolved per your desire. 

Stay safe 

Edited by PSP415

24 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

If u changed to new battery but the Thinkware continues to bypass your battery settings to cut off at certain %, you will end up with another flat battery. 

Perhaps u may want to consider getting an external battery pack (one that can record for like 24/48 hours without drawing from your car battery and needs only like an hour to be fully charged, when u drive). 

Or you consider setting car cam to record upon impact (this may sometimes be "useless" as recording may not have vital footage prior to impact.) 

Or change car cam altogether. 

There are quite a few sellers on carousel for both items ie car cam and external battery pack. 

I only caution used units which may not be in optimum working condition especially external battery packs which generally can take between 2,000-4,000 cycles which is about 2 - 3 years optimum lifespan. Beyond that, their charging cycle deteriorates eg instead of 24 hours recording, it can now only record up to 10,12 hours. 

Think bro @Fcw75has a good contact/shop installer in Toa Payoh which if you try saying his name, can get free, oops, I mean a discount?

😂😂 Pls dun kill me.

Just sharing. Cos I have had mine done recently, the experience is fresh in my mind to share. 

Hope you get this issue resolved per your desire. 

Stay safe 

The boss is called Darren but only I know him, he doesn't know me...hahaha.

Shop name is Autotrend. I find quite good la but it's so near to CNY liao.

2.5 years battery.....time to change lo. 

7 hours ago, Bluepica said:

You may wish to install a supplementary battery for your Thinkware. My son's new car battery went flat. So got it replaced. The new battery went flat after only a few months. I jump started for him and he drove to the dealer. They recommended to install the sub battery. It is not cheap. It costs about $400. Since then, there are not problems!

10 hours ago, PSP415 said:

What do you mean the current one already flat twice? Twice within a year? Or twice within 2 years? Or twice within 6 months? 

Paiseh, England not always very precise, that's how lawyers earn their moolah. 😁

Mine went flat within 6 months. Fault traced to power window. Window no come down or go up but the motor is dreaming 25 hours, I mean 24 hours daily. Changed that and all's well. 

During lockdown, circuit breakers and whatever, less driving out, the car cam drained the battery like Dracula sucking blood cos not enough mileage to charge itself. I got an external car cam battery (Carecell LifePo4) and car battery been well since. 

But these days, batteries are lazier, not as long lasting as their granddaddy - battery era. 

Stay safe 

Can share your car make and model 😁😅

10 hours ago, Bluepica said:

You can jump start and let the alternator charged the battery, but it will take a long time since it's now at 5.2V. At least an hour of leaving the engine running. But that use petrol, and since your battery is 2.5 yrs old, no point trying to save it.

Easier to change the battery.

Camera is a usual culprit. I get many people (whom I rescued) telling me they set the voltage high enough. But what no one knows is how the cam behave. It's electronic and could be badly designed, like you found out, it doesn't stop running, even if you think you set correctly. So usually, I don't argue with people, it is what it is.

@Kb27 

3 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

You can jump start and let the alternator charged the battery, but it will take a long time since it's now at 5.2V. At least an hour of leaving the engine running. But that use petrol, and since your battery is 2.5 yrs old, no point trying to save it.

Camera is a usual culprit. I get many people (whom I rescued) telling me they set the voltage high enough. But what no one knows is how the cam behave. It's electronic and could be badly designed, like you found out, it doesn't stop running, even if you think you set correctly. So usually, I don't argue with people, it is what it is.

I’ll try to disable cam parking mode when i’m not driving for a few days . Will get batt change ASAP too. Thx bro . 

1 hour ago, Kb27 said:

Yup agreed. Typically it’s the camera. 
anyway lead acid batteries do not like to be discharged to a low voltage at a low current. They are designed for high current output for starter motor applications. So with more cameras in parking mode you get more lead acid batteries dying. 
anyway good business for you!😂