Jammed wheel nut

Mkl22

First time happened to me. 99% sure it was a tire shop at amk who cross threaded my wheel nuts and then air gunned and jammed it. 
lucky I asked the workshop to rotate my tires while I was there doing servicing. 
managed to get it done in 15mins and $40 poorer. 
Workshop managed to remove the nuts after a few minutes by tightening and loosening a few times using a impact gun. Both nut and screw were damaged in the end. 
but glad it was solved pretty quick. An impact gun can be use but the nut need to be threaded by hand for the 1st few threads. 
unfortunately the shop didn’t have an original nut to replace. Thus I now have an odd one out. Considering to replace them all since all are quite old anyway. 

87F4C509-3FFE-41BA-88ED-C2E64576B161.jpeg

8E8CD5B6-2882-4CDD-936B-5A67531A3DE0.jpeg

• Shocked 2

8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

First time happened to me. 99% sure it was a tire shop at amk who cross threaded my wheel nuts and then air gunned and jammed it. 
lucky I asked the workshop to rotate my tires while I was there doing servicing. 
managed to get it done in 15mins and $40 poorer. 
Workshop managed to remove the nuts after a few minutes by tightening and loosening a few times using a impact gun. Both nut and screw were damaged in the end. 
but glad it was solved pretty quick. An impact gun can be use but the nut need to be threaded by hand for the 1st few threads. 
unfortunately the shop didn’t have an original nut to replace. Thus I now have an odd one out. Considering to replace them all since all are quite old anyway. 

87F4C509-3FFE-41BA-88ED-C2E64576B161.jpeg

8E8CD5B6-2882-4CDD-936B-5A67531A3DE0.jpeg

To change to a new wheel hub, it is not expensive expensive.

7e9b1d5f3188ece1f0cc56f49f365afb15429639

For safety purpose, i will suggest you to change. And if you are changing, just change all 4.

One of the reason why I don't really like tyres shop use impact wrench to secure the bolt.

Everytime I go southeast tyres, The mechanic there will use a torque wrench to help me tighten, which I am very appreciative with.

7 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

For safety purpose, i will suggest you to change. And if you are changing, just change all 4.

One of the reason why I don't really like tyres shop use impact wrench to secure the bolt.

Everytime I go southeast tyres, The mechanic there will use a torque wrench to help me tighten, which I am very appreciative with.

Why need to change hub. Just change the screw and done. 
Only need to change hub if changing the wheel bearing. 

Edited by Mkl22

2 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Why need to change hub. Just change the screw and done. 
Only need to change hub if changing the wheel bearing. 

oh. my theory is since already dismantle liao, might as well change also.

2 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Mine was done in 10-15mins $40. A whole wheel bearing is at least $100 plus and more labour and have to wait to order in the parts. 

32 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

What for change wheel bearing. Change new car best. Best safety best reliability!

• Haha! 11

44 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

actually then SE. anymore tyres shop  u know still using torque wrench😅

i say less then 10% . 3-5 % max or even lesser

Edited by Beregond

I kena exactly the same thing many years ago 

even normal workshop pneumatic impact gun also unable to unscrew it

at the end drove to lorry workshop and use their BF 1" pneumatic impact wrench to unscrew it

when I picked up the nut from the floor, it burnt a blister on my finger, that's how tight it was

I didn't change the entire hub

bought one piece of new wheel stud from stockist

knock out the remnant of the broken stub 

knock in the new one

eddcf882aefd6c49615b927e74e013bd.png

33 minutes ago, Beregond said:

actually then SE. anymore tyres shop  u know still using torque wrench😅

i say less then 10% . 3-5 % max or even lesser

The best bet hor is you buy your own torque wrench and leave it inside your boot.

When change tyres, take out and pass the mechanic. hahahahahaha.

Like that 100% of the tyre shop in SG have torque wrench.

46 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

What for change wheel bearing. Change new car best. Best safety best reliability!

Ahhhhh! I forgot! This is MCF.

Anything not happy change car one!

Wansui to 100K COE! hahahahahahaha 😭

Just now, kobayashiGT said:

The best bet hor is you buy your own torque wrench and leave it inside your boot.

I am very tempted to do that

but I worry I will hurt the feelings of the mechanic

wait he says - you so clever you do it yourself lor

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

The hub is not a wear and tear item. So I don't think is necessary to change unless u want to make the ws owner happy.

If bearings worn, yes. Can change both sides or all 4s. 

2 minutes ago, Phang said:

I recently tried Stamford mobile service just want to see how they do it. Impressed I must say. Even the mobile service used a torque wrench for the final tightening. 

Just now, Stratovarius said:

I recently tried Stamford mobile service just want to see how they do it. Impressed I must say. Even the mobile service used a torque wrench for the final tightening. 

I did tire rotation at home last week, it's hard work

I'll pay someone to do it if they do it properly 

9 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

My guess is 90% of the mechanics never seen a torque wrench before and will just tighten using it without setting the torque!

6 minutes ago, Phang said:

they are not going to use their finger slowly turn the nuts in and then use the torque wench, they will use the impact wench then use the torque wench . 😂

to those that really want to protect your nuts and rim and really buy a torque wench.

my best advice is must have a regular ws , they already know your pattern, and before u even suggest this, must inform u willing to pay extra like 20 buks for their time.