Class 5 also. Just heavier.

Bus and if u want to pull a trailer need another lisense 

On 1/22/2026 at 2:24 PM, Beregond said:

Lorry loh. Lol.

Class 5 also. Just heavier.

Bus and if u want to pull a trailer need another lisense 

Oh. one of my estate neighbour has a ford raptor + sometimes tow a trailer for his mountain bike etc. 

On 1/22/2026 at 2:07 PM, Beregond said:

Got alot of FT also taking the test right.

I take 3 trys. About 20 years ago.

😅

Last time still at taman jurong..

Plenty of nehs

On 1/22/2026 at 2:52 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Plenty of nehs

they are pretty ok when they first get their license and still have the P plate. after that terror on the roads. 

should tie their work permit to traffic offenses.

On 1/22/2026 at 2:22 PM, Lala81 said:

What can class 4 drive?

Vehicles exceeding unladen 2.5T for passengers and Vehicles unladen <=7.25T not built for heavy load

In singlish - Heavy lorry (Y plates) and SBS buses (if u have a Bus driver vocational licence)

Edited by Wildfaye29
add info

On 1/22/2026 at 4:15 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Vehicles exceeding unladen 2.5T for passengers and Vehicles unladen <=7.25T not built for heavy load

In singlish - Heavy lorry (Y plates) and SBS buses (if u have a Bus driver vocational licence)

I fogot the actual numbers.

But certain Y plate . I believe class 3 also can drive.

Small 10f lorry got Y plate now. Class 3 confirm can drive. 

14f lorry Y plate. I forgot.  Last time can.

On 1/22/2026 at 5:37 PM, Beregond said:

I fogot the actual numbers.

But certain Y plate . I believe class 3 also can drive.

Small 10f lorry got Y plate now. Class 3 confirm can drive. 

14f lorry Y plate. I forgot.  Last time can.

Lta distinguish by unladen and laden weight 

They don't go by length or size.

All G plate are light goods vehicle LGV. Class 3.

All Y plate are heavy goods vehicle HGV. Class 4.

Some Y plates are short like 10 to 14 ft. But only class 4 can drive because of the weight of goods they are able to carry.

SBS buses are long so are they class 5? No. Because carry pax. Bus full load not as heavy as commercial goods of the same length. Class 4 can already.

All X plate are class 5. They are usually the 车头 that drag trailers and containers.

On 1/22/2026 at 7:47 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Some Y plates are short like 10 to 14 ft. But only class 4 can drive because of the weight of goods they are able to carry.

SBS buses are long so are they class 5? No. Because carry pax. Bus full load not as heavy as commercial goods of the same length. Class 4 can already.

All X plate are class 5. They are usually the 车头 that drag trailers and containers.

so all commercial bus is Class 4 can liao lah. Other than the special vocational licence

On 1/22/2026 at 2:36 PM, Lala81 said:

Oh. one of my estate neighbour has a ford raptor + sometimes tow a trailer for his mountain bike etc. 

haha ok i misintepreted the Trailer is those really dua leng kong trailer. Haha not the small one that the Raptor tows which is similar to those overseas in australia type.
Those need special licence? 

On 1/22/2026 at 2:07 PM, Beregond said:

Got alot of FT also taking the test right.

I take 3 trys. About 20 years ago.

😅

Last time still at taman jurong..

Taman Jurong had driving center there 20 years ago?

On 1/22/2026 at 2:56 PM, Mkl22 said:

they are pretty ok when they first get their license and still have the P plate. after that terror on the roads. 

should tie their work permit to traffic offenses.

Yes indeed, they are terror on the road, no matter they are driving class 3 or class 4 vehicles. 

On 1/22/2026 at 4:15 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

So which heavy vehicle you plan to drive after getting the class 4 licence?

On 1/22/2026 at 9:51 PM, 13177 said:

So which heavy vehicle you plan to drive after getting the class 4 licence?

I wan to drive KING KONG!!!

I wan to 为民除害!!!

On 1/23/2026 at 9:19 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

I wan to drive KING KONG!!!

I wan to 为民除害!!!

When is your Unimog cuming🤭

On 1/22/2026 at 7:47 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Not quite true.

For Y-plate, as long as unladen weight (GVW) is below 2500kg - Class 3 can drive. Example - a basic 14-footer. But if that 14-footer has a tailgate, then it exceeds 2500kg, and it goes to Class 4. There will be a plate on the interior to denote that.

Class 4 also allows you to drive any vehicle exceeding GVW 2500kg, Y- or X-plate, with no upper weight limit, as long as it was meant to carry goods. So Class 4 can drive X-plated 24-footers, hooklift trucks, rubbish collection trucks, tipper trucks, which can in cases go above MLW of 28 tonnes.

Class 5 can drive vehicles that are NOT meant to carry goods, like mobile cranes, big tow trucks, prime movers, cement mixers, articulated vehicle etc.

Edited by Toeknee_33

On 1/23/2026 at 9:47 AM, Toeknee_33 said:

Not quite true.

For Y-plate, as long as unladen weight (GVW) is below 2500kg - Class 3 can drive. Example - a basic 14-footer. But if that 14-footer has a tailgate, then it exceeds 2500kg, and it goes to Class 4. There will be a plate on the interior to denote that.

Class 4 also allows you to drive any vehicle exceeding GVW 2500kg, Y- or X-plate, with no upper weight limit, as long as it was meant to carry goods. So Class 4 can drive X-plated 24-footers, hooklift trucks, rubbish collection trucks, tipper trucks, which can in cases go above MLW of 28 tonnes.

Class 5 can drive vehicles that are NOT meant to carry goods, like mobile cranes, big tow trucks, prime movers, cement mixers, articulated vehicle etc.

Bus leh? People is not goods. 

On 1/23/2026 at 9:47 AM, Toeknee_33 said:

Not quite true.

Yes. I see alot of 14f FT driver . Class 3 only. And now all new 10 dyna or hino come with Y plate. All the FT. I dun believe they got class 4. 

I remember last time I take class 5.

The training and test vehicle is a small 6wheel crane. Quite weird. 

Not sure if it's still the same now

Edited by Beregond