On 1/24/2025 at 11:03 PM, inlinesix said:

Ion Orchard

Backside still as ugly.

On 1/25/2025 at 4:48 PM, inlinesix said:

Model 3 AWD can do Penang to KL non-stop. Juniper definitely can Sg to KL.

Maybe at 110km/h, not sure what will be the real world range at 140-150km/h with the occasional surge.

I think range of 600km would be ideal, would cover detour to Melaka for breakfast and Klang for BKT.  

Even if sealion is 10k cheaper I will still gravitate towards model Y. I more ang mo pai… somehow I still find the bland interior and menu structure of the screen more appealing. 

On 1/25/2025 at 5:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

Even if sealion is 10k cheaper I will still gravitate towards model Y. I more ang mo pai… somehow I still find the bland interior and menu structure of the screen more appealing. 

Soon

TB will have a lot of buttons🤭

On 1/25/2025 at 12:07 PM, Sinicker said:

3478/year.

Outgoing Model Y 2206/year.

Yes. I had highlighted in other thread. This is due to 255kw vs 220kw previously . If Tesla can limit it to 230kw like Sealion then road tax will be $2264. 230kw is at the lower tax bracket limit. We could all be better off if Tesla can reduce it by 25kw. Not a big power trade off for big tax savings.

Then again, 255kw is for the Launch edition. Most reviews say there is no change to the motor. So we could get the same 220kw peak power for RWD when the non Launch editions roll out.

Edited by googoogaga

5th Gear
On 1/25/2025 at 5:05 PM, Tohto said:

Backside still as ugly.

Somehow I find old back seems nicer, more presence. The new one looks a bit too "meaty". 😁

On 1/25/2025 at 6:21 PM, inlinesix said:

Soon

TB will have a lot of buttons🤭

They already have..... I chanced upon them. Lots of choices for buttons and speedo. 

On 1/26/2025 at 9:47 PM, Volvobrick said:

They already have..... I chanced upon them. Lots of choices for buttons and speedo. 

Not sure whether the port is compatible btw pre-FL and FL.

Most of it are plug and play 

Feels like a tactical move by Tesla to screw up the first gen model Y design so that the second one can look much better. Like a student who failed miserably in the mids, if just pass for the finals, already win some best progress award. 

Without comparing to the first gen, I would call the design of this 'SUV' acceptable. It's not bad, but I wouldn't say I would have been impressed if it came from Zeekr, Xpeng, byd or even toyota. in the wave of all the other EV SUVs that are already here or making their way, this definitely divides opinions. Are there any non-tesla fans who are won over by the design?

But design aside, the other interior improvements are more notable, like the better sound insulation that they have also improved on in the model 3 and also the said improved suspension that we will have to wait for more test drives to confirm. There's a reason that the model Y is best selling so I guess a non-offensive one would already nudge many to get one. Just stating what I feel though I know Tesla fans will flame me for my non complimentary take on the looks.

Plus, I don't get why reviewers have to be raving that a car has a signal stalk too? Is this supposed to be something to rave about?

Edited by Invigorated

On 1/26/2025 at 10:31 PM, Invigorated said:

Feels like a tactical move by Tesla to screw up the first gen model Y design so that the second one can look much better. Like a student who failed miserably in the mids, if just pass for the finals, already win some best progress award. 

Without comparing to the first gen, I would call the design of this 'SUV' acceptable. It's not bad, but I wouldn't say I would have been impressed if it came from Zeekr, Xpeng, byd or even toyota. in the wave of all the other EV SUVs that are already here or making their way, this definitely divides opinions. Are there any non-tesla fans who are won over by the design?

But design aside, the other interior improvements are more notable, like the better sound insulation that they have also improved on in the model 3 and also the said improved suspension that we will have to wait for more test drives to confirm. There's a reason that the model Y is best selling so I guess a non-offensive one would already nudge many to get one. Just stating what I feel though I know Tesla fans will flame me for my non complimentary take on the looks.

Plus, I don't get why reviewers have to be raving that a car has a signal stalk too? Is this supposed to be something to rave about?

Pretty much like giving you CDC vouchers (giving you the signal stalk back) after raising GST (removing both signal and gear shift stalks) 🤣

Ordered the LR MY last weekend. Unfortunately, couldn't get the coe today.

Anyone has insider news that the Performance variant will arrive in Sg?

i think your closest bet would be to check Tesla.sg page frequently.

nobody has insider news. Last time, the sales exec even told me CAT A MY won't be launched, but it was launched the very next week. he was so paiseh when I dropped by the following week.

So i had the MYJ for a month already.

This is to share my personal thoughts for those interested, and is not meant to evangelise you into buying EV.

I've long considered myself a "petrolhead", a car enthusiast, with "passion" and "soul". My car must be low, sound nice, handle well, and draw glances from passers by. Or, get the thumbs up from fellow enthusiasts on the road.

I smirked at those EV buyers.. whom I feel are noobs who "know nuts" about cars and just buy one because of novelty and straight line performance.

My impression was corroborated by my own observations on the roads.. where EV drivers just like to chiong off the lights, and acquaintances I know just wanna show off their EV's tech and those frankly noob questions asked by those people in forums and FB groups.

Couple the above with the ugly stories of EV drivers hogging lots without charging, resulting in angry fellow owners naming and shaming incessantly to show their displeasure.

And oh.. the (misguided notion of) EVs catching fire easily and having to spend long hours fighting for lots to charge instead of a 10 min fill at the yew pong.

I truly felt.. EVs are not for me. Not the car, not the community.

So what made me decide to buy an EV, an SUV some more.. and the MYJ in particular?

The answer might baffle you: it's just the looks that got me interested. The previous Y looked like a monstrosity. A frog face of a Model 3 that's been squeezed from both sides to create a taller version. It's just plain lazy design.. but the MYJ is not. It looks distinctive, with the DRL light in front reminiscent of Robocop, and the unique rear indirect light bar lighting up the roads behind.

So I went for a test drive, and was impressed with the performance, throttle response, space and refreshing minimalist interior. This car is truly different and gave me that kind of feeling the time when I drove for the first time.

The functionalities and practicalities of the car, software and hardware eise, are also very well thought out of. I am sold on the hardware/software vertical integration just like how Apple did it. The car is very well engineered for a car of this size, the weight is below any EV equivalent in class, along with the efficiency. Do not be misled by high range.. look rather at the efficiency or km you can run per kWh. Any car can report high range figures IF their battery is big. The devil is in the details.

My previous car was bought at low COE, so it could still fetch a decent price at the used car market. I decided to take advantage of that, and also on the VES and EEAI rebates to get the MYJ instead. After all, which other car at 216k could offer 341bhp and 5.9s acceleration at this segment? Even a Harrier costs more upfront!

On hindsight, I was lucky cos I got the car before the COE shot up. If i had delayed, i'd have to pay more and I wouldn't have gotten more resale value out of my ex car. So to me, its a double win.

Back to EV considerations.. why did I choose Tesla instead of others?

Well, to me other EVs looked alike.. and all cookie cutter in design.

Some of them are either over the top in terms of interior (which reminds me of someone who needs to dress in very obvious branded clothes to show off) or are just existing ICE platforms slapped on a battery as an afterthought. But most importantly is.. the nicer ones are quite expensive and out of my pay grade.

I was also hugely influenced by the YouTuber Colin Goh. He pointed out rightly, with so many EV brands in SG fighting for such a small pie.. would it be prudent to go with a viable brand with enough scale to last here to honour the warranty, or buy those niche brands and risk the AD folding a few years later?

I am not concerned with warranty for an ICE car, because i know where to repair and maintain outside of the ADs. EVs are a whole new ballgame to me, I know nuts about it.. so the warranty is a safety net for me. Therefore, either Tesla or BYD for me since they have scale. (I can't afford BMW or Merc EVs that offers similar performance and I'm not willing to pay $220k for an entry level model that's bare and slow)

Specific to Teslas:

1) eeyer so minimalistic bare - insai nothing one. So empty.. it looks so cheap with no buttons.

I wasn't concerned with that at all. Even in all my previous cars, I don't fiddle with buttons. I set everything at Auto. Headlights, aircon, wipers etc.. I just sit in, strap on, put to D... and drive. The user experience doesn't change in the MYJ. I don't need buttons to "transition" into driving an EV. I'm more zai than that 😛

2) eeyer everything is via touchscreen. If screen spoil how?

The screen doesn't impact the drive. I can drive and reset the screen while the car is in motion without issues. There's failsafe buttons at the roof which allows me to still use P, D, N, R.

3) eeyer no Apple CarPlay and no Android Auto. How can such basic features be absent in a car selling at this price?

Yeah this is concerning but not a dealbreaker. Music and calls, there's always Bluetooth. I use CarPlay for Waze maps on the screen and its not available for Teslas. However, there's ways to get CarPlay/AA embedded into the native infotainment. In the meantime, I just use Waze from my phone. Native navigation just sucks in routing but the good thing is it factors in locations of Superchargers in the route which is good for long trips but moot in city driving in SG.

4) eeyer the drive is so jerky. the moment i lift off throttle i get thrown forward. the brake regen and one pedal drive is too harsh

Yes this is a reality but also a main feature in driving EVs. Just learn to modulate the pedal and not have a jackrabbit foot. You'll get used to driving this way in less than 30 mins.

5) eeyer the electric doors are so dangerous. how to open door if no battery?

This has been discussed on another thread.. but in summary there's manual door openers inside. And if I'm outside, just jumpstart. Its the same with ICE cars.

6) eeyer drive this car got no sound one.. where got shiok

Different strokes for different folks. You don't like, so be it lah. No one forcing you to buy.

7) Why you sarpork Elon Musk? He's an idiot

I never let politics influence my choices. Look at the car for its merits not because of who the CEO is.

Overall, I have no regrets buying this car even though I have met with disdain from a few of my club members, and also received thinly veiled insults from some neighbours. I feel, to them, EV buyers are the culprits of driving up COE prices (true) and EVs are not "real" cars (old fogey thinking).

But its ok la, I dun live my life based on their yardsticks.

Like i said before, i enjoyed my ex car very much, but it's only me.

With this Tesla, i enjoy it very much, and every single family member young and old says they like it very much too for the comfort and quietness. This alone makes me feel that i made the right choice.

• Praise 13

On 9/13/2025 at 5:35 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

So i had the MYJ for a month already.

This is to share my personal thoughts for those interested, and is not meant to evangelise you into buying EV.

I've long considered myself a "petrolhead", a car enthusiast, with "passion" and "soul". My car must be low, sound nice, handle well, and draw glances from passers by. Or, get the thumbs up from fellow enthusiasts on the road.

I smirked at those EV buyers.. whom I feel are noobs who "know nuts" about cars and just buy one because of novelty and straight line performance.

My impression was corroborated by my own observations on the roads.. where EV drivers just like to chiong off the lights, and acquaintances I know just wanna show off their EV's tech and those frankly noob questions asked by those people in forums and FB groups.

Couple the above with the ugly stories of EV drivers hogging lots without charging, resulting in angry fellow owners naming and shaming incessantly to show their displeasure.

And oh.. the (misguided notion of) EVs catching fire easily and having to spend long hours fighting for lots to charge instead of a 10 min fill at the yew pong.

I truly felt.. EVs are not for me. Not the car, not the community.

So what made me decide to buy an EV, an SUV some more.. and the MYJ in particular?

The answer might baffle you: it's just the looks that got me interested. The previous Y looked like a monstrosity. A frog face of a Model 3 that's been squeezed from both sides to create a taller version. It's just plain lazy design.. but the MYJ is not. It looks distinctive, with the DRL light in front reminiscent of Robocop, and the unique rear indirect light bar lighting up the roads behind.

So I went for a test drive, and was impressed with the performance, throttle response, space and refreshing minimalist interior. This car is truly different and gave me that kind of feeling the time when I drove for the first time.

The functionalities and practicalities of the car, software and hardware eise, are also very well thought out of. I am sold on the hardware/software vertical integration just like how Apple did it. The car is very well engineered for a car of this size, the weight is below any EV equivalent in class, along with the efficiency. Do not be misled by high range.. look rather at the efficiency or km you can run per kWh. Any car can report high range figures IF their battery is big. The devil is in the details.

My previous car was bought at low COE, so it could still fetch a decent price at the used car market. I decided to take advantage of that, and also on the VES and EEAI rebates to get the MYJ instead. After all, which other car at 216k could offer 341bhp and 5.9s acceleration at this segment? Even a Harrier costs more upfront!

On hindsight, I was lucky cos I got the car before the COE shot up. If i had delayed, i'd have to pay more and I wouldn't have gotten more resale value out of my ex car. So to me, its a double win.

Back to EV considerations.. why did I choose Tesla instead of others?

Well, to me other EVs looked alike.. and all cookie cutter in design.

Some of them are either over the top in terms of interior (which reminds me of someone who needs to dress in very obvious branded clothes to show off) or are just existing ICE platforms slapped on a battery as an afterthought. But most importantly is.. the nicer ones are quite expensive and out of my pay grade.

I was also hugely influenced by the YouTuber Colin Goh. He pointed out rightly, with so many EV brands in SG fighting for such a small pie.. would it be prudent to go with a viable brand with enough scale to last here to honour the warranty, or buy those niche brands and risk the AD folding a few years later?

I am not concerned with warranty for an ICE car, because i know where to repair and maintain outside of the ADs. EVs are a whole new ballgame to me, I know nuts about it.. so the warranty is a safety net for me. Therefore, either Tesla or BYD for me since they have scale. (I can't afford BMW or Merc EVs that offers similar performance and I'm not willing to pay $220k for an entry level model that's bare and slow)

Specific to Teslas:

1) eeyer so minimalistic bare - insai nothing one. So empty.. it looks so cheap with no buttons.

I wasn't concerned with that at all. Even in all my previous cars, I don't fiddle with buttons. I set everything at Auto. Headlights, aircon, wipers etc.. I just sit in, strap on, put to D... and drive. The user experience doesn't change in the MYJ. I don't need buttons to "transition" into driving an EV. I'm more zai than that 😛

2) eeyer everything is via touchscreen. If screen spoil how?

The screen doesn't impact the drive. I can drive and reset the screen while the car is in motion without issues. There's failsafe buttons at the roof which allows me to still use P, D, N, R.

3) eeyer no Apple CarPlay and no Android Auto. How can such basic features be absent in a car selling at this price?

Yeah this is concerning but not a dealbreaker. Music and calls, there's always Bluetooth. I use CarPlay for Waze maps on the screen and its not available for Teslas. However, there's ways to get CarPlay/AA embedded into the native infotainment. In the meantime, I just use Waze from my phone. Native navigation just sucks in routing but the good thing is it factors in locations of Superchargers in the route which is good for long trips but moot in city driving in SG.

4) eeyer the drive is so jerky. the moment i lift off throttle i get thrown forward. the brake regen and one pedal drive is too harsh

Yes this is a reality but also a main feature in driving EVs. Just learn to modulate the pedal and not have a jackrabbit foot. You'll get used to driving this way in less than 30 mins.

5) eeyer the electric doors are so dangerous. how to open door if no battery?

This has been discussed on another thread.. but in summary there's manual door openers inside. And if I'm outside, just jumpstart. Its the same with ICE cars.

6) eeyer drive this car got no sound one.. where got shiok

Different strokes for different folks. You don't like, so be it lah. No one forcing you to buy.

7) Why you sarpork Elon Musk? He's an idiot

I never let politics influence my choices. Look at the car for its merits not because of who the CEO is.

Overall, I have no regrets buying this car even though I have met with disdain from a few of my club members, and also received thinly veiled insults from some neighbours. I feel, to them, EV buyers are the culprits of driving up COE prices (true) and EVs are not "real" cars (old fogey thinking).

But its ok la, I dun live my life based on their yardsticks.

Like i said before, i enjoyed my ex car very much, but it's only me.

With this Tesla, i enjoy it very much, and every single family member young and old says they like it very much too for the comfort and quietness. This alone makes me feel that i made the right choice.

Pass

give 7/10

too much singlish ffs🤣