COE Bidding – August 2022

Carbon82

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

at first i thot C180 no power until i encounter one whenever i drive my son to school. The driver skill i will say very good and smooth. the way he accelerate and zip around i see liao oso wet.. his car got Bilstein dunno pro kit or wat.. lowered which may explain his Got Balls type of maneuver.. not reckless type  

at first i thot his is a bigger capacity engine so i checked.. indeed a C180 tiah..

Maybe C43 debadged to C180.... I would love to debadged C63 to C160. 

49 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

When i bought my last gen C350 (NA),  i also test the C180 (turbo) back to back.... Must say I was surprised the the c180 pick up seem more eager and acceleration seem quicker from get go. But the 3.5L V6 is no slouch past the initial buid up of revs. 

Forced induction big CC still the best(3L and up). No replacement for displacement. Especially on NSHW, where the bigger displacement works at 130kmh and up. However for normal driving and SG roads, 2L forced induction is enough liao. big cc NA is passe, unless 5L v8. 😁

I tell everyone a secret people are howlian and they are badge whores.

Don't fight it use it to upsell customers.

They happy they spent more and salesman happy with more comm.

Everyone wins 

It's great business to sell entry level Merc like CLA, GLA, A-class.

Many buyers are youngsters who need high loan, and high insurance premium. C&C and PI earn until siao

27 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Forced induction big CC still the best(3L and up). No replacement for displacement. Especially on NSHW, where the bigger displacement works at 130kmh and up. However for normal driving and SG roads, 2L forced induction is enough liao. big cc NA is passe, unless 5L v8. 😁

Yups, cannot disagree! :D

27 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Like twin turbo V12🤭

4L flat6 is highly sought😂

For Sg road, 5kg/nm torque is 👍🏻

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Like twin turbo V12🤭

4L flat6 is highly sought😂

For Sg road, 5kg/nm torque is 👍🏻

3L turbo like the BMW B58 is the sweet spot for SG, if you go north often enough. decent FC, still ok roadtax and good power.

V12 is just a money pit.

else B48 or equivalent 2L with around 250hp is just about right for SG roads.

Edited by Mkl22

8 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

the new C and E class look really similar though, is there a lot of difference in terms of comfort nvh all that?

For now, the C class is much better than current E class. E class is just a facelift from the previous model, and the technology is not catching up yet. The new C class is a brand new model and is using the new S class design language. More modern and sophiscated.

2 hours ago, Vratenza said:

When i bought my last gen C350 (NA),  i also test the C180 (turbo) back to back.... Must say I was surprised the the c180 pick up seem more eager and acceleration seem quicker from get go. But the 3.5L V6 is no slouch past the initial buid up of revs. 

U mean the W205 c180? Do u think the performance is better than a Camry or Mazda 6? 

large CC cars in relatively small bodies are good and fun...but I am done paying LTA exorbitant annual road tax for the fun....

that is why EV's road tax structure is a mega turn off for me to even consider adopting it unless fun ICE cars are no longer available.

with the current TC technological advancement, where turbo lag is the thing of the past,  the best compromise now is a 2L 4 cyl TC engine in a small car body

for example this one is the 2L TC Twinpower unit for BMW M135i

6244_2@2x.thumb.png.3779bfd2a6209fad20494a9e6e517d69.png

the Max torque arrives at 1750rpm or so...very drivable and almost intantaneous torque.

😁

Edited by Vratenza
add power-torque graph

26 minutes ago, Rickster said:

U mean the W205 c180? Do u think the performance is better than a Camry or Mazda 6? 

no, I meant the W204 C180. Well, the TC 1.6 can probably out accelerate a 2L NA camry/mazda 6.

I used to own a 2.3L NA Mazda 6 hatch...seem fast but easily outgunned by Honda SIR on highway 😓

that's why my next car was a 2.5L TC LGT😁

6 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Wah all MCFer so rich discuss which Merc to buy... me only hoping COE can come down so I can one day afford Toyota

Oh u peasant who thinks about COE get thee outta here! 🤣

Don't u know MCF is an elite car club whereby the rich comes and bash peasants who dare look at cars below 200bhps and take loans to buy cars?

• Sad 2

11 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Wah all MCFer so rich discuss which Merc to buy... me only hoping COE can come down so I can one day afford Toyota GR Yaris

😂

1 minute ago, Vratenza said:

no, I meant the W204 C180. Well, the TC 1.6 can probably out accelerate a 2L NA camry/mazda 6.

I used to own a 2.3L NA Mazda 6 hatch...seem fast but easily outgunned by Honda SIR on highway 😓

Exactly my thoughts. I didn't even look at the Camry and Mazda 6 because they feel underpowered to be and the Mazda 6 is ridiculously noisy for a D segment car.

But the current generation 2.5 Camry hybrid offers quite a decent handling and power.

8 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

Hm Honda SIR I thought stock is 170bhp? should be less bhp  than the 2.3l  Mazda 6 hatch, unless it’s probably tuned and most likely  been modded like 90% of SIR’s i believe 😁

4 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

at first i thot C180 no power until i encounter one whenever i drive my son to school. The driver skill i will say very good and smooth. the way he accelerate and zip around i see liao oso wet.. his car got Bilstein dunno pro kit or wat.. lowered which may explain his Got Balls type of maneuver.. not reckless type  

at first i thot his is a bigger capacity engine so i checked.. indeed a C180 tiah..

Maybe it is a C43,Badge changed to C180.?