First-timers must select BTO flats when invited by HDB or lose priority for a year from August launch

Windwaver

Of all the developers here in Sunny Singapore, HDB is the Biggest and Largest builders , founded in 1960 under the Singapore Improvement Trust ( SIT ), the first HDB flat were completed in Queenstown, only 7th storey high@Stirling Road. 

No experiences, cannot be, the main function is to provide subsidised flats for the commoner, who were the early settlers . I happened to be part of Queenstown vicinity, a stone throw away@Holland Village were my days of my adolescent years.

On 3/9/2023 at 6:12 PM, inlinesix said:

Leave it to private company.  It will be worse.

Shortages will be created purposely to drive up profit while sitting on rising land bank value.

Have you come across any private developer creating shortage? 😆

On 7/20/2023 at 5:57 PM, Blueray said:

Buyers of about 1,000 BTO flats in Punggol face further delays after HDB terminates contractor’s services

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/buyers-about-1000-bto-flats-punggol-face-further-delays-after-hdb-terminates-contractors

we keep speaking of block chain, yet we cant pay contractors and project managed on time.

On 7/20/2023 at 6:03 PM, Sdf4786k said:

we keep speaking of block chain, yet we cant pay contractors and project managed on time.

Blockchain has nothing to do with on-time payment

On 7/20/2023 at 6:03 PM, Sdf4786k said:

Desmond busy, got to juggle West Coast GRC (his survival) and BTOs (not his survival) ... [sly]

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/bto-income-ceiling-singles-age-review-chee-hong-tat-5284381?cid=internal_sharetool_androidphone_10082025_cna

Income ceiling should be raised.

But single age shouldn't be reduced given quite a lot married late too. Reducing the age will increase a larger pool to fight with young couples for having a unit. 

Unless HDB really have ample supply. And the age probably just reduce to 33 yrs old🤣

to be honest, i am dumbfounded why there is a INCOME CEILING

when a true blue singaporean wants to buy a HDBeeee

just make the rule, when upgrade to private = 100% must sell HDB = no hogging 

isn't this is a better rule than simi sai income ceiling rule

that now after couples get the HDB ... income rise ... buy private and yet still hold on to HDB ...

On 8/10/2025 at 6:14 PM, Atonchia said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/bto-income-ceiling-singles-age-review-chee-hong-tat-5284381?cid=internal_sharetool_androidphone_10082025_cna

Income ceiling should be raised.

But single age shouldn't be reduced given quite a lot married late too. Reducing the age will increase a larger pool to fight with young couples for having a unit. 

Unless HDB really have ample supply. And the age probably just reduce to 33 yrs old🤣

I am watching the tv news on this, minister did mentioned there might be possibility to adjust the single age when the time is right. 😂 So it should be reduce downward, likely between 30-34.

But it mentioned that gahment has no more plan on the SERS project liao. Means all those old HDB no more chance to get SERS liao. And now they started to launch the VERS project on old HDB, hopefully by 2030, this VERS would be implemented successfully. 🙄

Edited by 13177

On 8/10/2025 at 6:38 PM, Wt_know said:

to be honest, i am dumbfounded why there is a INCOME CEILING

when a true blue singaporean wants to buy a HDBeeee

just make the rule, when upgrade to private = 100% must sell HDB = no hogging 

isn't this is a better rule than simi sai income ceiling rule

that now after couples get the HDB ... income rise ... buy private and yet still hold on to HDB ...

Agreed. They should not allow all those who buy private to hold on to their HDB, must sell. But if they take out the income ceiling, means rich people no chance to buy private for investment if they still want to continue to “milk” the low subsidise of HDB?! Lol.

On 8/10/2025 at 6:44 PM, 13177 said:

Agreed. They should not allow all those who buy private to hold on to their HDB, must sell. But if they take out the income ceiling, means rich people no chance to buy private for investment if they still want to continue to “milk” the low subsidise of HDB?! Lol.

setting income ceiling at $14K for HDB is a flaw

couple who made above slightly $14K thought they are big deal and go buy mickey mouse PC at $1.5M

that's where their "life" get tied with the mortgage ... besides mortgage there are many other expenses especially to start a family with kid + maid

people might say , can buy resale flat what ... no need to go with BTO

would you buy a resale flat and seeing the first owner milk you $200K $250K $300K a pop and the flat is already 5 years old after MOP

again, i am talking specifically "first timer" only ...

Bottomline import less people la. Keep adding and adding obviously not enough. Easiest way to achieve growth. 
I would hazard a guess that at most only 50% of bto applicants have both that are local born citizens. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 8/10/2025 at 7:21 PM, Mkl22 said:

Bottomline import less people la. Keep adding and adding obviously not enough. Easiest way to achieve growth. 
I would hazard a guess that at most only 50% of bto applicants have both that are local born citizens. 

i am 50-50 on this method of growing population to grow domestic market

at least the population growth is not as jialat as the EU with "refugees" ... [sweatdrop] 

now every time i go to mall ... i see the mall still got people to window shop, eat and buy things

without local demand ... we all jiak grass liao ... with retirees and jobless all go JB ... lol

on this note, 10 years + 100K from msia only ... our main supply ... [laugh] 

no need rocket science to know where are the other 2 countries ... [sly] [laugh] 

2025-08-10_192925.jpg

On 8/10/2025 at 6:51 PM, Wt_know said:

setting income ceiling at $14K for HDB is a flaw

couple who made above slightly $14K thought they are big deal and go buy mickey mouse PC at $1.5M

that's where their "life" get tied with the mortgage ... besides mortgage there are many other expenses especially to start a family with kid + maid

people might say , can buy resale flat what ... no need to go with BTO

would you buy a resale flat and seeing the first owner milk you $200K $250K $300K a pop and the flat is already 5 years old after MOP

again, i am talking specifically "first timer" only ...

But many couples in this era combined income not low le, they can go buy EC if cannot buy BTO. Lol. Anyway, i always wonder how much are they combined income are for most couples, cause most of them can buy private, buy car, hire maid and have kids. 

On 8/10/2025 at 7:21 PM, Mkl22 said:

How to import less people when most people in SG are senior citizens liao. Plus low birth rate. The only solution is to import more and more people if they want to come.

On 8/10/2025 at 7:30 PM, 13177 said:

But many couples in this era combined income not low le, they can go buy EC if cannot buy BTO. Lol. Anyway, i always wonder how much are they combined income are for most couples, cause most of them can buy private, buy car, hire maid and have kids. 

based on my beng friend gossiping ... those exceed $14K mostly straight-up to PC la 

going EC route still need to ballot ... ding ding dong dong with uncertainties ...

go PC market right away ... can make $500K a pop flip later (agent says one)

EC buyers mostly earn way below $16K with daddy mommy to pump in equity ... 

On 8/10/2025 at 7:33 PM, Wt_know said:

based on my beng friend gossiping ... those exceed $14K mostly straight-up to PC la 

going EC route still need to ballot ... go PC ... can make $500K a pop (agent says one)

EC buyers mostly earn way below $16K ... those earning >$14K probably go private with agent sure win plan ... lol

EC still have income cap right? Slightly above BTO? EC need to ballot for the chance to buy them still must ballot to see your priority in choosing the block/floor.

If just above 14k, buy private condo is dicey.

Edited by Sosaria