Does rims change shape/warp over time?

Terratoss

Hi to all.

My jb mech told me my 3 tyres showing wavy threads on balance machine, 4th tyre not as round.

I went to original tyre shop for assessment, they mentioned all tyres ok but might be due to rims' shape from wear & tear. I never knock/scrape my rims before.

Does a almost 5yr 15" stock rim warp or changes shape slightly over time?

SG tyre shop can also pull a fast one
while doing tyre rotation and balancing
tell me, boss ur tyre have difficulty balancing, could be ur rims
why not change ur rims since use for so long
in my mind i was thinking my rims use for over 10 yrs
never kena anything major, got so necessary to change?
in the end I told the ah seng doing the balancing,
just do as best as he can to balance
pity the shop, hard to earn from me

image.png.c2695bac30cc6880a404359079df32e4.png

On 8/12/2023 at 2:08 PM, Terratoss said:

Hi to all.

My jb mech told me my 3 tyres showing wavy threads on balance machine, 4th tyre not as round.

I went to original tyre shop for assessment, they mentioned all tyres ok but might be due to rims' shape from wear & tear. I never knock/scrape my rims before.

• Haha! 11

Hi to all.

if u go over pot hole, or mount kerb

anyway from when u mention , they are bulshi--ing or they dun know their job.

your rim out of shape or not got nothing much to do with your tyre having wavy thread.

either poor quality tyres, or your undercarriage damage, like shock absorber etc.

u can request them to balance your tyres, then u see with your own eyes, when the tyres rotate, if your rim is round or or out of shape. ( that is if u know how to see. )

Original Rims are very tough,usually Cast type & heavy,if you never hit any Kerb before,the Rims should be okay,Original Wheels are better than those aftermarket[not those Custom made ones] MIC Wheels.

@Beregond the original tyre shop in sg balance machine seems to turn slower than the jb one. But I could still see the wavy phenomenon. I did not really look at my rims thought as i didnt knock/scrap it before either.
As mentioned, ori tyre shop mech told me what i said in my initial post. So Im confused who to believe.

Hi to all.

check ur shock absorbers instead

On 8/12/2023 at 4:25 PM, ER-3682 said:

Original Rims are very tough,usually Cast type & heavy,if you never hit any Kerb before,the Rims should be okay,Original Wheels are better than those aftermarket[not those Custom made ones] MIC Wheels.

Precisely. So trying to find an answer to the tyre wavy thread mystery. But the ori tyre mech manage to balance the tyres. He mentioned if tyres really gone case, the tyres wont be able to balance?

On 8/12/2023 at 3:06 PM, Mits_jc said:

SG tyre shop can also pull a fast one
while doing tyre rotation and balancing
tell me, boss ur tyre have difficulty balancing, could be ur rims
why not change ur rims since use for so long
in my mind i was thinking my rims use for over 10 yrs
never kena anything major, got so necessary to change?
in the end I told the ah seng doing the balancing,
just do as best as he can to balance
pity the shop, hard to earn from me

Tyre shops knives very sharp one. I always go Hurry Tyres next to Serene Ctr, When you reverse park, the guys will tell u, ur tyres bald liao. Change. Every time without fail.  

• Shocked 2

On 8/12/2023 at 5:04 PM, Terratoss said:

Precisely. So trying to find an answer to the tyre wavy thread mystery. But the ori tyre mech manage to balance the tyres. He mentioned if tyres really gone case, the tyres wont be able to balance?

What is your Car's Mileage.?Maybe Shock Absorbers gone.?

On 8/12/2023 at 5:01 PM, Terratoss said:

@Beregond the original tyre shop in sg balance machine seems to turn slower than the jb one. But I could still see the wavy phenomenon. I did not really look at my rims thought as i didnt knock/scrap it before either.
As mentioned, ori tyre shop mech told me what i said in my initial post. So Im confused who to believe.

nothing to do with fast or slow, u need to see the rim when it spin, if its smooth.

if the rim is warb, u will see clearly in - out , in-out. or up down , up down,

u wont know if the rim is warb or not unless u balance it, some time during your years of driving, u might hit a pot hole or something

Hi to all.

You can ask them to mount the rim without tyre and spin it on the wheel balancing machine and see if it is really the case, but i dont think so

On 8/12/2023 at 5:05 PM, Achtung said:

Tyre shops knives very sharp one. I always go Hurry Tyres next to Serene Ctr, When you reverse park, the guys will tell u, ur tyres bald liao. Change. Every time without fail.  

ubi one sama sama too 

have not step out of kereta 

all Boleh guys say Botak liao 

🙈🙉🙊 knn Bo Beh Chow 🤑🤑🤑

On 8/12/2023 at 5:03 PM, Achtung said:

check ur shock absorbers instead

didnt thoroughly check them, but all seems fine. Did not detect anything unusual from butt feel.

Kanna once when do balancing, 3 tyre ok, 4th one when on e machine rotating can see tyre profile waving up n down.....e old chap unseat e tyre fr my original rims and reseat it back....settled.

On 8/12/2023 at 7:29 PM, Inlinefour said:

ubi one sama sama too 

have not step out of kereta 

all Boleh guys say Botak liao 

🙈🙉🙊 knn Bo Beh Chow 🤑🤑🤑

Too many Tyre Shops,scare you go to another Shop.