Atrecord Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 Every time drive pass used car shop can see a table outside and with 2-3 bengs sit down there .... really who want to go in get chop apart ? Yah, those vulture-bengs will be staring at everyone going past... stop only will not let you go ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 I scratch my head when I read about the couple who sued the used car dealer. Maybe they are new to the car buying scene. One thing ppl can trust is the age of the used car. And if the car is regualrly serviced by the authorised agent like their Nissan actually there's not much to worry whether it's high mileage. Better dan an owner who don't care but low mileage. Up to individuals, I guess the couple have plenty of time-off to engage lawsuit and play games with dealer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 the VICE suggests to buy from CAST TRUST dealers what if CASE TRUST dealers also adjust milleage which is "quite common" this means it's TRUST adjustment so buy with TRUST? LOL ssshh.. wait there will be some dealer come in here to KPKB and ask if you would buy a car that shows lower mileage or one with the higher mileage Then justify why he also have to change mileage etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 leason learnt for ah beng dealer dont fck with auditor ... they will come back to haunt you ... lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 I scratch my head when I read about the couple who sued the used car dealer. Maybe they are new to the car buying scene. One thing ppl can trust is the age of the used car. And if the car is regualrly serviced by the authorised agent like their Nissan actually there's not much to worry whether it's high mileage. Better dan an owner who don't care but low mileage. Up to individuals, I guess the couple have plenty of time-off to engage lawsuit and play games with dealer. Lower mileage cars tend to get higher prices... its tantamount to cheating mah... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 (edited) Lower mileage cars tend to get higher prices... its tantamount to cheating mah...fully agreed the purpose adjusting milleage is to command higher price it's not an indication of the car condition whether there was regular service and TLC low milleage = higher price = faster sale it's all about the money $$$$ Edited March 28, 2017 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 Aiyah this area is so gray. At one point, PDPC, i think, even said it is illegal for companies to ask for and keep the NRIC no. or card of people visiting an office, as both the card and the nric no. constitute personal data and should be protected. Broadly interpreted, any details that is available/accessible only by the individual and not the public, is personal data. Without his consent, just cannot keep/release/share... That's why now do everything when signing forms (open bank account, apply membership, even apply job, etc.) also contain the clause saying you consent to the company keeping your data and using it for whatever stated purposes... So the AD's argument is that the car mileage and servicing information is also only known by the owner, and cannot share - else they might get fined for breach of PDPA... They must be scared i am PDPC staff working undercover to check for compliant what to do?? But in a way it's understandable... The association is made up by who? It's not the govt or any policing body hor, it's the PIs themselves. Why will they come up with some laws/rules that will disadvantage/handicap themselves?? As soon as someone proposes it only, surely get voted out of office or kicked out of the assoc. liao i suspect. The assoc is meant to protect their members' interests lah, not consumers... It's the as usual totally useless CASE that should be pinpointed lor... I'm very sure that's not the definition of personal data. You must be able to identify a person from the data for it to be considered personal. Because everybody is blur about the actual requirements, everybody play safe and dare not disclose everything. the VICE suggests to buy from CAST TRUST dealers what if CASE TRUST dealers also adjust milleage which is "quite common" this means it's TRUST adjustment so buy with TRUST? LOL It means you can trust that they adjusted the mileage properly using official tools. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leehock13828 2nd Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 fully agreed the purpose adjusting milleage is to command higher price it's not an indication of the car condition whether there was regular service and TLC low milleage = higher price = faster sale it's all about the money $$$$ Nothing new. Running a business is all about making money. Who wants to run a loss making car dealership? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 (edited) Nothing new. Running a business is all about making money. Who wants to run a loss making car dealership?making money is absolutely acceptabledealer can even price the car at $1M for all that i dont care but CHEATING is not acceptable in whatever business dealing if tampering milleage is quite common and widely accepted soon kopi-money is also considered quite common soon spore become > bolehland > indo > zimbabwe liao Edited March 28, 2017 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 (edited) I scratch my head when I read about the couple who sued the used car dealer. Maybe they are new to the car buying scene. One thing ppl can trust is the age of the used car. And if the car is regualrly serviced by the authorised agent like their Nissan actually there's not much to worry whether it's high mileage. Better dan an owner who don't care but low mileage. Up to individuals, I guess the couple have plenty of time-off to engage lawsuit and play games with dealer. One car with 75k mileage, another 200k mileage at the last servicing. It's like saying a 9 year old car is better than a 3 year old car if the older car was owned by a petrolhead who cared more for his car he cared for his whole family, and the younger car was owned by someone who don't care about cars. Edit: 1. if mileage is not important, why do dealers adjust odometers? FYI, a friend who sold a car with 160k mileage to dealer found his mileage adjusted to 80k when advertised for sale online. 2. and, it is not close to impossible to know what kind of people owned the car if you buy from a dealer, and how well they really took care of the car. Edited March 28, 2017 by Beng2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 Nothing new. Running a business is all about making money. Who wants to run a loss making car dealership? You are dealer, we all know. Nothing new Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 ask the dealer to take it or leave it. No need to show him anything, you have nothing to prove. Just saw this old post. If you have the records, why wouldn't you show it to him? Dealer is doing his due diligence.... He's not asking for details of your private life also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 If you look at the type of cars that go to quotz, you will see their milleage is typically quite high at least 20k plus a year. But strangely most of the stock sold by dealers on sgcarmart.com.sg all have milleage below 100k even for those 7 to 8 year old cars. Some even advertised owners 2nd or 3rd car. Funny ah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 Police case mah... The article implies it is a civil case leh. This couple have no knowledge or experience in buying cars la. Suay to do their business lol. dealer tried to cheat them and didn't manage to get away with it means suay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 You are dealer, we all know. Nothing new ð Is it that one always sit outside ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 The article implies it is a civil case leh. lol. dealer tried to cheat them and didn't manage to get away with it means suay? A 7 yrs++ old car, what are the chances for the mileage to be below 100km. And its open secret for used car dealer to adjust the mileage. Now they bought a well known problematic car brand, what do u think are the chances Citroen will be sue by them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leehock13828 2nd Gear March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 A 7 yrs++ old car, what are the chances for the mileage to be below 100km. And its open secret for used car dealer to adjust the mileage. Now they bought a well known problematic car brand, what do u think are the chances Citroen will be sue by them Cnc got their own lawyers and i believe that the company will be willing to challenge the couple if necessary. Cnc is not a small fry PI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 28, 2017 Share March 28, 2017 (edited) No wonder so many gullible ppl here in Singapore kenna scam by scammers. It's exactly the greed mentality that they tio scam. Some ppl think an old car with low mileage sits around frequently and wait for ppl to buy them. When it looks too good to be true, it probably is. What I call willingly tio pian. Edited March 28, 2017 by Watwheels ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...