No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 12/28/2023 at 3:04 PM, Beregond said:

I dun believe in the car lite bulls---😂😂

Our road will be fill with cars be it ice or ev or whatever means.🤣

I am not promoting it, and you dont have to believe either, but it is written all over the walls. Carlite is also relative to population hor.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 3:35 PM, Tianmo said:

when there is a problem, and a deadline to get a solution, the focus is almost always on the deadline and not the actual solution. 

unchecked issues will surface as we go along, and come to a stage where ppl realize that the snake they release into the mouse hole to eat the mouse has now taken over the mouse as the problem. 

China is moving forward with EV like a bullet train, why is UK pushing back, the pot is boiling. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Other than pollution, China vested heavily in the early 2000s for political reasons. But it's just whitewashing for the rest of the world to rule out new ICE. We cant even properly dispose of our AA or cell phone batteries now. If recycling is going to cost more than than buying new, which is usually the case, those batteries are just going into landfill. 

On 12/28/2023 at 9:46 AM, Tohto said:

Still tight to 20k km per year, so for me mileage 25k+ per will reach 160k much earlier.

Battery tech like CATL n blade are currently the flavour of the month in terms of lasting cycle

Blade battery are supposed to last 5000 to 6000 charge cycles. By then, most of us would have handed over to the next generation assuming you charge every 3 days to 5 days with 400km per week.

You probably looking at 90 to 95 years of usage.

On 12/28/2023 at 3:14 PM, RadX said:

looking at how their own internal affairs and infra can support..they dun need the rest of the world liao...all for internal consumption

it is already happening, and catching everyone off guard.

just a few years back, nobody wanted a MIC car, and today MIC EV is talk of the town, from cheap ones like ora good cat to the top range million dollar yen BYD yangwang U8, which needs to book with a 6 months waiting time, you name the range, they can fill that gap. 

EV, solved their oil problem, pollution problem, gave them political chips, and made them the real manufacturer of the world, as the biggest EV maker in the world now. 

If this is not scary enough, I think the world is really still in dreamland. wait until 2035, and we might start seeing formal wears changing in international meets, with half in suit and tie, the other half coming in the Chinese zhongshan suit. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Will the west think of an excuse to kill EV, or at least try to slow its growth? 

Or allow China to take it to its full advantage? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 4:02 PM, Tianmo said:

just a few years back, nobody wanted a MIC car, and today MIC EV is talk of the town, from cheap ones like ora good cat to the top range million dollar yen BYD yangwang U8, which needs to book with a 6 months waiting time, you name the range, they can fill that gap. 

EV, solved their oil problem, pollution problem, gave them political chips, and made them the real manufacturer of the world, as the biggest EV maker in the world now. 

If this is not scary enough, I think the world is really still in dreamland. wait until 2035, and we might start seeing formal wears changing in international meets, with half in suit and tie, the other half coming in the Chinese zhongshan suit. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Will the west think of an excuse to kill EV, or at least try to slow its growth? 

Sounds like u all in at BYD at hkse. 

On 12/28/2023 at 4:00 PM, Stratovarius said:

Other than pollution, China vested heavily in the early 2000s for political reasons. But it's just whitewashing for the rest of the world to rule out new ICE. We cant even properly dispose of our AA or cell phone batteries now. If recycling is going to cost more than than buying new, which is usually the case, those batteries are just going into landfill. 

maybe thats the reason Elon musk wants to go to Mars, not to create another living environment, but to dump electronics waste like the car batteries there. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I remember when the Americans came to Asia to set up businesses, they also took us as a dumping ground to dump off their outdated and overstock products. 

On 12/28/2023 at 4:07 PM, Lala81 said:

Sounds like u all in at BYD at hkse. 

no lah.

BYD may sound like the one , all because it move faster than the rest, and chasing tesla, but I read that there were about 300 EV makers in China, and has now consolidated to about 100. With 70% of all cars sold in China in Q1 2023 being an EV, I am referring to the whole EV environment in China as a whole and not BYD in particular.  If you missed it, I did mentioned from ora good cat to BYD, you name the range, they have the gap filled. 

I wont touch any PRC shares now, unless I have time to hawk eye watch it. I think road blocks building up, just when and how strong. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 4:02 PM, Tianmo said:

It's not about ev. But rather phrasing out ICE. the west esp EU is even more hard-core about it.

The rest of the world?  Not really. Esp Africa or 3rd world countries.

US is moving toward this. But very slow.

And it just happen if want to phrase out ICE.  U need a proper substitute.  EV is the best option out now.

But suddenly EU realise they shoot themself in the foot. Cos China are so far ahead . 

Will EU stop their plan to phrase out ICE because China make the best EV now?

I dun think  so. They will still go ahead. Esp quite a few major west car makers already got plans to stop making ice cars.

Will there be delays?  Confirm , for example sg plan to stop selling ICE by 2030. I think abit too early.

But delay dun mean it won't come.

I plan to buy a proper ICE and faster renew 10 years coe😂

On 12/28/2023 at 4:34 PM, Beregond said:

It's not about ev. But rather phrasing out ICE. the west esp EU is even more hard-core about it.

And it just happen if want to phrase out ICE.  U need a proper substitute.  EV is the best option out now.

But suddenly EU realise they shoot themself in the foot. Cos China are so far ahead . 

I dun think  so. They will still go ahead. Esp quite a few major west car makers already got plans to stop making ice cars.

Will there be delays?  Confirm , for example sg plan to stop selling ICE by 2030. I think abit too early.

Then sgp all the EV infra do what?

charge mobile phone ah😂😂

On 12/28/2023 at 4:37 PM, RadX said:

charge mobile phone ah😂😂

Ya. Which is why I say. There is no turning back for SG from Ev.

But I feel they cannot build the charging station fast enough to hit the 2030 target.

On 12/28/2023 at 4:34 PM, Beregond said:

this time round with EV, U turn is not as easy as before, because of China. But it is also exactly because of China, that a U turn may yet again happen.

I have 2 years to monitor, my plan is to finally buy a S class as my last ICE car, take good care, renew Coe until I die, or again follow the flow, buy the best value for money EV, drive and scarp every 5 years. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 4:37 PM, RadX said:

charge mobile phone ah😂😂

remove lah, esp those blue Sg charging lot, and ask @Lala81to bring champagne for our MU inside those lots. I can bring tables and chairs. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 4:40 PM, Beregond said:

Ya. Which is why I say. There is no turning back for SG from Ev.

But I feel they cannot build the charging station fast enough to hit the 2030 target.

Actually SG gov is similar to CCP, its they ai mai nia. They are just wait and see only, and when its all clear ahead, they can build everything up before 2030 if they wanted. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/28/2023 at 5:23 PM, Tianmo said:

no lah.

BYD may sound like the one , all because it move faster than the rest, and chasing tesla, but I read that there were about 300 EV makers in China, and has now consolidated to about 100. With 70% of all cars sold in China in Q1 2023 being an EV, I am referring to the whole EV environment in China as a whole and not BYD in particular.  If you missed it, I did mentioned from ora good cat to BYD, you name the range, they have the gap filled. 

I wont touch any PRC shares now, unless I have time to hawk eye watch it. I think road blocks building up, just when and how strong. [:p][laugh][laugh]

https://www.businessinsider.com/china-byd-tesla-electric-car-ev-race-2023-11

Tesla will be doing the chasing soon. BYD will take the global crown this year. 

During my trip a few days ago I noticed about 1/3 to 1/2 of vehicles on the road in Shanghai are EVs due to the incentives (no need to bid for number plate) and indeed the air quality in the city has improved tremendously.

On 12/28/2023 at 11:04 PM, Volvobrick said:

Front copy McClaren. Ugly stick-on IPad copy Tesla. 

You don't know China is "King of CopyCat".?