Hundreds of car hailing vehicles parked for days at HDB carpark, no demand why hoard cars, high COE ?

Busker888

On 1/18/2024 at 8:27 AM, Sdf4786k said:

with the Rail from JB to SG for 400,000 foot traffic everyday, buying or renting a place in JB maybe the next best hybrid living approach.

Live in JB and come back to SG for health care plus get prescription and buy medication in JB at a fraction of the price.

Have you bought your new home at JB liao? :grin:

On 1/18/2024 at 9:49 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Have you bought your new home at JB liao? :grin:

I actually thinking of Thailand as the cost of living is way lower.

and you won’t want to just stick to Thailand. The gateway to China may be a better way to commute during your retirement years

As long as the forest city still have a lot of hush hush way of getting tax free goods, it’s one of the most value for money. Just that the MM2H rules needs to get some clarity… 

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 1/21/2024 at 11:33 AM, Sdf4786k said:

I actually thinking of Thailand as the cost of living is way lower.

and you won’t want to just stick to Thailand. The gateway to China may be a better way to commute during your retirement years

As long as the forest city still have a lot of hush hush way of getting tax free goods, it’s one of the most value for money. Just that the MM2H rules needs to get some clarity… 

I like Thailand. hahaha. That's my fav travel destination.  

Sunday morning, 7am I noticed 2 full levels of HDB parking visitor lots. I am wondering if there is a sale at downstairs coffee shop. The number of people at the coffee shop is does not commensurate to the number of cars parked. 

On 1/28/2024 at 9:00 AM, Battledome64 said:

Sunday morning, 7am I noticed 2 full levels of HDB parking visitor lots. I am wondering if there is a sale at downstairs coffee shop. The number of people at the coffee shop is does not commensurate to the number of cars parked. 

Cannot complain,as long as they never parked in Season Parking Lots.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/400-shared-cars-near-all-north-east-downtown-line-mrt-stops-in-sbs-transit-getgo-tie-up

Given that GetGo is Point A to A system (must return to same car park), I don't see how this makes any sense. Unless they are planning to change their model to A to B.

Nevertheless, it's further proof that Govt is serious about car sharing being part of their car-lite future.

On 2/26/2024 at 10:06 PM, Benarsenal said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/400-shared-cars-near-all-north-east-downtown-line-mrt-stops-in-sbs-transit-getgo-tie-up

Given that GetGo is Point A to A system (must return to same car park), I don't see how this makes any sense. Unless they are planning to change their model to A to B.

Nevertheless, it's further proof that Govt is serious about car sharing being part of their car-lite future.

Financial adviser Nicholas Foo, 24, who uses GetGo cars occasionally, said: “GetGo is a Point A-to-A model. You need to return the car to where you picked it up. So I don’t see how it can serve first- and last-mile needs.”

Retiree Joan Moreira, 58, said: “This scheme doesn’t sound very car-lite to me. Car-lite would be the Park & Ride scheme, which was canned in 2016. I’d park in the suburbs, and take the train to the city. That way, I won’t contribute to congestion where it is usually the worst.”

To me it is further proof that Govt is not thinking hard enough and doing enough feasibility studies.... Another waste of tax money to benefit the private operators....just like simplygostan.

Asked how that would work, since GetGo cars need to be parked in the same carpark where they were picked up to end a rental, Mr Toh said: “We don’t have all the answers yet. This is just a start.”

😅🤣

• Haha! 11

On 2/26/2024 at 10:32 PM, Vratenza said:

To me it is further proof that Govt is not thinking hard enough and doing enough feasibility studies.... Another waste of tax money to benefit the private operators....just like simplygostan.

She raised a good point. Why was the park and ride scheme scrapped?

On 2/26/2024 at 11:37 PM, yishunite said:

Yalor... even Chris Tan dun believe them:

But $6/hr is srsly cheap... which means that this is recipe for congestion, not car lite lol

Once again proves that gahmen dun even know the meaning of car lite 🤣

It’s never about the hourly rental. It the excess they can reap when the fools langah regardless of big or small….😂

All the comments from the public are very relevant. All the smlj experts are just talking thru their behinds. Let’s see how long before it collapses. Just like I always like to predict when a newly opened store selling weird expensive food will shut. 

Edited by Mkl22

these assperts keep talking about last mile issues. sheeze, our country so small and already got so many buses, last miles issues, if any, would be applicable only for a minority. keep coming with with smlj PMD, shared bicycles etc for last mile. should encourage people to use buses or walk for last mile. 

Mr Sim said SBST carried out five or six focus groups of about 10 people each six months ago, and found that people were “excited” about such a commuting option.

quotation-marks-air-quotes.gif.51c66e7228f23e3ae3cd8c6d0621d8b7.gif

• Haha! 9

On 1/14/2024 at 8:44 AM, Volvobrick said:

Spotted more rental/PHV not rented out. COE will soften more? 

DSC_6069.thumb.JPG.29965cdbbd2e75569851efc23772f67e.JPG

Any fire sale? Saw many new Vellfire on the road list price 360k. 😂

Edited by Atachi

The scholars just have to think through (if they bother?) the passenger's journey:

From home, going to work: how to reach the MRT? Take bus or walk because GetGoStan cars are located "strategically" within walking distance to MRT stations. 

From work, going home: how to reach home from the MRT station nearest to where the passenger lives? Rent a $6/hr GetGoStan car to drive home.... Then oops, cannot park at nearest mscp, need to return the car to point A... Like what my army sergeant always say... "use backside think also know not feasible lah" 

Or do I take a $1 feeder bus ride from MRT back home and be done with the hassle? 

On 2/27/2024 at 7:40 AM, Vratenza said:

The scholars just have to think through (if they bother?) the passenger's journey:

From home, going to work: how to reach the MRT? Take bus or walk because GetGoStan cars are located "strategically" within walking distance to MRT stations. 

From work, going home: how to reach home from the MRT station nearest to where the passenger lives? Rent a $6/hr GetGoStan car to drive home.... Then oops, cannot park at nearest mscp, need to return the car to point A... Like what my army sergeant always say... "use backside think also know not feasible lah" 

Or do I take a $1 feeder bus ride from MRT back home and be done with the hassle? 

LTA think through?

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂