Gansu in 9 days - 敦煌,七彩丹霞,嘉峪关,莫高窟 和 新龙门客栈,张掖·!

therock

On 8/20/2024 at 9:50 AM, teomingern said:

I thought Air China might be best since it's the national carrier... I've taken Air China only once to Chengdu many many years ago... then taken an internal flight on China Eastern Airlines from Chengdu to Ningxia... both were ok actually... at that time I felt their pilots' skills were better than SIA or Qantas... reason was when we landed at both airports, could see the wind was really very strong... could feel the gusts of wind hitting the plane and rocking it as we land... but the touch down was perfectly smooth without the characteristic crash on the rear landing gear that is often felt with SIA planes or the sideways rocking... both ways landing in China & at Changi was the same... so really salute them... in contrast, I always get that sideways rocking when landing at Phnom Penh airport... a bit annoying... and sometimes scary too... feels like the pilot landed on one side of the rear landing gear a fraction earlier than the other side...

Thanks for sharing.

By the way, flight landing with a thud is not necessary a lousy one vs another that feels like you are landing on a cloud. It really depends on the optimal landing zone, runway length, wind factor, etc.  I am no expert but have friends who are commercial aircraft pilots.

On 8/20/2024 at 10:27 AM, Voodooman said:

Thanks for sharing.

By the way, flight landing with a thud is not necessary a lousy one vs another that feels like you are landing on a cloud. It really depends on the optimal landing zone, runway length, wind factor, etc.  I am no expert but have friends who are commercial aircraft pilots.

Yes... but I fly quite frequently to Phnom Penh & back on SIA & Jetstar (more in the past) and really there is a world of difference in the landing between pilots... I remember having my back jarred badly quite a few times when flying Jetstar... SIA to a less extent but that sideways rocking was more pronounced for SIA... I mean same runway, same plane all those years, that is the Airbus A320 and its variants like the A319... until SIA upgraded to the Boeing 737-8... it was the case usually... but very now and then you'll get a really skilful pilot who lands without you even realizing it... 

Overseas airports maybe the runway is a bit short but for Changi, I mean no excuse right? It's got a really long one...

On 8/20/2024 at 10:53 AM, teomingern said:

Yes... but I fly quite frequently to Phnom Penh & back on SIA & Jetstar (more in the past) and really there is a world of difference in the landing between pilots... I remember having my back jarred badly quite a few times when flying Jetstar... SIA to a less extent but that sideways rocking was more pronounced for SIA... I mean same runway, same plane all those years, that is the Airbus A320 and its variants like the A319... until SIA upgraded to the Boeing 737-8... it was the case usually... but very now and then you'll get a really skilful pilot who lands without you even realizing it... 

Overseas airports maybe the runway is a bit short but for Changi, I mean no excuse right? It's got a really long one...

Changi during peak hours may have shorter landing zone. Lol

I go ask my pilot friends during next Texas Holdem session.

On 8/20/2024 at 10:27 AM, Voodooman said:

Thanks for sharing.

The irony is some of the most experienced pilots do domestic routes or short flights which actually require more skill, but the more glam ones with more allowance are the international longer routes... pilots who fly the challenging routes more are able to understand the conditions better.. our Changi airport in comparison is a nicer place to land..

But for short trips, China Airlines is fine, make sure you don't book the wrong airlines... the south and strangely the west is better covered by Eastern, but most fly out of the major hubs in China like Shanghai and PVG.. take the total time, including the layover and know that some airports are huge, so walking from the international to domestic terminals take time...

On 8/20/2024 at 10:10 AM, Volvobrick said:

Only takes China Eastern in recent years.  Service and food cannot compare to SQ but usually a lot cheaper unless SQ promo price. Seat wise don't feel a difference.

Last time domestic flights just any airline that suits the timing. Never noticed any diff. 

I will only take airline from China unless no choice. 

Service us one thing, you will see more noisy and rudy chinese passengers.  Since it is cheaper this group of people will pick this flight. 

For domestic anything less than 5hrs I will take HSR. As it normally reach right into city center. 

No need to arrive airport so early, security checkis also more simple. 

Edited by Tohto

going to guangzhou

have booked an airbnb condo 3room apartment ... newly completed few years ago

can stay or not? 

jit dong jeng!

On 8/21/2024 at 10:40 PM, Wt_know said:

going to guangzhou

can stay or not? 

jit dong jeng!

Maybe rooms got camera, so Pse no monkey biz OK? 

going to guangzhou

can stay or not? 

jit dong jeng!

I stayed in Holiday Inn suite with 2 toilets.

Got upgraded from normal room

going to guangzhou

can stay or not? 

jit dong jeng!

China hotel are very cheap.  Even a good 4 to 5 star hotel.  Why need to stay Airbnb. 

On 8/21/2024 at 11:37 PM, Tohto said:

China hotel are very cheap.  Even a good 4 to 5 star hotel.  Why need to stay Airbnb. 

my mom like to stay together in apartment. 

got kitchen, got living room, feel like holiday home with tcss at living room, can do light cooking, ordering food for makan session, etc

we got 3 rooms in the apartment

if hotel each go back their room and isolated

anyway, mom old liao … not good for her stay alone in separate hotel room too

On 8/22/2024 at 9:17 AM, Wt_know said:

my mom like to stay together in apartment. 

got kitchen, got living room, feel like holiday home with tcss at living room, can do light cooking, ordering food for makan session, etc

we got 3 rooms in the apartment

if hotel each go back their room and isolated

anyway, mom old liao … not good for her stay alone in separate hotel room too

Yeah man. My mum has dementia. Lol i also scared that suddenly get disoriented/lost or argue with my dad until separate. staying airbnb for penang trip. 

screw changi wifi la … 

one day limit 500M high speed

then reduce speed to only can do whatsapp

to me … no 2G (3G best) high speed per day no talk!

i normally get 2 x eSIM to use … lol

eSIM is sibei cheap nowadays

On 8/23/2024 at 3:31 PM, Wt_know said:

screw changi wifi la … 

one day limit 500M high speed

then reduce speed to only can do whatsapp

to me … no 2G (3G best) high speed per day no talk!

i normally get 2 x eSIM to use … lol

eSIM is sibei cheap nowadays

This is unlimited data.

I also used it for my Hokkaido trip the unlimited data high speed version. Pay a bit more. Share with 3 to persons the cost is ok.

Edited by Tohto

On 8/23/2024 at 4:05 PM, Tohto said:

This is unlimited data.

I also used it for my Hokkaido trip the unlimited data high speed version. Pay a bit more. Share with 3 to persons the cost is ok.

i know it’s unlimited. i use changi wifi too until i call them and fk them because it’s slow

because the FUP (fair usage policy), only the first 500M per day is unthrottle. 

pay more for unlimited high speed? hmm … really? 

nevermind i gave up changi wifi liao. 

On 8/23/2024 at 11:18 PM, therock said:

Wah, how much data do you guys need on a single trip...

Yeah...

Edited by Davidklt