Do u support spending 335 million for founder memorial?

Wind30

Do u support spending 335 million for founder memorial?  

67 members have voted

1. 1. Do u support spending 335 million for founder memorial?

• Yes
    • No

chix feet lah rubbish bin 800k stupid yog 387m etc 

so many forgotten liao 

JLB drawing multi million chobolan 🫣🫣🫣

Edited by Inlinefour

Perhaps the money spent is debatable. But I think it's worth reminding the younger generation what early post-independence Singapore was like.

Maybe should give the money to National Museum instead. They undergoing major reno now.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 9/16/2024 at 10:18 PM, Wind30 said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/founders-memorial-s-construction-set-to-cost-335-million

why gov spend so much money on this? Is there public support for this, if not why is pap doing this if it hurts them???

I support a founders memorial, but surely there is no need to spend so much.  

i support getting a nicer newer rubbish dump but surely there is no need to spend so much

therefore, my take is , there is no need to raise GST by almost 30% from 7% to 9% either becos there is no need to spend so much 

i also do not for one second think that the concept in balancing the nation’s budget is any different from me balancing my budget for my household.  Sure it may be more complicated of course since there are many more “items” but the basis is as simple as dont need dont spend.  If spend, is it worth the while and most importantly, where is the money coming from?  Am i going to have a surplus or deficit at the end of the year?  If i run surpluses for many years, can i use the surpluses to tide over short periods which i may have to run a deficit? 

The Govt should learn how to tighten its belt and not increase GST for spending.  I recall the ex PM say that we will only need to increase GST if we didnt watch how we spend or something to that effect.   so what happened?    Tell me!

On 9/16/2024 at 11:00 PM, Benarsenal said:

Perhaps the money spent is debatable. But I think it's worth reminding the younger generation what early post-independence Singapore was like.

Maybe should give the money to National Museum instead. They undergoing major reno now.

Exactly, that is what I thought. Why not do up the national museum?

On 9/17/2024 at 2:41 AM, Throttle2 said:

I support a founders memorial, but surely there is no need to spend so much.  

i support getting a nicer newer rubbish dump but surely there is no need to spend so much

therefore, my take is , there is no need to raise GST by almost 30% from 7% to 9% either becos there is no need to spend so much 

i also do not for one second think that the concept in balancing the nation’s budget is any different from me balancing my budget for my household.  Sure it may be more complicated of course since there are many more “items” but the basis is as simple as dont need dont spend.  If spend, is it worth the while and most importantly, where is the money coming from?  Am i going to have a surplus or deficit at the end of the year?  If i run surpluses for many years, can i use the surpluses to tide over short periods which i may have to run a deficit? 

The Govt should learn how to tighten its belt and not increase GST for spending.  I recall the ex PM say that we will only need to increase GST if we didnt watch how we spend or something to that effect.   so what happened?    Tell me!

Me too. The 335mil is impt that is why I put it in the question. Maybe there is value in the memorial but 335mil is a lot of money. Pap should market the 335 mil as making another tourist attraction like 2nd gardens by the bay so as to justify the cost…

in a way....

Instead of building a temple for buddha.... follow buddhas teachings instead.

When Buddha explicitly said not to have temple.... why insist on having new one?

Why "respect" him by openly going against when he wanted?

On 9/17/2024 at 5:08 AM, Wind30 said:

Exactly, that is what I thought. Why not do up the national museum?

Thought national museum is undergoing reno now.

On 9/16/2024 at 10:18 PM, Wind30 said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/founders-memorial-s-construction-set-to-cost-335-million

why gov spend so much money on this? Is there public support for this, if not why is pap doing this if it hurts them???

my fren says coz need to hit kpi in GDP measurement.....dunno how true...this can push contruction activities and push up the numbers...

dunno true or not.....

Is all about hitting the KPI numbers for them....else no big bonus payout...you think is for the pple meh...

my fren say one...

On 9/17/2024 at 8:57 AM, Spidey10 said:

my fren says coz need to hit kpi in GDP measurement.....dunno how true...this can push contruction activities and push up the numbers...

dunno true or not.....

Is all about hitting the KPI numbers for them....else no big bonus payout...you think is for the pple meh...

my fren say one...

Then they can simply build more residential facilities etc.. upgrade mindef campus etc. That'll push up construction numbers. 🤷‍♂️

Is parking going to be free there like Mandai Crem. ?? 

Oldready got Kranji War Memorial…… can do 2 in 1 leh 😇

Tot Ruffles is the founder …. All over SG got him already everywhere 

N

@RadX relatives like Sang Nila Utama and Parameswara ??

ok me out today to ruffle some feathers 😬

Edited by BanCoe

On 9/16/2024 at 11:00 PM, Benarsenal said:

Yes. The memorial can be aptly incorporated into the National museum.

the cost should be greatly reduced then and more justifiable.  

On 9/17/2024 at 8:57 AM, Spidey10 said:

dunno true or not.....

my fren say one...

Yes, even if we dont want to think that way, how not to think that way?  Hai………

imagine this, i cut my wife and childrens allowance, then go use it to buy a Ferrari which can only seat 2, despite already having 2 cars 

what kind of head of household would do that??

I think if gahment wants to spend 335 mill on such thing, who dare to challenge them? And i believe they can find 1001 ways to justify they need to spend such money.

On 9/17/2024 at 5:57 AM, RadX said:

IMG_3702.jpeg

he can provide a legit use case: force all students to go