Eyke Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/16/2024 at 10:18 PM, Wind30 said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/founders-memorial-s-construction-set-to-cost-335-million why gov spend so much money on this? Is there public support for this, if not why is pap doing this if it hurts them??? prease, how many COE auctions is S$335M? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 (edited) On 9/17/2024 at 5:12 AM, Wind30 said: Me too. The 335mil is impt that is why I put it in the question. Maybe there is value in the memorial but 335mil is a lot of money. Pap should market the 335 mil as making another tourist attraction like 2nd gardens by the bay so as to justify the cost… Why is $335 million chicken feet to the PAP? Since this is a car forum, we use COE as a revenue. Based on last round of bidding excluding motorbikes, CAT A: $96,490 x 983 = $94,849,670 CAT B: $106,300 x 665 = $70,689,500 CAT C : $74,000 x 216 = $15,984,000 OPEN CAT: $106,901 x 176 = $18,814,576 Total: $200,337,746 So every month there's 2 rounds of bidding. Chao chao $400 million easy money to the PAP every month lah from COEs alone, that's why can anyhow spend and justify the expenses 😂 Edited September 17, 2024 by Lethalstrike 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 The cost looks high. National museum (the current place) is bit limited lah. The exhibit areas are not particularly big. I think there should be a dedicated facility to learning about some of the issues and the realistic practical choices and direction that the 1st generation applied to both local and geopolitical problems. Video monologues by those who are still alive today (like Kishore Mahbubani) about some of the problems would be welcome. Would prefer it if there's focus on GKS and Rajaratnam instead of all being on LKY. The former Ford museum for WW2 is very well done. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 9:07 AM, Playtime said: Then they can simply build more residential facilities etc.. upgrade mindef campus etc. That'll push up construction numbers. 🤷♂️ exactly what's happening now....dun forget the big Kallang sports development ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 heard the current cost is excluding Land cost....so if factor in Land cost, ain't going to be $335 mil...more like $500 mil.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 9:52 AM, Throttle2 said: Yes, even if we dont want to think that way, how not to think that way? Hai……… imagine this, i cut my wife and childrens allowance, then go use it to buy a Ferrari which can only seat 2, despite already having 2 cars what kind of head of household would do that?? As the saying goes....coz they are given a blanc cheque .... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 10:06 AM, 13177 said: I think if gahment wants to spend 335 mill on such thing, who dare to challenge them? And i believe they can find 1001 ways to justify they need to spend such money. of course, of course.....as one famous Asso Prof says....blanc cheque... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 One hand cover sky… since when they ever need your support to do anything they want? 😬 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 As i always say, make your votes count. and KJ says “i dont want to hear any complaints” muayhahhahhahha 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 Last wk it was reported ah gong collected $80 billion in taxes $335M maciam loose change... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 11:20 AM, Soya said: Last wk it was reported ah gong collected $80 billion in taxes $335M maciam loose change... And therein lies the issue. Even when such amounts become “loose change” GST needs to be raised or did the raised GST bring in these loose change? I dont know I only know that either ways, to be prudent, one shouldnt fritter. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
limpeh6969 3rd Gear September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 10:36 AM, Spidey10 said: exactly what's happening now....dun forget the big Kallang sports development ... we shd just renamed National Stadium to LKY National Stadium. zero extra cost, other than updating some letterhead and what not do yall know that our national stadium is the largest dome structure in the world? that in itself is monumental! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 17, 2024 Author Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 10:49 AM, Enye said: One hand cover sky… since when they ever need your support to do anything they want? 😬 the STUPID thing is I think PAP built this to win votes, like drink water remember spring (ying shui xi yuan). PAP now feels they need support and that is why they are building this... but are they so out of touch that they don't realise this is an unpopular move which will cost them votes? Or at the very least don't spend too much especially since LKY was against this and everyone knows that. If it is really like LKY time, one hand cover sky, LKY don't bother with memorials... 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 (edited) Paint Gen 1 leaders' on Parliament Hose can liao! Or display in a spare room.https://www.nccs.com.sg/news/medical-news/nccs-bringing-in-proton-beam-therapy-for-safer-cancer-treatment $335m can buy three multi-patient Hitachi proton beam machines -- one each for NUH, KTPH, and NTFH. Edited September 17, 2024 by Kklim 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 12:04 PM, Wind30 said: the STUPID thing is I think PAP built this to win votes, like drink water remember spring (ying shui xi yuan). PAP now feels they need support and that is why they are building this... but are they so out of touch that they don't realise this is an unpopular move which will cost them votes? Or at the very least don't spend too much especially since LKY was against this and everyone knows that. If it is really like LKY time, one hand cover sky, LKY don't bother with memorials... He already said dun build anything in memory of him!!! simple english.... and I think he knows....pple use his name for political mileage.....he not stupid u know.... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 12:04 PM, Wind30 said: the STUPID thing is I think PAP built this to win votes, like drink water remember spring (ying shui xi yuan). PAP now feels they need support and that is why they are building this... but are they so out of touch that they don't realise this is an unpopular move which will cost them votes? Or at the very least don't spend too much especially since LKY was against this and everyone knows that. If it is really like LKY time, one hand cover sky, LKY don't bother with memorials... Well, i really hopes it will cost them more votes.....take it as a lesson...they are out of touch with the citizens on the ground... as i said it before and will say it again....use the money to provide healthcare for the elderly and those in need...i cringe to see the type of medicine that is provided.......1st world country but 3rd world medicine for our elderly...hai yah!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 Make your votes count! good luck Singapore good luck! 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 17, 2024 Share September 17, 2024 On 9/17/2024 at 2:41 AM, Throttle2 said: I support a founders memorial, but surely there is no need to spend so much. i support getting a nicer newer rubbish dump but surely there is no need to spend so much therefore, my take is , there is no need to raise GST by almost 30% from 7% to 9% either becos there is no need to spend so much i also do not for one second think that the concept in balancing the nation’s budget is any different from me balancing my budget for my household. Sure it may be more complicated of course since there are many more “items” but the basis is as simple as dont need dont spend. If spend, is it worth the while and most importantly, where is the money coming from? Am i going to have a surplus or deficit at the end of the year? If i run surpluses for many years, can i use the surpluses to tide over short periods which i may have to run a deficit? The Govt should learn how to tighten its belt and not increase GST for spending. I recall the ex PM say that we will only need to increase GST if we didnt watch how we spend or something to that effect. so what happened? Tell me! They are already spending extravagantly on their own salaries. And proposing such a thing at a time when most people are struggling, just shows time and again how consistently out of touch they are with the ground. Of course, in their gold plated ivory towers, who would expect them to see? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...