Aion V

steveting99

On 1/26/2026 at 4:05 PM, steveting99 said:

With GAC copying and following Tesla's flush door handle design on some it's models - it now has safety concerns and consequences. Was surprised that 15 people have died so far, when their Tesla's door handle couldn't be opened after a severe accident. Xiaomi SU7 fire incident is what caused China regulator scrutiny.  

Tesla makes a lot of cars for the Chinese market and exports some of them to the rest of the world, especially to RHD markets such as Singapore. Tesla's chief designer (Franz von Holzhausen) has confirmed that the door handle design will change.

There is a difference even though both the Aion and the Tesla has flush handles. On the Tesla, the lock and release is electronic, with a manual release/unlock as a back-up only from inside the car. There is no manual unlock on the Tesla when outside, unlike the Aion.

On 1/26/2026 at 12:46 PM, inlinesix said:

ICE car don't even have sensor.

After crash, will unlock meh?

Except when driving Malaysia, no need to lock doors here.

I think China also no need to lock. Cars so cheap, parts so many and cheap from TB, no need to carjack.

Edited by Volvobrick

On 1/26/2026 at 4:12 PM, Ake109 said:

There is a difference even though both the Aion and the Tesla has flush handles. On the Tesla, the lock and release is electronic, with a manual release/unlock as a back-up only from inside the car. There is no manual unlock on the Tesla when outside, unlike the Aion.

Good luck to GAC in convincing China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) that Aion V's retractable door handles that require an electric motor, with a functioning 12V electrical system to provide power in order for the handle to "pop out" when a severe collision event occurs. GAC needs to guarantee this is going to work 100% of the time. The result is either going to be compliant or non-compliant.

The end game is that China's intends to ban retractable door handles due to safety concerns. So for GAC to get an exemption on it's retractable door handle for the Aion V is going to be low probability event.

Even Volkswagen has decided to re-design it's semi-flush door handle on the ID.4, which BTW has a higher chance of passing the new GB standard. See picture of Volkswagen's semi-flush door handle design below. Note the ability to grab the door handle with a mechanical release mechanism. 

ID4_door_hadle.thumb.png.55d500a18c7b5f0fbb18fd048ebf7365.png

The face lifted ID.4 (now renamed ID.Tiguan) will use the standard mechanical door handles as shown and mentioned in the article here: https://paultan.org/2026/01/27/volkswagen-id-4-facelift-to-be-renamed-id-tiguan-in-line-with-other-evs-big-redesign-physical-buttons/

Edited by steveting99
typo, pic and additional text

On 1/27/2026 at 4:28 PM, steveting99 said:

Good luck to GAC in convincing China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) that Aion V's retractable door handles that require an electric motor, with a functioning 12V electrical system to provide power in order for the handle to "pop out" when a severe collision event occurs. GAC needs to guarantee this is going to work 100% of the time. The result is either going to be compliant or non-compliant.

The end game is that China's intends to ban retractable door handles due to safety concerns. So for GAC to get an exemption on it's retractable door handle for the Aion V is going to be low probability event.

Even Volkswagen has decided to re-design it's semi-flush door handle on the ID.4, which BTW has a higher chance of passing the new GB standard. See picture of Volkswagen's semi-flush door handle design below. Note the ability to grab the door handle with a mechanical release mechanism. 

ID4_door_hadle.thumb.png.55d500a18c7b5f0fbb18fd048ebf7365.png

The face lifted ID.4 (now renamed ID.Tiguan) will use the standard mechanical door handles as shown and mentioned in the article here: https://paultan.org/2026/01/27/volkswagen-id-4-facelift-to-be-renamed-id-tiguan-in-line-with-other-evs-big-redesign-physical-buttons/

On 1/26/2026 at 4:05 PM, steveting99 said:

Maybe I wasn't clear in the previous post, but the following article from Auto Blog clarifies on why China is banning retractable door handles from 1 January 2027 on all new models: https://www.autoblog.com/news/china-is-banning-tesla-style-retractable-door-handles-over-safety-concerns. GAC and other Chinese BEV manufacturers with models that have retractable door handles that make their ride look futuristic, sleek, aerodynamic and premium are all affected. Just like what Tesla did with their models. 

With GAC copying and following Tesla's flush door handle design on some it's models - it now has safety concerns and consequences. Was surprised that 15 people have died so far, when their Tesla's door handle couldn't be opened after a severe accident. Xiaomi SU7 fire incident is what caused China regulator scrutiny.  

Tesla makes a lot of cars for the Chinese market and exports some of them to the rest of the world, especially to RHD markets such as Singapore. Tesla's chief designer (Franz von Holzhausen) has confirmed that the door handle design will change.

ICE car might not have the collision sensor for door handles, because the typical ICE door handle isn't the flush retractable type that needs an electric motor to "pop" open the handle in the event of a severe collision. 

GAC would have another 25 months once the GB standard is issued and make good on existing models such as the Aion V, Y and Hyptec to comply. Or else risk not being able to legally sell in the world's largest car market. So sometime from 1 January 2027 February 2029.

Curious to know if GAC will come up solution with or simply kill off the models with retractable door handles all together. 

I don't know whether to laugh or to cry here. You keep posting selective distortions despite many people telling you the facts.

The language and tone you use in your posts suggest you are trolling or deliberately trying to cause reputational damage with falsehoods.

The Aion door handle is operated mechanically from both inside and outside at all times, it doesn't need a redesign because it functions exactly like any other mechanical handle. What's holding it in the flush position is just a tension spring that you simply push on with a finger. It doesn't need to pop up to be operated. Yet you keep harping on it.

Unlike other forumers who post subjective opinions, your posts often contain deliberate distortions and negative framing that is carefully crafted. 

On 1/27/2026 at 4:28 PM, steveting99 said:

Not all flush door handles = electronic door handles/non-mechanical door handles

You can have a dual system, where the electric servo can overcome the mechanical spring to push it out and in, but if the electrics kaput, your hand still can actuate the mechanical system underpinning it.

My own Sealion is exactly like that. Anytime I want, i can still pull the handle out manually by pushing it in on one side.

Edited by Ake109

I think he just has a beef with vincar.

Maybe he couldn’t get the deal he wanted without taking up the insurance or loan imposed.

Maybe he got the NG package and vincar did not get the COE for him.

Anyway, just take it with a pinch of salt (or a laugh) with whatever he said.

Actually, I think @steveting99 might be in the right and we interpreted the English text/headlines wrongly (in part due to the misleading way the English versions of the articles were written e.g., talk about flush handles in title but talk about electronic handle in text).

Based on a BT article today, there appears to be a clear requirement to have a recessed space of at least 2x6cm on the exterior.

Edited by Ake109

On 2/3/2026 at 11:12 AM, Ake109 said:

Actually, I think @steveting99 might be in the right and we interpreted the English text/headlines wrongly (in part due to the misleading way the English versions of the articles were written e.g., talk about flush handles in title but talk about electronic handle in text).

Based on a BT article today, there appears to be a clear requirement to have a recessed space of at least 2x6cm on the exterior.

This is the proposed requirement:

The handle and surrounding area must provide clear hand-operable space so someone can grip and pull it even if flush with the body. The draft sets a minimum operating space of roughly 60 × 20 × 25 mm irrespective of design position.

I am one that doesn't like flush door handle and I also don't like the idea of everything electrically controlled. 

Any changes for the better, why not? 

On 2/4/2026 at 9:36 AM, Victor68 said:

I am one that doesn't like flush door handle and I also don't like the idea of everything electrically controlled. 

Any changes for the better, why not? 

I ok with flush. I just hate the idea of electronics spoil and 3k repair bill because they dont sell you the servo only but need whole control board or something or the whole fuggin door.

On 2/4/2026 at 10:55 AM, Ake109 said:

I ok with flush. I just hate the idea of electronics spoil and 3k repair bill because they dont sell you the servo only but need whole control board or something or the whole fuggin door.

I thought many of today's EV come with at least 7 years warranty with some 10 years? 

On 2/4/2026 at 11:57 AM, Victor68 said:

I thought many of today's EV come with at least 7 years warranty with some 10 years? 

Wear and tear items not covered..

On 2/4/2026 at 12:00 PM, Tkseah said:

Wear and tear items not covered..

Alamak handle can wear off within a couple of years? Isn't it designed to take daily opening? 

On 2/4/2026 at 12:03 PM, Victor68 said:

Alamak handle can wear off within a couple of years? Isn't it designed to take daily opening? 

Within 1st year still can argue manufacturing fault.. I think the same applies for non EV brands and models also...

On 2/4/2026 at 12:03 PM, Victor68 said:

cannot like that say. hahaha. the fridge in my house also open daily. if the handle spoilt, they will also say wear and tear one. 😁

On 2/4/2026 at 10:55 AM, Ake109 said:

its like that now. LED headlights already one good example. last time can just change bulb for a few dollars. now is the whole bloody assembly for $3k

On 2/4/2026 at 3:26 PM, Mkl22 said:

its like that now. LED headlights already one good example. last time can just change bulb for a few dollars. now is the whole bloody assembly for $3k

Talking about head lights. Somehow the new head lights are so bright that it blind you from the opposite side. LTA no care liao har?