Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/10/2025 at 7:50 AM, Soya said: First time I hear someone's buying decision hinges on a door handle.....lol I need to get a grip on this one 🤭 ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 8:25 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all again, so there is no clear answers on whether if the distributorship were to end, what happen to the batt warranty? I am not really concerned about servicing or other parts warranty as Jaecoo is huge in Malaysia, but the batt warranty. I asked cos the sales executive claimed that the batt warranty is manufacturer's, and I am just wondering how to claim on that if the distributorship is given up. Was hoping that someone check the fineprint on the sales contract. I will ask the SE for the fine print then. Thank you all. Vertex should continue with the warranty support back to back with the manufacturer, just like how it was done when they pulled Chery out in 2019. If they chapter 11, Chery would usually appoint some other company to continue the support. Those brands that pulled out also had similar arrangements. AR, Opel, Seat etc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 8:47 AM, Theoldjaffa said: I need to get a grip on this one 🤭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 8:42 AM, Theoldjaffa said: I am also one that buys a popular model. Cos I’m new to EV so I need the assurance of support and warranty. Unlike ICE where I know how to get parts and where to go for 3rd party service.. that’s what I gar gar buy non mainstream models. As I mentioned earlier, the EV buyer market isn't matured yet in Sg so it's naturally safety in numbers A few years later when ppl are buying EV for 2nd or 3rd time, I don't think BYD will be such a predictable choice But then looking at how toyota was the default choice for the longest time, maybe I'm wrong 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 8:33 AM, Tianmo said: Maybe the most direct is to email the manufacturer? If it takes ownership it will have to direct you somewhere? IF they even respond, I bet they will infinite loop you by directing you to local distributor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 10:44 AM, Soya said: As I mentioned earlier, the EV buyer market isn't matured yet in Sg so it's naturally safety in numbers A few years later when ppl are buying EV for 2nd or 3rd time, I don't think BYD will be such a predictable choice But then looking at how toyota was the default choice for the longest time, maybe I'm wrong A lot will depend on how Sinkies perceive their aftermarket support. Lets see which one is the lazy one and which one bothers. Or all fckers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 10:49 AM, Ake109 said: A lot will depend on how Sinkies perceive their aftermarket support. Lets see which one is the lazy one and which one bothers. Or all fckers. Probably the latter as I dun think we have sufficiently capable EV experts locally Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 (edited) On 12/11/2025 at 10:56 AM, Soya said: Probably the latter as I dun think we have sufficiently capable EV experts locally Well, most EVs dont need that much maintenance. Besides, the outright EV powertrain repairs, its things like ease of warranty (see difference between Lexus and MI) claim, stocking of glass and body panels, or wait 6 mths for door handle. All these seemingly small details. See which AD bother to invest lor. I am betting that when this BYD sinkie hype dies down, there will be too many BYD agents and except for Sime, one or more of the smaller ones will close down. Don't buy BYD, not cool. Edited December 11, 2025 by Ake109 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 11:00 AM, Ake109 said: I am betting that when this BYD sinkie hype dies down, there will be too many BYD agents and except for Sime, one or more of the smaller ones will close down. Don't buy BYD, not cool. Lol...even folks like you who hv owned some cool wheels in the past still gravitated to BYD The mass of ex-Vezel, Corolla, camry owners dun stand a chance....lol 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 10:44 AM, Soya said: As I mentioned earlier, the EV buyer market isn't matured yet in Sg so it's naturally safety in numbers A few years later when ppl are buying EV for 2nd or 3rd time, I don't think BYD will be such a predictable choice But then looking at how toyota was the default choice for the longest time, maybe I'm wrong Toyota have did something correct for the longest time mah. It is boring, predictable but super reliable. Alot of drivers don't want to drive a spirited drive, they just want a car that move, air con is super cold, decent boot size, if i forget to service my car on time, it won't spoilt the car also. Toyota is that household brand mah. Is like if you buy aircon, Mitsubishi will always be the top choice. even thou they have no wifi and blah blah blah. you still go for it. I mean I still go for it. hahaha. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 11:08 AM, Soya said: Lol...even folks like you who hv owned some cool wheels in the past still gravitated to BYD The mass of ex-Vezel, Corolla, camry owners dun stand a chance....lol At least BYD got some button mah 😂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 (edited) On 12/11/2025 at 11:08 AM, Soya said: Lol...even folks like you who hv owned some cool wheels in the past still gravitated to BYD The mass of ex-Vezel, Corolla, camry owners dun stand a chance....lol Uncle liao. And last time no car and speed cams everywhere. Before 9-11, when Jurong Island was new, do about 4x limit on the bridge part. No way I dare do even half that nowadays. Nowadays, on highway, even when doing near 100, when going under overhead bridge is worry. Also, and this is part of unkerhood, I do not really miss squatting at the workshop for 5k oil change, downpipes and shit. I am sure all the unkers in this forum, many will look back at the stunts done in old days and think its sibei lucky never honggan kena accident or tankap by polis or court case. Edited December 11, 2025 by Ake109 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 11:27 AM, inlinesix said: At least BYD got some button mah 😂 eh you dun laugh. That WAS a factor in the decision. The steering wheel buttons (non haptic non one piece) and those on the center console. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 11:30 AM, Ake109 said: Uncle liao. And last time no car and speed cams everywhere. Before 9-11, when Jurong Island was new, do about 4x limit on the bridge part. No way I dare do even half that nowadays. Nowadays, on highway, even when doing near 100, when going under overhead bridge is worry. Also, and this is part of unkerhood, I do not really miss squatting at the workshop for 5k oil change, downpipes and shit. I am sure all the unkers in this forum, many will look back at the stunts done in old days and think its sibei lucky never honggan kena accident or tankap by polis or court case. Luckily I allergic to mods But i dun miss those days when SM Motors was a 2nd home. I drove home so many different courtesy cars from them that my neighbours thot I was some sales guy working for them....lol 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 12:58 PM, Soya said: Luckily I allergic to mods But i dun miss those days when SM Motors was a 2nd home. I drove home so many different courtesy cars from them that my neighbours thot I was some sales guy working for them....lol SM? Volvo? Those old pre 2000 Volvos I thought very reliable one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 11:21 AM, kobayashiGT said: Toyota have did something correct for the longest time mah. It is boring, predictable but super reliable. Alot of drivers don't want to drive a spirited drive, they just want a car that move, air con is super cold, decent boot size, if i forget to service my car on time, it won't spoilt the car also. Toyota is that household brand mah. Is like if you buy aircon, Mitsubishi will always be the top choice. even thou they have no wifi and blah blah blah. you still go for it. I mean I still go for it. hahaha. Things that perform an utilitarian function without any emotional attachment like aircon, fridge ok la. Gets the job done, no fuss Rented a Camry Hybrid recently in Oz. Also very utilitarian (big boot, good FC) n no emotional attachment (rental mah) Ok for a few days, got the job done no fuss but can't imagine paying monthly instalments n living w it for years.....lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/9/2025 at 9:33 PM, Soya said: VAG EVs are actually the market leader in Europe Frenchies also do well in Europe. But they are turds in SEA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:05 PM, Ake109 said: SM? Volvo? Those old pre 2000 Volvos I thought very reliable one? I was the pioneer batch of the Volvo S40T4 (when the T actually meant something). Was impressed by how quick it was after I kena chased down by TP who were using the T4 as a highway pursuit car at the time ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...