Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:11 PM, Soya said: Things that perform an utilitarian function without any emotional attachment like aircon, fridge ok la. Gets the job done, no fuss Rented a Camry Hybrid recently in Oz. Also very utilitarian (big boot, good FC) n no emotional attachment (rental mah) But for cars, no matter how turd, I got emotional attachment to all of them after some time one. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 12:58 PM, Soya said: Luckily I allergic to mods But i dun miss those days when SM Motors was a 2nd home. I drove home so many different courtesy cars from them that my neighbours thot I was some sales guy working for them....lol I saw bills from sm motors/wearnes…. Ouch…. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:17 PM, Ake109 said: But for cars, no matter how turd, I got emotional attachment to all of them after some time one. I test drove a hafei minz for fun back in 2008/9…. all I can say it’s a f**king death trap. If you need to zam brake to save your life…. I think 10prayers might be more useful. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:19 PM, Mkl22 said: I saw bills from sm motors/wearnes…. Ouch…. Under warranty so tink the claims outstripped the profits....lol Not much choice at the time if one wanted something quick n didn’t look ah beng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:16 PM, Soya said: I was the pioneer batch of the Volvo S40T4 (when the T actually meant something). Was impressed by how quick it was after I kena chased down by TP who were using the T4 as a highway pursuit car at the time Oh, my time in the UK was 850R. Damn fast for its time, I really wanted one but poor student no money. The S40T4 not reliable meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 1:12 PM, Mkl22 said: Frenchies also do well in Europe. But they are turds in SEA. frenchie have the Alpine A290. I like leh! hahaha. Still have pocket rocket blood on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 So after the long detour OT...... .....is the J7 a will buy, won't buy or go try? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 9:11 PM, Soya said: So after the long detour OT...... .....is the J7 a will buy, won't buy or go try? I won’t buy. Share the same thoughts as this guy on PHEV. Either full ICE or full EV for me, no hybrids of any form. The J6 looks more interesting. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 10:00 PM, Theoldjaffa said: I won’t buy. Share the same thoughts as this guy on PHEV. Either full ICE or full EV for me, no hybrids of any form. The J6 looks more interesting. Those people who cannot change from full petrol to full EV, would then buy PHEV so that they can have best of both world lo. Can either run on petrol or run on battery, no need to stress. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 9:11 PM, Soya said: So after the long detour OT...... .....is the J7 a will buy, won't buy or go try? I will buy J7 due to the design of the car only. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/11/2025 at 10:11 PM, 13177 said: Those people who cannot change from full petrol to full EV, would then buy PHEV so that they can have best of both world lo. Can either run on petrol or run on battery, no need to stress. Lol. If not ready to go EV, then just stick to ICE Hybrids was created at a time when burning a bit less fossil fuel was the answer to going green. But a hybrid is still a ICE car but a more complicated one, lugging around 2 drivetrains instead of 1 and land up costing more EVs are simpler, cleaner, more efficient and hv basically rendered hybrids obsolete So, if scare this scare that abt EVs juz stick to ICE as hybrids ain't the answer 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2025 Share December 11, 2025 On 12/12/2025 at 12:09 AM, Soya said: If not ready to go EV, then just stick to ICE Hybrids was created at a time when burning a bit less fossil fuel was the answer to going green. But a hybrid is still a ICE car but a more complicated one, lugging around 2 drivetrains instead of 1 and land up costing more EVs are simpler, cleaner, more efficient and hv basically rendered hybrids obsolete So, if scare this scare that abt EVs juz stick to ICE as hybrids ain't the answer This is why there are PHEV available for this people who scare this scare that. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 On 12/12/2025 at 6:32 AM, 13177 said: This is why there are PHEV available for this people who scare this scare that. Lol. So it's a will buy or go try for u?.....😄 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 On the contrary I think PHEV are suitable for certain situations, such as those whose daily weekday commute is less than 60km but would travel far over the weekends constantly. If in SG, such situation would be those who travel up North a few times a month. Or if living in big country like Malaysia. For those who live in small country and do not like to drive out of the country or those whose live is confined to within radius of 50km, getting a PHEV is not meaningful. But if PHEV need to be charged everyday, then the worry would be whether the battery can tahan this charging pattern and how good is the car dealer in handling battery warranty issues. But not an issue if the cost of replacing the battery is not that much. Also need to consider availability of chargers as you will be facing it on daily basis. The situation now is ok does not mean will be ok 5 years down the road especially come 2030 when no more new ICE cars would be allowed to be registered. By then we will truly know if the current charging infra is ready or not. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowcat 1st Gear December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 May I check something with existing owners: 1. how did Jaecoo charge for the first few servicing? I was told by SE that it will be a "couple of hundred". No free servicing at Jaecoo. 2. I assume that servicing for 10 years must be done at Vertex to protect batt warranty? 3. I quite like the J6 or J7, any real world users can comment any drawbacks? 4. ARF - i see that there is ARF like 32k? so not true that one gets nothing back after 10 years? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 On 12/12/2025 at 9:13 AM, Slowcat said: May I check something with existing owners: 1. how did Jaecoo charge for the first few servicing? I was told by SE that it will be a "couple of hundred". No free servicing at Jaecoo. 2. I assume that servicing for 10 years must be done at Vertex to protect batt warranty? 3. I quite like the J6 or J7, any real world users can comment any drawbacks? 4. ARF - i see that there is ARF like 32k? so not true that one gets nothing back after 10 years? Thanks J6 scrap value jilo after VES+EEAI rebate J7 scrap value ard 15k after VES rebate but no EEAI since not EV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 (edited) On 12/12/2025 at 9:02 AM, Heartlander said: On the contrary I think PHEV are suitable for certain situations, such as those whose daily weekday commute is less than 60km but would travel far over the weekends constantly. If in SG, such situation would be those who travel up North a few times a month. Or if living in big country like Malaysia. For those who live in small country and do not like to drive out of the country or those whose live is confined to within radius of 50km, getting a PHEV is not meaningful. But if PHEV need to be charged everyday, then the worry would be whether the battery can tahan this charging pattern and how good is the car dealer in handling battery warranty issues. But not an issue if the cost of replacing the battery is not that much. Also need to consider availability of chargers as you will be facing it on daily basis. The situation now is ok does not mean will be ok 5 years down the road especially come 2030 when no more new ICE cars would be allowed to be registered. By then we will truly know if the current charging infra is ready or not. Actually a lot of the PHEVs can recharge the battery (quite significantly) using the engine and regen braking. So if you go on those long trips using the engine, you can recover quite a good amount of charge for the battery. Edited December 12, 2025 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 12, 2025 Share December 12, 2025 On 12/12/2025 at 8:55 AM, Soya said: So it's a will buy or go try for u?.....😄 Go try la since it is a PHEV. Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...