Gunzy 4th Gear August 22 Share August 22 On 8/22/2025 at 2:46 PM, Atrecord said: aiyoh... TTSH still so long arrh? i fed up with SKGH... yest afternoon my father who is on blood thinner, had a cut on his tongue and bleeding won't stop... so brought him to SKGH A&E again... and waited 4 hr from arrival till go home... during the wait, the bleeding finally stopped on its own, and the doc who finally saw himn after 3.5 hr, said will give him a mouth gargle... which pharmacist said is for mouth inflammation and pain... both of which he doesn't have... still tot of next time maybe bring him back to TTSH, used to go there before SKGH opened... maybe consider AH instead. heard the waiting time there is the shortest of all RHs. even though much much further away, but could still be able to go home earlier... wonder if a mobile doctor can handle such case? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 22 Share August 22 On 8/22/2025 at 8:48 PM, Gunzy said: wonder if a mobile doctor can handle such case? i actually checked with 2 nearby GPs beforehand. One (old clinic/doc, think semi/post-retired) straight said he can't do much, asked to bring to A&E direct. Another (new clinic, younger docs), said must assess first, no guarantee can do anything... so i tot save the trouble, went straight to A&E... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 22 Share August 22 (edited) On 8/22/2025 at 2:46 PM, Atrecord said: aiyoh... TTSH still so long arrh? i fed up with SKGH... yest afternoon my father who is on blood thinner, had a cut on his tongue and bleeding won't stop... so brought him to SKGH A&E again... and waited 4 hr from arrival till go home... during the wait, the bleeding finally stopped on its own, and the doc who finally saw himn after 3.5 hr, said will give him a mouth gargle... which pharmacist said is for mouth inflammation and pain... both of which he doesn't have... still tot of next time maybe bring him back to TTSH, used to go there before SKGH opened... maybe consider AH instead. heard the waiting time there is the shortest of all RHs. even though much much further away, but could still be able to go home earlier... Many many years ago. I have a deep cut in my finger. Happened late at night. Was living in the west then. Told my dad to drive me to AH. Got attended to almost immediately and got it stitched. Guess my experience as a medic then helped as I knew which hospitals load were not as high and for which the standard cases can be attended to relatively quickly. it is was a bad burn, will go to sgh direct. As they have the best burn unit in sg. for something like an infectious disease, then TTSH. As they have always been known as a TB centre and SARs covid helped further establish them in this area. Hence from my view not every hospital is equal. Edited August 22 by Mkl22 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic August 23 Share August 23 On 8/22/2025 at 4:50 PM, Atrecord said: huh... A&E dun allow 'walk in' meh? AH only have critical care unit not A&E. Not sure what's the difference but sounds like a step down from A&E. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 23 Share August 23 (edited) On 8/22/2025 at 11:16 PM, Atrecord said: i actually checked with 2 nearby GPs beforehand. One (old clinic/doc, think semi/post-retired) straight said he can't do much, asked to bring to A&E direct. Another (new clinic, younger docs), said must assess first, no guarantee can do anything... so i tot save the trouble, went straight to A&E... your father's condition actually not much can be done. So just tampah until it stops since it's just a slow capillary ooze... other areas can do pressure bandage. It will stop eventually. but maybe hours later. Edited August 23 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 23 Share August 23 On 8/23/2025 at 9:38 AM, TangoCharlie said: AH only have critical care unit not A&E. Not sure what's the difference but sounds like a step down from A&E. Went there twice (once for helper with knife cut). I guess for cuts, fractures and obvious light injuries can go there. I am sure if too serious they will refer the patients to another hospital. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 23 Share August 23 (edited) On 8/23/2025 at 9:38 AM, TangoCharlie said: AH only have critical care unit not A&E. Not sure what's the difference but sounds like a step down from A&E. Critical care cannot do major tests and checks like X-ray. And their functionality is greatly reduced at night time hours. They can still attend to you if not so serious, but otherwise they will still refer you to A&E. Edited August 23 by Benarsenal 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 23 Share August 23 On 8/23/2025 at 11:37 AM, Benarsenal said: Critical care cannot do major tests and checks like X-ray. And their functionality is greatly reduced at night time hours. They can still attend to you if not so serious, but otherwise they will still refer you to A&E. Not true. Did head MRI there also even though I didn't want to do it. It was weekend evening. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 23 Share August 23 @Ody_2004Your Dad's Funeral settled.?Take a good rest,maybe after that you still need to sette his Will,House Title & Bank Accounts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Supercharged August 23 Share August 23 On 8/22/2025 at 11:16 PM, Atrecord said: i actually checked with 2 nearby GPs beforehand. One (old clinic/doc, think semi/post-retired) straight said he can't do much, asked to bring to A&E direct. Another (new clinic, younger docs), said must assess first, no guarantee can do anything... so i tot save the trouble, went straight to A&E... Actually for such , no need even waste time go see GP lo , can just go Mt E novena straight .. wait normally less than 20 mins , charges of course higher than PH but for old and elderly , blood loss can sometimes turn very serious fast .. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 23 Author Share August 23 (edited) On 8/23/2025 at 12:24 PM, ER-3682 said: @Ody_2004Your Dad's Funeral settled.?Take a good rest,maybe after that you still need to sette his Will,House Title & Bank Accounts. Today the journey to mandai. yes quite alot need to follow up both locally and overseas. Edited August 23 by Ody_2004 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 23 Share August 23 On 8/23/2025 at 12:42 PM, Ody_2004 said: Today the journey to mandai. yes quite alot need to follow up both locally and overseas. Take Care... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator August 25 Share August 25 On 8/22/2025 at 2:46 PM, Atrecord said: aiyoh... TTSH still so long arrh? i fed up with SKGH... yest afternoon my father who is on blood thinner, had a cut on his tongue and bleeding won't stop... so brought him to SKGH A&E again... and waited 4 hr from arrival till go home... during the wait, the bleeding finally stopped on its own, and the doc who finally saw himn after 3.5 hr, said will give him a mouth gargle... which pharmacist said is for mouth inflammation and pain... both of which he doesn't have... still tot of next time maybe bring him back to TTSH, used to go there before SKGH opened... maybe consider AH instead. heard the waiting time there is the shortest of all RHs. even though much much further away, but could still be able to go home earlier... yah, TTSH damn long. I think their catchment area is very big plus aging population at that area. Last week my FIL also met an accident and was bleeding, he was also on blood thinner. Went to TTSH, i think he was at the triage area for 5 hours before going to the observation ward to rest for the rest of the day. He stays balestier area, so confirm go TTSH one. easier for them. Lucky only superficial abrasion on his leg and hand and face, no concussion or anything. If not sleepless nights again. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25 Share August 25 (edited) On 8/23/2025 at 12:36 PM, Hubwee said: Actually for such , no need even waste time go see GP lo , can just go Mt E novena straight .. wait normally less than 20 mins , charges of course higher than PH but for old and elderly , blood loss can sometimes turn very serious fast .. Lol. my sis recently asked me about her friend's mount E (cant rem novena/elizabeth) charges for food poisoning visit. Ask me if got any case for complaint of overcharging. 700+ dollars for a food poisoning visit. I said don't bother complaining. The consultation charge seems like the same as RH A&E. But the add-ons are no joke one ... Edited August 25 by Lala81 2 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25 Share August 25 On 8/25/2025 at 9:49 AM, kobayashiGT said: yah, TTSH damn long. I think their catchment area is very big plus aging population at that area. Last week my FIL also met an accident and was bleeding, he was also on blood thinner. Went to TTSH, i think he was at the triage area for 5 hours before going to the observation ward to rest for the rest of the day. He stays balestier area, so confirm go TTSH one. easier for them. Lucky only superficial abrasion on his leg and hand and face, no concussion or anything. If not sleepless nights again. didn't know you married liao. Congrats ! 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 25 Share August 25 On 8/25/2025 at 10:01 AM, Lala81 said: Lol. my sis recently asked me about her friend's mount E (cant rem novena/elizabeth) charges for food poisoning visit. Ask me if got any case for complaint of overcharging. 700+ dollars for a food poisoning visit. I said don't bother complaining. The consultation charge seems like the same as RH A&E. But the add-ons are no joke one ... any treatment given? more than 10yrs ago i went to Mt E when i had tingling and sudden pain on my right eye, the doctor check and test but couldn't find out what causes the pain, i went home with $800 bill and 1 week later the shingles pop out on half of my face. 3 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 25 Share August 25 On 8/25/2025 at 10:03 AM, Lala81 said: didn't know you married liao. Congrats ! i was about to ask did i miss out something along the way, i not so active in the meet up but still watching the forum 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25 Share August 25 (edited) On 8/25/2025 at 10:07 AM, Jman888 said: any treatment given? more than 10yrs ago i went to Mt E when i had tingling and sudden pain on my right eye, the doctor check and test but couldn't find out what causes the pain, i went home with $800 bill and 1 week later the shingles pop out on half of my face. One jab. antibiotic syrup + some anti vomiting tablet. Pre-shingles pain can be tricky. 1 week is bit long though. Usually it's like 3-4 days at most the pain preceding. Edited August 25 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...