Who's right?

SGCM928

What is your opinions?  

22 members have voted

1. 1. The owner is wrong to insist on corkage charges for bringing your own drink?

• Owner has the rights to impose corkage charges
    • Owner should not impose corkage charges
    • Owner should exercise flexibility in imposing corkage charges
  2. 2. Are the 1 star on google review appropriate?

• People are entitled to post what they think / feel
    • People should only post their real experience
    • This is a form of cyber bullying

5th Gear
On 4/15/2026 at 12:02 PM, Jamesc said:

$2 cockage charge is very cheap.

My MIL ask if she bring my wine from my collection also $2?

Which restaurant? She wants to go.

Mai ga li gong ... I can help you save your wine  ....

On 4/15/2026 at 9:08 AM, Scion said:

what kind of logic is this

u mean customers cannot dabao food home

Logic is

If want to tabao then pay for the materials cost. 

If don't want to pay the material cost, then don't tabao and eat there.

On 4/15/2026 at 3:03 PM, Atonchia said:

Logic is

If want to tabao then pay for the materials cost. 

If don't want to pay the material cost, then don't tabao and eat there.

but the satay case they use small plastic bag for tabao kopi that type, if container 30cents is fine.

I ever tabao at a char chan tang each container 60cents, I order like 10 or 12 dishes total like $6 just for container, and if same dish order 2 portion they dun put together in 1 container, they use 2 container,  win liao lor!

We are spoiled of choices when come to food. Why get yourself worked up with a little fish in the ocean?

If they have rules clearly stated, decide before entering. Not happy, that will be your last visit. That is how I act for regular shopping too. 

The restaurant boss sounds very reasonable to me. 

This is typical cb cheapskates. Already kena reminded many times but still act victim afterwards. Cannot afford restaurant then eat food court lah don't beat own swollen face pretend to be fatty. 

The customer had arrived with his family at 8.15pm, and his helper had placed a large 1.5-litre bottle of mineral water on the table. The restaurant’s two servers saw the two children drinking from the bottle and repeatedly reminded the group that drinks not bought on the premises were not allowed.

Mr Chia says he does not object when customers bring their own water bottles from home, but draws the line at diners buying bottled drinks elsewhere and consuming them on his premises.

Edited by Jellandross

On 4/15/2026 at 11:09 AM, Bezbee said:

All the rising cost is also taking a toll on the hawkers too.   

In the past when hawkers wash their own plates, they never charge for additional bowl request.  I don't know whose idea to implement central washing and hawker had to incur additional cost.  I guess this is the new trend forward and we may just need to adjust with times.  Long gone are the days when mata wear shorts and everyone are not so calculative, kampung spirits are hard to come by these days.

Let's be more conscious and do our part for the environment, example, if tabao, refrain from taking those disposable utensils, and keep a set of utensils in the office.  Will be great if you bring your own containers too.  I know it is mafan for some people, but let's start with something small.

Because last time easier for hawkers to find helper for each stall.

Now a lot of hawkers cannot find helper... So who to wash utensils? Then central washing because the next best options.

Already not enough time to serve hungry people in the queue. Where got time to wash bowls and plates?😅

On 4/15/2026 at 12:02 PM, Jamesc said:

$2 cockage charge is very cheap.

My MIL ask if she bring my wine from my collection also $2?

Which restaurant? She wants to go.

Wines probably $30 corkage.

On 4/14/2026 at 3:18 PM, Gnahp said:

free leh

I told uncle I really don't want to drink anything 😅

uncle got very good EQ... good business man... or employee. But wait boss kan him for being nice to you😅

On 4/15/2026 at 11:09 AM, Bezbee said:

All the rising cost is also taking a toll on the hawkers too.   

In the past when hawkers wash their own plates, they never charge for additional bowl request.  I don't know whose idea to implement central washing and hawker had to incur additional cost.  I guess this is the new trend forward and we may just need to adjust with times.  Long gone are the days when mata wear shorts and everyone are not so calculative, kampung spirits are hard to come by these days.

Let's be more conscious and do our part for the environment, example, if tabao, refrain from taking those disposable utensils, and keep a set of utensils in the office.  Will be great if you bring your own containers too.  I know it is mafan for some people, but let's start with something small.

some say... those centralise washing etc etc... also got connections one, got interest to protect. 🤫

On 4/16/2026 at 5:32 PM, Atonchia said:

Wines probably $30 corkage.

Yeah too ex I told her not to touch my wine!

On 4/16/2026 at 5:56 PM, Playtime said:

uncle got very good EQ... good business man... or employee. But wait boss kan him for being nice to you😅

I think that one is his retirement job to kill time, can tell unker worked in corporate environment before, probably senior management level and above 

This type of stall id say boycott them lor. 

The cost of a tiny plastic bag is not 30c. Profit margin far more then the satay itself. In ROI terms,  it's selling plastic bags ... not satay. 

https://www.stomp.sg/singapore-seen/man-upset-over-0-90-charge-3-takeaway-plastic-bags-bidadari-satay-stall-hits-back?ref=singapore-seen&utm_campaign=stomp_ao_stomp-FY26_camp_tbl_pageview_sg_en_all&utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=taboola&utm_content=15Apr_article_NA_Singapore+Seen_NA_NA_PlasticChargeTakeaway_defenceblog

Man upset over $0.90 charge for 3 takeaway plastic bags, Bidadari satay stall hits back

17763736742502987234380607187478.jpg.c334f5f127aa3753770110643d9c4e11.jpg

You your own health's sake and that of the environment, want to to ta pau, bring your own heat-resistant containers. Stainless steel is best. These plastic bags shown above are not meant for hot items. Especially severe when hot soup and gravy are poured into these bags. You are feeding BPA and PFAS to your family. Also never microwave food in plastic containers. 

I always bring my own stainless steel tingkat to ta pau. For even bigger portions to ta pau, I bring my Corning glass containers. I only take and willingly pay for those plastic boxes (never plastic bags) in emergency situations when I am caught with no container and need to ta pau. 

Of course everybody expect hawkers to be poor their whole life to serve the community right?

How can they suka suka earn 20 cents more from us? 

Edited by Jellandross

On 4/17/2026 at 9:48 PM, Jellandross said:

Of course everybody expect hawkers to be poor their whole life to serve the community right?

I am a regular of this stall and know the boss 

authentic, nice and honest thai food

wife is Thai and he hires Thai tao chiu in the kitchen

we don't need to clear the table after meal

I think he has some arrangement with the cleaners

that one alone already worth more than 20 cents 😁

I spent half an hour listening to boss ranting just now, also showed my support and encouragement 😁

20260419_182013.thumb.jpg.2a34a259bbaf3c35e0b5eccf32dbca81.jpg

20260419_182308.thumb.jpg.7f42c9f5c63762946c028b2c4dbd87c1.jpg

20260419_182454.thumb.jpg.c97b7fb14afc825dc1c26e0ed8c7378c.jpg

20260419_181737.thumb.jpg.a938103e06cb66ff9e53563f81c331a2.jpg

20260419_184131.thumb.jpg.890f70e0603e4acd41647d455a0013d1.jpg

On 4/17/2026 at 9:48 PM, Jellandross said:

this one reasonable.

On 4/17/2026 at 12:44 PM, serenade said:

You your own health's sake and that of the environment, want to to ta pau, bring your own heat-resistant containers. Stainless steel is best. These plastic bags shown above are not meant for hot items. Especially severe when hot soup and gravy are poured into these bags. You are feeding BPA and PFAS to your family. Also never microwave food in plastic containers. 

I always bring my own stainless steel tingkat to ta pau. For even bigger portions to ta pau, I bring my Corning glass containers. I only take and willingly pay for those plastic boxes (never plastic bags) in emergency situations when I am caught with no container and need to ta pau. 

Put one set of containers in the car, permanently. That’s what I do. Cause I stingy and don’t want to pay for container….🤣

walked back to car park from the stall a few time already cause realized I forgot to bring the containers out.