Who's right?

SGCM928

What is your opinions?  

22 members have voted

1. 1. The owner is wrong to insist on corkage charges for bringing your own drink?

• Owner has the rights to impose corkage charges
    • Owner should not impose corkage charges
    • Owner should exercise flexibility in imposing corkage charges
  2. 2. Are the 1 star on google review appropriate?

• People are entitled to post what they think / feel
    • People should only post their real experience
    • This is a form of cyber bullying

On 4/14/2026 at 7:02 PM, Jman888 said:

china/chinese restaurant has different service SOP, I think some allowed outside drinks here.

Last week in Beijing most if not all the chinese restaurant let customers bring their own drinks, to the extend that customer can order 美团 to deliver the drink to the restaurant doorstep 😅 even when the drink shop only 2 floor below the restaurant 😂

Operating costs are different lah.

In China even if they sacrifice a few dollars from drinks and whatnot, still can survive. In SG definitely cannot because the margin is so thin.

On 4/14/2026 at 5:55 PM, Gnahp said:

got 😅

Macam some table etiquette...someone offers better take...push aside means parang cums out liao...😅

On 4/14/2026 at 7:25 PM, mersaylee said:

Macam some table etiquette...someone offers better take...push aside means parang cums out liao...😅

yes, you understand the scene 😅

I felt paiseh, uncle went the extra mile to balance between his boss and customers, trying to make everyone happy

if I don't touch the mug at all

will appeared a bit small gas

On 4/14/2026 at 3:14 PM, Beregond said:

Online review/rating is double edge sword, Can only say , if cannot take onlike bully, dun rely on online review as a important  source advertisement etc.

There are as many fake good reviews as much as fake bad reviews out there.

Its just how u make use of it.

If u do business esp service sector, u gonna have unhappy customer 1 way or another. most of the time unhappy customer will give bad reviews, while happy customer wont give good review. 

Sometimes the review of F&B venues are not truly genuine. 

Some give 10% discount when you like their social media or post a review. 

So such venues usually have very high traffic. Doesn't really meant their food is really nice. 

On 4/14/2026 at 8:00 PM, Atonchia said:

Sometimes the review of F&B venues are not truly genuine. 

Some give 10% discount when you like their social media or post a review. 

So such venues usually have very high traffic. Doesn't really meant their food is really nice. 

Maybe i old school.

But i never see review 1. Lol

On 4/14/2026 at 8:47 PM, Beregond said:

Maybe i old school.

You probably get actual peer review AKA real friends recommendation. 🤣 

I also take social media review with pinches of salts😄

Maybe i old school.

I also never see review one.

I will just try for myself and find out.

Maybe i old school.

Not ole skool

Just boomer🤭

On 4/14/2026 at 6:28 PM, Benarsenal said:

I think cannot compare lah.

There is very strong suspicion that the PRC establishments are not making any profits but are just money laundering fronts to siphon money out of China. So they can offer free this free that without caring about costs.

It's definitely not a fair playing field when compared to local homegrown F&B.

This is potential defamation stuff.

And not all are chain and flashy restaurants. There are also mom and pop PRC small eateries here ran by new migrants. But they brought along good mindset in doing business here. Some give refill of rice or noodles.

On 4/14/2026 at 10:59 PM, Davidklt said:

This is potential defamation stuff.

And not all are chain and flashy restaurants. There are also mom and pop PRC small eateries here ran by new migrants. But they brought along good mindset in doing business here. Some give refill of rice or noodles.

I won't say all, but probably a good number.

We all know the cost of doing business in SG. Yet companies like Luckin Coffee can constantly offer coffee deals for $1/$2 all the time. Something doesn't add up.

The smaller no name ones probably easier to go under the radar.

On 4/14/2026 at 11:25 PM, Benarsenal said:

I won't say all, but probably a good number.

We all know the cost of doing business in SG. Yet companies like Luckin Coffee can constantly offer coffee deals for $1/$2 all the time. Something doesn't add up.

The smaller no name ones probably easier to go under the radar.

It always ez to say money laundering when don’t understand.

Go ACRA & buy their financial lo

On 4/14/2026 at 10:51 AM, Lala81 said:

If u want to eat on the restaurant's premises, then u should follow some basic rules right.

If u use own water bottle, people can't say much. But if u bring in bottled water. then It's not right.

I don't believe that any parent will let the kids use normal mineral water bottle as a pure water bottle in this day and age. Even the poor kids have their own water bottle.

At one point my pri school kid used mineral water bottle [laugh]

Because proper water bottle never take care well, lost or accidentally left somewhere.

On 4/14/2026 at 6:28 PM, Benarsenal said:

I think cannot compare lah.

There is very strong suspicion that the PRC establishments are not making any profits but are just money laundering fronts to siphon money out of China. So they can offer free this free that without caring about costs.

It's definitely not a fair playing field when compared to local homegrown F&B.

You can also think of it another way. Those prc establishment give free rice refill tea refill, but still make enough. 

So that might mean those f&b that charge you for stuff like that, must be making extra profits off customers.

Edited by Sosaria

On 4/14/2026 at 9:46 PM, Mkl22 said:

Question is ....

Why...

Why...

Need to tabao? Why need to pack? 

Cannot eat at hawker centre bcos need to return the tray and cutlery? 

Need additional material for packing, then just pay for it. 

If not just eat there or shut up.

On 4/14/2026 at 11:30 PM, inlinesix said:

It always ez to say money laundering when don’t understand.

Go ACRA & buy their financial lo

$5 leh

On 4/14/2026 at 11:31 PM, Sosaria said:

At one point my pri school kid used mineral water bottle [laugh]

Because proper water bottle never take care well, lost or accidentally left somewhere.

Then don't provide any...

Then they will value the water bottle like we did 40,50 & 60yrs ago.

One day without water won't die one lah...... 😅

Furthermore they still can buy drinks at canteen.

Edited by Atonchia